We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,000)
Filter reviews
1,000 results
Traveller rating
491
289
136
60
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
491
289
136
60
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free drinks indoor pool great location happy hour cocktail hour train station within walking distance free laundry jacuzzi tub best westerns short walk main street each evening two blocks great place to stay the durango silverton railroad in town
Filter
Updating list...
710 - 715 of 1,000 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The rooms are clean, comfortable & fully stocked. The pool & jacuzzi are great. The staff are so friendly and go out of their way to take care of you. The location is walking distance to everything. Really pleased with our stay - will Definitely stay here next time we come through Durango. Kid friendly, too.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property on this site. We do have a great property. Great location, great amenities and a wonderful staff. We so appreciate the acknowledgement and the positive feedback. It means so much to all of us here. We thank you for your business and hope to see you again someday soon.

Mary Kay Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and I stayed overnight on Sunday. The room (306) was quiet, clean, and odor free. There were five pillows on the king bed which was very nice. The room's TV was big enough for us to enjoy the Olympic coverage that was on, even though the channel was not in high-definition. In the evening, we had the heated pool and hot tub area to ourselves. The 2 free happy hour drinks were a great touch. Our server was very pleasant. The location was very central and shopping and dining were all within walking distance. On a side note, there is a great vegetarian-friendly New Mexican restaurant across the street (Gazpachos). My only complaint was an unpleasant odor in the dining room - my guess is that it came from the carpet. Overall, this was one of our best-ever hotel stays, especially for the value. We recommend for anyone staying in Durango.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Thank you so much for the great review!! I am sorry about the odor in the breakfast room. We have corrected the problem and are very happy that it did not impact your stay with us. We are so happy that you took advantage of all that we have to offer during your brief stay with us. We are working on the HD, our cable provider currently does not offer that option. Please come back and see us again if you are through this area. We love happy guests!!

Mary Kay Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stay here every year. Always a good deal for Durango, snowdown. Kids love the pool. Sometimes a bit loud, but if you stay on the third floor it is quieter. Location cannot be beat, right by the train and many good restaurants.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Sumakmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on this site. We are so happy that you and your family had a great time. I usually try and get people on the third floor or outside if they want a quieter location. The kids really enjoy our pool and it can get noisy at times. The pool is closed at 9 pm and opens again in the morning at 9 am. We are conveniently located to downtown and the train and all that Durango has to offer. We hope that you will come and see us again soon!

Mary Kay Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

After trying two brand new hotel chains in the area, we found this hotel and wish we had stayed here from the start. Great location - short walk to town, shops, and to wonderful and quaint movie theatre. Still renovating, the sheets and pillows were far superior to one of the new chains. Incredible breakfast and cocktail hour included. Friendly and professional staff ..best value of our trip!!

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheznous3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We so appreciate the positive feedback and are pleased that we were your #1 hotel for your vacation. We do have a great hotel and a great staff. We are doing some off season renovations to make it even better! We hope that you will come back and stay with us again someday soon.

Mary Kay Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The Best Western PLUS Rio Grande Inn, Durango, CO is a very nice place to stay. It is within walking distance of the D&RG Narrow Gauge Train Depot and several downtown restaurants and attractions. In the evening you can enjoy two free drinks and appetizers with a very friendly staff. In the morning, enjoy a very good and filling breakfast. There is an indoor pool and whirlpool area.

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank shelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thank you again for the great review. We appreciate your taking the time to review our hotel on this site. We do have a great location and offer great amenities to our guests. We all hope that you enjoyed your time in Durango and hope that you will consider staying with us again.

Mary Kay Dobson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews