We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$100
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rochester Hotel and Leland House(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Mountain Shadows(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$79
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
US$125
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strater Hotel(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
General Palmer Hotel(Durango)(Great Value!)
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (937)
Filter reviews
937 results
Traveller rating
458
276
127
53
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
276
127
53
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree drinksindoor poolgreat locationhappy hourcocktail hourtrain stationwithin walking distancejacuzzi tubbest westernsmain streetshort walkeach eveningbiscuits and gravyin townthe durango silverton railroadtwo blocksgreat place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
742 - 747 of 937 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We went to Durango for a wedding last weekend and could not have been happier with the accommodations at this Best Western Plus. I think the PLUS must represent the attitudes of all the employees we encountered. From the Front Desk, breakfast staff, housekeeping and even the maintenance staff working around the hotel the experience was the same. Warm friendly folks providing exceptional service. When we return, we will definitely stay here again. Thank you ALL!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeff w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you very much for the great review. We have a great, caring staff and we are so happy that you have acknowledged that in your review. We hope that you will come stay with us again and enjoy the area and the hotel. Enjoy your summer!

Mary Kay Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Very nice hotel with large rooms & friendly, helpful staff. We stayed there two nights & took the train to Silverton and back. Both nights, the pool was taken over by roudy kids that splashed water out of the pool area and into the surrounding walk ways. The second night the smoke from the trains was sucked into the room in the middle of the night. Breakfast the next morning was impossible as a large bus full of people used up all of the capacity. When we tried to leave, the bus was blocking the only exit from the property. Hotel management had to make them move. Best Western needs to allow for large groups of people and not impact individuals staying there.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is very nice and good views
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkmule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Thank you again for taking the time to review our property. I again apologize for the rambunctious children at the pool. I know that kids love our pool and do get a little out of hand at times. I have talked to the owner about your suggestion and he is taking into consideration. We did have some large groups during your stay and I am sorry they took over the breakfast area in the morning. Generally they eat and leave quickly because they are on such a tight schedule with their tour. We do open the pool area in the morning to help with additional seating. The bus drivers are usually very cognizant of blocking traffic. We had a new driver for the bus that blocked you that morning and I am sorry that he was not considerate of your trying to get around him. We appreciate the feedback and hope that you had a nice vacation.

Mary Kay Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed two nights at the Best Western Plus Rio Grande in Durango and loved the 3-story atrium with the pool and hot tub. Elevator had a glass wall so we could enjoy the atrium. Pool area was well-maintained. Our room was on the third floor with two queen beds, refrigerator, etc., and was very clean and comfortable. Amenities were nice and as advertised. The hotel did place us away from the pool as requested. Atrium rooms had glass french-style doors with curtains that could be closed, while rooms facing out had regular wood doors. Some outside rooms had little balconies. Breakfast was in a room off the pool area, and choices included scrambled eggs and sausage, waffles, oatmeal, cereal, pastries, and fruit, etc. In the evening, the hotel also offered drinks to hotel guests. We loved the location of the hotel especially, just a few minutes walk to the railroad station, and there were a number of great restaurants nearby. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Decide if you want in the atrium or have an outside room. We liked being in the atrium but did not want to be on the first floor near the pool.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TXTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is greatly appreciated!! We do have a great property with a great staff. I am happy that you enjoyed the atrium, some guests prefer to be outside-everyone has different tastes and needs. Durango is a great area to visit with the train, the mountains, rafting and the overall beauty of the area. We are glad that we were a part of your vacation. Thanks again for the review and have a great summer.

Mary Kay Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Is in a very good location if you want to ride the train to Silverton because you can walk and don't have to pay extra to park your car. You are also within walking distance of the town and restaurants. We had a nice King room; it was clean and quiet but could use a little update. It was one of the few that had a safe in the room so you could store your electronics--computer, camera lenses, binoculars, etc.. Also had outlets that could be reached for charging all your devices. Breakfast was standard and very adequate. Evening drinks (2 per night) and snacks (pretzels and corn chips) were provided. Small lobby, friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Our location is great and we do offer a lot of great service and amenities. We pride ourselves on our friendly helpful staff and I am pleased to see that they did not fail where you were concerned. All of our rooms have safes with the exception of the mobility accessible rooms and we do provide safe deposit boxes for those rooms at the front desk. I am glad that you found the safe useful.

We all hope that you had a great time in Durango and had fun on the train. We appreciate the input and your business.

Mary Kay Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We'd stayed at this hotel before and appreciated the convenience of being in the centre of Durango. We were well pleased with our room, which was on the exterior of the building, finding it spacious, clean and comfortable. Clearly from other recent reviews that doesn't apply to all rooms, but ours was fine. The central swimming pool does give a slight whiff of chlorine, but it wasn't an issue. Breakfast, in terms of the quality and variety of food on offer, was excellent, and the lady overseeing operations was clearly taking a close personal interest in maintaining a high standard. We like Durango, we like the hotel, and hope we'll get another opportunity to visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick_and_Moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your accommodation along with the amenities that the hotel has to offer. We have a great location and our property is clean.
We do hope that you revisit if you are in the area again. We appreciate your input!

Mary Kay Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews