We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rochester Hotel and Leland House(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Mountain Shadows(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$79
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
US$125
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strater Hotel(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
General Palmer Hotel(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$142
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (937)
Filter reviews
937 results
Traveller rating
458
276
127
53
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
276
127
53
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree drinksindoor poolgreat locationhappy hourcocktail hourtrain stationwithin walking distancejacuzzi tubbest westernsmain streetshort walkeach eveningbiscuits and gravyin townthe durango silverton railroadtwo blocksgreat place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
800 - 805 of 937 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We are been impressed with this motel. Its a block from the historic downtown area, which is full of resturants, etc. The customer service is as good as it gets. EVERYBODY is friendly, well mannered and helpful. Room was clean and well appointed. Free drinks in the evening hit the spot. Highly recommend this place from all perspectives.....

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alsebw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you so much for the great review. We do have a great staff here that prides itself on customer service. We hope you return soon! We greatly appreciate your comments and your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Excellent location for the train ride and you can get a discount on the room wif you buy the train tickets through the hotel. The indoor pool was nice. The room was small but more than adequate. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lackland B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

We would love to have you stay again!!! We appreciate your comments and we are very glad that you were able to enjoy our hotel. Please come back and see us again, it is a great place to stay with a great location and a friendly staff.

Mary Kay Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I liked the hotel but it is kinda a hotel/motel some rooms have outside halls. There is a free breakfast which was nice and the price was not bad. I did not like the front desk that I was a diamond level at best western and they would not accept it. The beds are old but the pillows were new. The room were very clean. Walking distance to several restaunts and old main.

Room Tip: Get a inside room if available they are the nicer larger rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shortsallyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Thank you for your input. I am sorry about the experience with the front desk. We do honor all rates for the Best Western Rewards points. I would be happy to check into this for you if you would call the property direct at 970-385-4980 and ask for Mary Kay. I do hope that the rest of your stay was enjoyable and that you enjoyed your time in the Durango area. We appreciate your taking the time to review the property and especially appreciate your business.

Mary Kay Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Very nice staff and we got a little surprise when we got there, two free drinks for each adult! The boys (age 13) loved the indoor pool. The breakfast was wonderful. Would recommend this motel to everyone!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank candamommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2012

Thank you so much for the nice review. We do offer a great deal for the road weary traveler and we are glad that you were able to enjoy the cocktails and the breakfast. In the summer months you can stroll downtown for meals, cocktails. and great shopping and people watching. We hope that you will return and stay with us again soon!!

Mary Kay Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

We used this hotel as an overnight stay on our trip to northern Colorado. We were pleasantly suprised by the nice town of Durango. This Best Western (there are two more in Durango) is located next to the historic city center. Shops and restaurants are at walking distance, and the railroad station is too (Durango - Silverton Railroad). Anyway, our room was at the outside part of the hotel. There are also rooms facing the indoor pool (atrium). Some of them seem to have a inroom jacuzzi (ours didn´t, unfortunately), or a balcony (no, not ours either...) Our room was nice, nothing more than that. Clean, and a bit dark. We heard a lot of noise coming through the connecting door, which I really hate, especially late at night. We did not use the indoor pool or hottub, because there were large groups (arrived by bus) in the hotel as well, constantly occupying the hottub. Next morning these groups left early, and we could have a nice and quiet breakfast, with hot and cold items; the usual, nothing outstanding. The hotel also offers a few free drinks during happy hour, but again, we didn´t use it because it was already very crowded in the bar area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra_DL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2012

Thank you for your input. Our rooms with 2 queen beds do not offer a balcony but with the exception of the ground floor units, our king bedded rooms do provide this option. I do apologize for the groups in the pool area. I would guess that they were here to go skiing and were gone during the day so I am glad that you were able to have the pool area to yourself most of the day. I hope that your time in Durango was enjoyable and that you had the opportunity to visit the town while you were here. We appreciate your business and the opportunity to have you as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews