We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of 7 hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best of 7 hotels”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We returned home to Ontario from winter in Mexico, travelling through the American south-west, and visiting national parks in Utah and Colorado. This hotel was undoubtedly the best, with a comfortable clean room, helpful staff, good breakfast and overall appearance. We had booked for two nights, then happily extended our stay by another night. Good value, and we appreciated drinks at the end of the day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review!! We all appreciate your taking the time to go to this site to post a review. We feel that we have a great product and a great staff. Thank you so much for the acknowledgment of both. We all hope that you enjoyed Durango and the great Southwest. Have a great spring and come back and see us again soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    247
    107
    47
    22
See reviews for
284
299
29
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I have stayed here many times over many years and have never had a less than great experience. The 2 free drinks during happy hour are a nice touch and I always enjoy the indoor pool and hot tub. I like the general atmosphere and the open interior. The breakfast has hot eggs, waffles, buiskets and gravy as well as precooked hot oatmeal and cereal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you again for your valued response. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. The response you provided is more than we could have ever asked for. Thank you for your continued business and your support.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamos, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We try to make an annual trip to Durango, Colorado for pleasure and relaxation. We have chosen the Best Western PLUS Rio Grande Inn because of the proximity to main street shopping and dining. We have appreciated the rooms, amenities and the staff for many years at the Rio Grande. We often ride our motorcycles for our visit and feel very safe leaving them in their parking lot. Note: The rooms are being updated and look really nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Momkatq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
We sincerely appreciate your feedback and your thoughtfulness regarding our hotel and the remodels that are under way. Our bathrooms are currently under remodel and we have already replaced carpet and beds in all of our rooms. More renovations are to come, we are not done yet!
I'm glad to hear that you had a nice time in Durango. You're always welcome to bring your motorcycles by. I hope you come to see us again soon as we always appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We have stayed at this hotel many times over the years for the Four Corners bike rally. Our most recent stay in April was a way stop on our way back from St. Louis. We met up with friends and just hung out. The location is great...walking distance to lots of restaurants and shopping. Happy Hour every evening with 2 complimentary drinks is a plus and continental breakfast in the morning. Due to miscommunication with maintenance, our room was without hot water for about an hour. The manager apologized and gladly gave us a credit on our bill for the inconvenience. We know that stuff happens and when management steps up and makes it right without an hassle, that says something about their commitment to customer service. Michael at the front desk was awesome. He was off duty for the day when we waylaid him to ask about reservations for the upcoming Four Corners Bike Rally in the fall. He made our reservations for us and we never had to leave happy hour.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srogers426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you so much for providing us with this review. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and your continued business. It means a lot to us when our guests provide such truthful reviews because it allows us to reveal that we are human and we can make mistakes. So, thank you again for acknowledging our efforts and I'm so glad to hear you had a nice time. I look forward to your visit in August/September. Until then, have a nice time and know that we will be missing you:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
187 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I had never stayed at a Best Western before because i heard terrible things about the hotel chain, but rest assured those rumors were false. This hotel Staff went out of their way to ensure our comfort. Upon arrival i found out that the phone in the room did not work and that i was going to need a roll away and Michael from the front desk took care of everything promptly. Ginny that took care of the bar area was amazing she really knew how to take care of the people there and when we told her that we would be playing late she offered to keep the bar open a little longer so us adults could come in and unwind. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

The bed was so comfortable we almost missed our Volleyball match on Saturday, but it was for a good reason. Thank you Best Western Staff.

Room Tip: No tips i thought every room was perfect. Believe me i was visiting everyones room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2beonvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hello and thank you for providing such an amazing review regarding our property and staff. It was a pleasure to have your team stay with us. I hope they had a nice time in Durango and got to experience the town in between games. Thank you for commending our employees as they work very hard. Again, thank you for your courteous response. We appreciate such kind words. Please come to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farmington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

this Best Western is by far the best we have been to. The staff is remarkable in every way. You feel like they truly care about you and your needs. Will return soon. We normally eat our breakfast elsewhere yet many tell me it is good also. We always look forward to our night out here. Thanks

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
I'm so glad to hear that you had a nice time while staying with us. Your words of encouragement and gratitude are greatly appreciated. We always value your opinion and continued business. Please come to see us again soon. Thank you very much for your review. Have a nice day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I have a choice of where to stay in Durango when on Business. From the rooms, the front desk staff that knows my name, breakfast in the morning, and a cocktail or two at night. This place is excellent! Walking dinstance to the best of Durango including the train and all the restaurants!

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floors have more balcony or deck options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a lot of room options for the guests to choose from and I am happy that you enjoyed your choice. We do have a lot of amenities-a hot continental breakfast, free evening cocktails, free wifi and close proximity to all that Durango has to offer. We appreciate the positive feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.3 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 33 in Durango
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.3 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Address: 400 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn! Located only 1.5 blocks from the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. BEST WESTERN Rio Grande Inn is perfect for the train enthusiasts of all ages. You can leave your vehicle in our parking lot and take a short to the train depot. Free HAPPY HOUR every evening from 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Includes(2) complimentary drinks per guest. Free HOT BREAKFAST every morning. Get your day stared right with our extended breakfast: Hot sausage, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, biscuits, fresh fruit, yogurt, OJ and coffee. Walking distance to world class dining, galleries and amazing shopping. Some guests come for our top notch skiing. Take advantage of our GREAT location and rates when in town for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing