We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Overnight in Durango”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Overnight in Durango”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn in Durango was perfect for our trip to Durango. Virtually in downtown, we could walk everywhere we needed to go. Free happy hour!!!! Nice breakfast buffet in the AM. Great front desk staff. Couldn't have asked for more! A good time was had by all!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marjyoder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Thank you for the great review. We appreciate your feedback regarding our facility, staff and location.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back to see us again soon.

Michael Vice
970-385-4980
michael@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    247
    106
    47
    22
See reviews for
283
298
29
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Best Western Plus. We arrived late at night only to find out that the suite that we had booked was not available. (The people who were there the night before had refused to more out despite the fact that we had booked the room months before them and management had told them several times that they would have to move). This turned out to be no problem at all. We were given 2 double queen rooms and only charged for one room because of the mix up. So not only did we get more space and beds- we paid less than we had originally planned to pay. The front desk couldn't have been nicer and even brought my children goodie bags and treats as a thanks for understanding. So nice!! The hotel is in a great location, extremely clean and comfortable. The happy hour is such a nice touch and the breakfast is delicious. We highly recommend staying at this hotel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bobio5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you so much for providing us with this outstanding review. We couldn't have asked for a better response . Your review shows other visitors a good look into how we operate. Even when we make a mistake we are happy to accommodate and go above and beyond for all of our guests. Thank you for commending our efforts and I hope you come back to see us again and again.

Michael Vice
970-385-4980
michael@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortez, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel. We stayed in the Queen Suite on the second floor. The balcony was a disappointment for us because it looked out on the roof of the entrance to the hotel. Being in Durango we imagined a great view. Unless you book the third floor king suite don't waste your money on the Queen suite. Also the living room furnishings is not of the quality we would expect in a suite.

Also the cleaning is not as good as it should be. More attention needs to be given to vacuuming in and around furnishings.

Great breakfast. Maybe one of the best we have had in a hotel. Cocktails in the evening is a nice touch.

We would come back but would select a different room.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank NEColo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. I have addressed your concerns with the housekeeping manager. The balcony doesn't have a mountain view but it is a nice large outdoor space and I hope that you were able to take advantage of that. I will speak to the owners about your comments about the furnishings to see if we are able to upgrade anytime soon. We all hope that you had a great time in Durango. I enjoyed speaking with you at check out and hope that the remainder of your summer is enjoyable.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Love the location - close to Main Street but far enough that it was quiet. The room was spacious, clean and had a balcony. The bed was one of the best hotel beds I ever slept on. The continental breakfast was good. They had extras like scrambled eggs, Canadian bacon, etc. We thought the free drinks in the evening were a nice touch. It was our 25th anniversary and the staff had a card and goodie bag in the room. The staff were all friendly and accommodating. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stayed in a third floor room on the opposite side of the highway and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
It is so nice of you to provide us with this amazing review. We couldn't have asked for better feedback. I'm happy to hear that you had a nice anniversary and a nice slumber during your stay with us. Thank you again for everything and we would love to see you back again.

Michael Vice
970-385-4980
michael@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Walking distance to D&SNG. Actually, can see and hear the trains being switched in the rail yard, and smell the aroma of burning coal from the hotel property. If riding the train, you are already parked free at the hotel. Our room was exceptionally clean and super quiet. The hotel was full and we thought we were the only ones there. Not a peep from anyone. The hotel staff were very friendly and professional. Lots of eating establishments walking distance. Again, you can park your car and get around without it especially if there for the trains like we were. Little pricey, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank josephm743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you kindly for this outstanding review. I'm so glad that you found value in your stay with us. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Durango. I hope you come back to see us again in the future.

Michael Vice
970-385-4980
michael@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Another great trip to Durango and the walking distance to the train BW Plus Rio Grande Inn. Beautiful property with fantastic staff and clean rooms. Comfortable beds and 2 free cocktails for the over 21 guests each night! Can't beat that. A fantastic indoor pool for the kids and a glass elevator too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank AuntieMame10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
What a great review. We really appreciate your kind words and your repeat business. Thanks so much for your support. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stunning location and fantastic staff. Rooms were spacious and clean with a whirlpool bath and balcony. Interior is a little dated, and the only negative was that the rooms are very dark (there are no windows only two doors - one to the hallway and one to the balcony). This meant that in order to have privacy you have to keep the curtains closed. The interior swimming pool is in the centre of the hotel - you can see it from the door to your room as they are all courtyard style which is novel. But does make it a little noisy when the kids are playing during the day. Pool curfew is 9/10pm so no issue at night. Overall - the breakfast has plenty of choice, if the room is a little dated and small, and the hotel room was large and clean. Service staff were all extremely friendly and helpful and I would definitely stay again. Location is great too as you can walk easily into the centre of Durango. Places to visit: Silveron/Durango Places to eat: Sushitarian, Carver Brewing Co.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank sapphyr_raven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmcha, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel on this site. We appreciate the great comments and are really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The rooms facing the pool are great for families and we do have quiet time so that everyone can get that much needed rest after a long day of fun in Durango!! Thanks again and have a wonderful August.

Mary Kay Dobson
970-385-4980
marykay@bwriograndeinn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#6 of 33 in Durango
451 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.3 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 33 in Durango
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.3 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Address: 400 E 2nd Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn! Located only 1.5 blocks from the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. BEST WESTERN Rio Grande Inn is perfect for the train enthusiasts of all ages. You can leave your vehicle in our parking lot and take a short to the train depot. Free HAPPY HOUR every evening from 5:30 PM to 7:30 PM. Includes(2) complimentary drinks per guest. Free HOT BREAKFAST every morning. Get your day stared right with our extended breakfast: Hot sausage, scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, biscuits, fresh fruit, yogurt, OJ and coffee. Walking distance to world class dining, galleries and amazing shopping. Some guests come for our top notch skiing. Take advantage of our GREAT location and rates when in town for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Durango
Best Western Durango
Durango Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing