We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, great staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Mountain Shadows
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is a great value for Durango. Clean rooms, emasculate hot tub and pool. Cross Main street on 32nd Street to pick up riverwalk trail to downtown (1.8 miles). Can hike 8 miles of mountain trails right behind hotel, so don't have to move car. Walk to Zia's Mexican or to an awesome pizza just a couple blocks down. Also can ride free trolley to Main St Durango. Really nice and happy hotel staff. Would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

439 - 445 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

My wife and I were in Durango to ride the D&S railroad with 2 granddaughters (5 & 9) and their father. I wanted an indoor pool for the girls and the one here is GREAT (it's in a bubble)! We got two adjoining rooms which the girls thoroughly enjoyed. We did too because when it was bedtime, we could close the adjoining door and let their dad get them into slumber land. Breakfast the next morning was a real treat, not only did they have 2 waffle makers but they also had strawberries and whipped cream as toppings. The littlest granddaughter couldn't believe her luck! The next surprise was when we returned to the motel after riding the D&S. There were hot oatmeal raisin cookies in the lobby! All in all, a wonder experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

With the "T" available for going to the historical district and for the train to Silverton this was a convenient location. The hotel offers excellent service and amenities. One will love the pool and spa under the dome. The breakfast is very good with a variety of choices for one to enjoy, and should you prefer, a super market is only a block away so that is an additional convenience for grocery items that one can purchase.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

The room was clean and large. The staff was helpful. The pool was good. Plenty pillows. The AC was strong. My wife didn't love the mattress cover, but all else was good. Walk to the riverside trail, the library, the hatchery, and lots of food options.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Best Western Mountain Shadows offers an excellent place to stay in this crowded tourist town. Room was clean and well appointed. Staff was helpful and the breakfast was good. A free shuttle allowed us to leave our car parked at hotel while we did our sight seeing. Although we did not use the indoor pool, it appeared that those who did were enjoying the clean environment. Would recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I got this hotel through priceline, and was very pleased. The room was clean, and large enough for 4 people. The breakfast was very good, and even included scrambled eggs and bacon. The front desk staff was great in helping us with dining suggestions. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmueller913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We purchased our stay via HOTWIRE which put the lodging in a bad light to begin with... 1) Hotwire called it a Hotel - NO this is a motel, there is a big, big difference... 2) It was listed as 3 stars - 3 stars on Hotwire is Sheraton, Doubletree, Crown Plaza or Hilton... this MOTEL is not like any of those places. 3) The rate that Hotwire sold the room for was the EXACT same rate that the hotel offers if you go to their web-site and if you call. I felt very deceived by Hotwire and that gave me a bad taste in my mouth to start off with.

Now on to the motel

Pros
The Staff - They were very friendly and very helpful, anytime we needed anything they were right on top of it.
location - right across the street from a grocery store and a liquor store
Bathroom - kinda small but recently remodeled, toilet area is in seperate room from sink area.
Living Room - we had a 2 bedroom suite and it had a very spacious living area - lots of room to spread out.
The Pool - we didn't use it, but it looks very nice


CONS
Air Conditioning - each room had a window unit, which is okay, but they didn't seem to cool very well.
location - yes it is a negative too... you are pretty far out of the action from downtown, however there is a free trolley so it's really no big deal... YOU are however right on a big highway.
Closets - none, each room had an armoire.
Bedrooms - a little on the small side, I felt kinda claustrophobic about it.


I may be a little rough on the motel, there wasn't really anything overly wrong with the motel, I just expected a little more for the price we paid, and the deceptiveness of Hotwire really bummed me out.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teambanzai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
0.2 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 34 in Durango
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 34 in Durango
1,110 reviews
2.3 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#12 of 34 in Durango
507 reviews
4.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mountain Shadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mountain Shadows

Address: 3255 North Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301-4248
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Durango
#10 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range: £57 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Mountain Shadows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Mountain Shadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mountain Shadows Hotel Durango
Best Western Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing