We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lodging”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Escondido, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lodging”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Excellent Service When the key card failed to work in my door, even after remaking the key card several times, they responded by moving me to a 3 room suite for the remainder of my stay. Everything else was excellent as well. Hotel, breakfast, desk service and amenities.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you again for the great review. We are so happy that you group decided to stay with us and even extended a day due to the unexpected storm. What a week! We do have a great facility and it works really well for the car clubs that do stay with us. I am happy that my solution worked for your lock problems. We all hope that you had a safe trip home and maybe we will see you and your group again someday!

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    261
    114
    49
    23
See reviews for
304
315
30
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This hotel has been the best -- the staff is welcoming and friendly and top-notch with their customer service skills -- any requests are quickly responded to -- the property is just a block or so from historic downtown Durango and its variety of restaurants, varied shopping and galleries -- facilities are up-to-date and very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank itrvlboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The positive feedback means so much to all of us. We do have a great location and a great staff! We hope that you had a great time in Durango and will be back to see us again soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Draper, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Our first visit was much nicer. This was 3 or4 years ago. Service has slipped. Rooms really need some attention. Our jetted tub had a shower head installed for one of the jets! The A/C barely cooled the room. The pool in the center just makes for an annoying interruption with screaming kids. They do have a nice set up for a bike wash and are convenient to walk anywhere in the downtown area. They do have a nice breakfast in the AM, if you can get in there, it's packed. I don't think we will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegasgod_slcut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. I usually get very high marks for customer service and I apologize if we dropped the ball where you were concerned. The pool area has been the same since the hotel was built nothing has changed since your last visit. We have upgraded the breakfast, have replaced all the mattresses and case goods in the rooms, have upgraded the linen, and are replacing all the room carpeting this fall. We do appreciate your business and hope that you had a great time in Durango.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands Ranch, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Family and I stayed at the Best Western in Durango for one night during a recent family vacation. This place was clean, had a great staff greeting us out front, has an indoor pool, complimentary breakfast (and cocktails for the adults), and is located right in the midst of the downtown Durango area. I would definitely stay there again and the value was spot on!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mitchell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
What a wonderful review. We appreciate your positive acknowledgement of our staff and our hotel. We all are blessed with a wonderful area to live and wonderful guests! Thank you for the review. We appreciate your business.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, United States
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This was a great hotel walking distance to the train, they also would provide a shuttle if you needed it and we did. Don't forget your bathing suit wonderful indoor pool & spa in the center of the main floor enclosed in glass with tables & chairs. Great breakfast!! Great FREE mixed drinks in the evening. We will be back. I highly recommend this hotel even if it's just for a stopping off place on you way north.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. We do have a great property-good location, nice amenities and a wonderful staff. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the positive feedback ! It really means a great deal to all of us here. Enjoy your fall and come and see us again soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
470 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

You can walk to to the train from here and leave your car safely parked. Also easy access to downtown restaurants.

The hotel is nicely maintained but older. It has an indoor swimming pool in the inside courtyard with a hot tub. There is also a nice breakfast room in the courtyard.

Our room was nice and roomy but had odd drapes on double glass doors opening to the interior courtyard. The bathroom is small with a jetted tub. As it does not have a separate shower, you have to climb into the tub to shower. I have artificial knees and found it doable but difficult.

The bed was nice. Room was clean. TV was good.

We will stay here again although I could not eat the breakfast due to food allergies. We went to Oscars down Tate road aways. Small but good - worth the wait.

This woud be a great place to stay if you are taking the train.

Room Tip: If you linked fresh air, ask for one that has windows that open. Hotel does have an elevator. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bensus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We are so happy that you chose this location and were able to enjoy the area while you were here. I am glad that you found Oscar's. It is a wonderful little diner and a Durango tradition. I ate there several times before I moved to the area. We all hope that you had a safe journey to your next destination and that you are enjoying the wonderful fall season.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greensboro, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

great hotel in perfect location with friendly staff and top notch amenities. comfortable bed, good internet access, clean bathroom...couldn't be better! the rest of this information is put in here because i had to write 200 characters.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. We are so happy that you enjoyed our hotel and took the time to write an online review. Durango is a great area to visit with lots of fun and interesting things to do. Enjoy the fall and thank you from all of us here at the Best Western Rio Grande.

Mary Kay Dobson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.3 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#9 of 33 in Durango
1,049 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#6 of 33 in Durango
468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
2.7 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Address: 400 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn! Located only 1.5 blocks from the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. BEST WESTERN Rio Grande Inn is perfect for the train enthusiasts of all ages. You can leave your vehicle in our parking lot and take a short to the train depot. Free HAPPY HOUR every evening from 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Includes(2) complimentary drinks per guest. Free HOT BREAKFAST every morning. Get your day stared right with our extended breakfast: Hot sausage, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, biscuits, fresh fruit, yogurt, OJ and coffee. Walking distance to world class dining, galleries and amazing shopping. Some guests come for our top notch skiing. Take advantage of our GREAT location and rates when in town for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing