We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Winner!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #12 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Best place to stay in Durango!....Friendly and efficient staff, comfy rooms, excellent breakfast, lots of parking, balcony, indoor pool and hot tub ans all at an exceptional value..Great location off the beaten path but walking distance to Train station and Main Ave....Very enloyable experience whenever we stay here A winner!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you very much for the wonderful review. We do have a great location, close to the train and downtown. You can park your car and walk to everything! We are so happy that you had a great stay and look forward to your return.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (884)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

540 - 546 of 885 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

This BW is so close to town, you will not need to drive anywhere. 2 blocks to the train station and all the shops and restaurants. Great happy hour between 5:30 and 7:00pm with hard drinks, brews and chips and salsa. Nice added bonus. Basic continental breakfast but just fine to get your day rolling. Very friendly and helpful employees. Will stay here again when we roll into town!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jrdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for this outstanding review. We appreciate your feedback and value your business. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our amenities. I hope that you were able to enjoy some of the activities Durango has to offer. We look forward to your visit in the future. Thank you again and have a nice day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Best Western Rio Grande has excellent service. The staff is very kind and the rooms are very clean. I appreciate the amenities. The internet speed is good. The breakfast is only so-so, but it is convenient for business travel. The location cannot be beat. It is easy walking distance to the train, restaurants, and the beautiful main street area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for providing us with this great review. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to better improve our service and our hotel amenities. Thank you again for your valued business and please come to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a good place to stay if you're planning to ride the Durango-Silverton train. The rooms are clean & reasonable, the free breakfast is good, and you're within 2 blocks of the train station, good restaurants, shopping, and a liquor store - and about 4 blocks from a grocery store. We had only 2 days to spend, 1 spent on train, so we hope to return to Durango so we can explore the area more. If we do, there's a good chance we would choose this hotel again. The balcony with bistro table & chairs is a nice feature.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for commending our property and its location. We appreciate your kind words regarding our cleanliness and value. I am so glad that you had a nice time staying with us. Please come to see us again soon as there are many fun activities in Durango to explore.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

we paid more than $200.00 for an old room with a very noisy and antiquated air con unit that kept us awake until we turned it off. The bathroom is also designed for Lilliputians, as the jacuzzi tub is only about 4 feet or so in length. The breakfast was good, but this is too much for this type of property.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillBoyd46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Thank you for providing us with this review as we value your business. Your feedback is very important to us. We will use your feedback to better improve our facility.
I apologize if the jetted tub was an inconvenient size for you. We have been upgrading our facility with new carpet, a fitness room, and mattresses. More renovations are scheduled to occur and they include our bathroom fixtures and vanities. I hope you come to see us again as we would love to have you.
Thank you again for your feedback and your valued business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was one of our last available options in town. We got a room that opened to the inside of the hotel, but I imagine the rooms that open to the outside are identical. The staff was friendly and the room was large and clean. The morning breakfast had many options and everything tasted great. The hotel let us park during the day the next day while we rode the train. Price seemed a little high, but not unreasonable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on this site. We are very happy that your enjoyed your accommodation and the amenities that we have to offer. We do have a great location and a great staff. We appreciate the positive feedback and hope that you had a great time in Durango.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We chose this hotel for its location and because it has on site parking but it is so much more.
The Staff are so friendly. Room was well equipped and the FREE launderette was much appreciated.
The only negative was a very obnoxious woman who got very stroppy and confrontational in the launderette because she wanted us to take our washing out of one of the washers so that she could have it. When we refused she actually went and reported us to reception. All we did was get there before her. Anger problems I think!

Room Tip: Higher rooms away from the pool are quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank June M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for the great review. I do apologize about the other guest that was confrontational in the laundry room. Sometimes people just don't want to wait a few minutes, it is all so silly!! I am glad that you were able to use the machines. We are so proud of our new laundry room and fitness room. We are happy to have you park your vehicle here while you ride the train. It does save your the hassle of finding parking and paying fees. We so appreciate your kind words and hope that you have a great summer.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.3 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 34 in Durango
1,076 reviews
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#9 of 34 in Durango
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
1.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn

Address: 400 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range: £75 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn! Located only 1.5 blocks from the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. BEST WESTERN Rio Grande Inn is perfect for the train enthusiasts of all ages. You can leave your vehicle in our parking lot and take a short to the train depot. Free HAPPY HOUR every evening from 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Includes(2) complimentary drinks per guest. Free HOT BREAKFAST every morning. Get your day stared right with our extended breakfast: Hot sausage, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, biscuits, fresh fruit, yogurt, OJ and coffee. Walking distance to world class dining, galleries and amazing shopping. Some guests come for our top notch skiing. Take advantage of our GREAT location and rates when in town for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing