We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Very nice staff and we got a little surprise when we got there, two free drinks for each adult! The boys (age 13) loved the indoor pool. The breakfast was wonderful. Would recommend this motel to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candamommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thank you so much for the nice review. We do offer a great deal for the road weary traveler and we are glad that you were able to enjoy the cocktails and the breakfast. In the summer months you can stroll downtown for meals, cocktails. and great shopping and people watching. We hope that you will return and stay with us again soon!!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    247
    107
    47
    22
See reviews for
284
299
29
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We used this hotel as an overnight stay on our trip to northern Colorado. We were pleasantly suprised by the nice town of Durango. This Best Western (there are two more in Durango) is located next to the historic city center. Shops and restaurants are at walking distance, and the railroad station is too (Durango - Silverton Railroad). Anyway, our room was at the outside part of the hotel. There are also rooms facing the indoor pool (atrium). Some of them seem to have a inroom jacuzzi (ours didn´t, unfortunately), or a balcony (no, not ours either...) Our room was nice, nothing more than that. Clean, and a bit dark. We heard a lot of noise coming through the connecting door, which I really hate, especially late at night. We did not use the indoor pool or hottub, because there were large groups (arrived by bus) in the hotel as well, constantly occupying the hottub. Next morning these groups left early, and we could have a nice and quiet breakfast, with hot and cold items; the usual, nothing outstanding. The hotel also offers a few free drinks during happy hour, but again, we didn´t use it because it was already very crowded in the bar area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra_DL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Thank you for your input. Our rooms with 2 queen beds do not offer a balcony but with the exception of the ground floor units, our king bedded rooms do provide this option. I do apologize for the groups in the pool area. I would guess that they were here to go skiing and were gone during the day so I am glad that you were able to have the pool area to yourself most of the day. I hope that your time in Durango was enjoyable and that you had the opportunity to visit the town while you were here. We appreciate your business and the opportunity to have you as our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
172 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

My stay at the Best Western Plus Rio Grande was very enjoyable. Friendly staff, clean rooms, with large screen TV's and walking distance to the entire downtown scene. Upon arrival each guest (of age) receives a ticket for 2 drinks each at the nightly happy hour(a very nice touch). Breakfast has something to please everyone. I was in town for business but it would be a great place to bring the family with a nice pool and hot tub. One suggestion, if your looking for pease and quiet don't stay in in a room in an interior room overlooking the pool. Those rooms have french glass doors and when there are a lot of kids in the pool... yikes! It's crazy loud. I was recovering from the flu so maybe I was a little more sensitive than the average guest.

Room Tip: Beware of the rooms facing the pool area. It's very loud if lots a families are staying in the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 1 April 2012
Thank you so much for the review. I do agree it can get noisy inside by the pool if there are a lot of kids in house. We did have a few schools on spring breaks in March so there were times when they were enjoying the pool. The hotel is in a great location, close to shops, restaurants, and the train. The best part is that you can park your car and walk and don't have to find a place to park! (which is really a challenge in downtown Durango). I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Your review will be shared with my staff and your comments and compliments are most appreciated.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

We visited Durango to tour Fort Lewis College and ski at Purgatory (Durango Mountain). It was beautiful and there were friendly people everywhere. The hotel was in a perfect location just off of the Main St. w/beautiful vistas off the back side. We stayed in a suite room that had bedroom and kitchen area. Aside from a somewhat lumpy sofa sleeper, Everything was ideal for us. Breakfast and cocktails were nice to have every morning and evening & were served by such friendly people.
Mother nature took us from snow storm on Sunday to mid-60's by the end of the week.
We look forward to returning and seeing more of the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smurph13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 29 March 2012
Thank you so much for the nice review. We have had some crazy weather this month. It has been a beautiful week but it looks like winter is going to have one more shot at us next week. We do have a lot to offer and we are close to everything downtown and just a couple of miles from Fort Lewis college. We do hope that you return someday and make this your home away from home.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Great stay! We are staying here with family and friends to enjoy some Spring skiing. We have been returning to this hotel for the past 15 years during Spring Break which is indicative of our feelings about this hotel. It is definitely a total package for our needs. The rooms are reasonably priced, as we reserve several rooms for our group, and are clean and well appointed. The bathrooms have BIG, fluffy towels along with nice toiletries. The pool and hot tub are well maintained and have a good seating area with tables for those who are watching children. A complimentary breakfast is included with guest rooms. There are many choices including biscuits and gravy, fruit, cereal, and this year there are additional breakfast choices such as Jimmy Dean breakfast sandwiches. Guest may also take advantage of free use of two washers and dryers. The hotel is in a great location for walking to Main Street restaurants and shops. Great place for us, and we would highly recommend this property!! Mary Kay did a great job is reserving the rooms we wanted, and Elisia did a great job of refreshing our rooms each day!

Room Tip: We like the rooms that are inside by the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LetFreedomRing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thank you so much for the nice review. We appreciate your kind words and acknowledgement of our efforts. My staff is great and go above and beyond to ensure that your stay is a memorable one. We hope to see you again next year! Have a great summer and be safe in your travels.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We visited Durango, Colorado while attending a Seminar. I would, highly, recommend a stay at the Best Western Plus in Durango. Our room had all the amenities anyone would need and it was very clean. The front desk staff were very friendly. Durango is a very nice small town. We took a ride on the Durango-Silverton Steam Train, a must when visiting Durango. We counted over 40 restaurants in town. Unlike other touristy-towns, Durango does not shut down at 6 PM. We are looking forward to another visit.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor and never heard any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlynGramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Thank you so much for the kind review. We so appreciate your business and hope that you will return again and enjoy more that the area has to offer.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

After a long ride on motorcycles in July, we finally got there. The front desk young lady began checking us in.. She Wanted the bike plate numbers. I did't have them. and asked if I could just give make and colors. She respond "yours are not the only bikes in the parking lot..." ok...then I questioned the room price It was higher than I remembered for the rewards price. Rather than a friendly response, she answers "would you like me to find you a cheeper room somewhere else" I should have said yes. Electronic keys didn't work we wait an hour, Another room air conditioner replaced not repaired in the middle of night.
The rooms were $179 per night, Free Happy Hour [...]. Not worth the price at all! Go to Holiday Inn Express instead

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timetoride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 12 December 2011
Please accept my sincere apologies for my employees shortness with you at check in. We do get a great deal of motorcyclists staying in the summer months and it does help us if we have more information to contact the owner of the bike if there are issues during their stay. We do pull the air conditioning units out of the rooms and replace them with a new unit if there are issues. A lot of times we do not know what the problem with the unit is until they actually pull it apart and can diagnose the issue. I do apologize that it happened in the middle of the night but I am glad that we came up with a temporary solution so that the room was comfortable for you. Durango is a great area to ride. I am sorry that your stay was not as pleasant as you would have liked but I do hope that you were able to enjoy the town while you were with us.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.3 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 33 in Durango
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.3 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Address: 400 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn! Located only 1.5 blocks from the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. BEST WESTERN Rio Grande Inn is perfect for the train enthusiasts of all ages. You can leave your vehicle in our parking lot and take a short to the train depot. Free HAPPY HOUR every evening from 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Includes(2) complimentary drinks per guest. Free HOT BREAKFAST every morning. Get your day stared right with our extended breakfast: Hot sausage, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, biscuits, fresh fruit, yogurt, OJ and coffee. Walking distance to world class dining, galleries and amazing shopping. Some guests come for our top notch skiing. Take advantage of our GREAT location and rates when in town for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing