We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Durango Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn Durango
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Durango Hotel”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The clerk was very friendly at check in. The room was very clean. I couldn't find a problem with it. Did have a strong odor of freshner spray. Was to tired to see if there was a stink machine in the room. Biggest problem was the internet SUCKED! If I could connect at all it was piggy back off the signal from the Travelodge. Also, the breakfast did not meet up to Choice Hotel Standards. Which states you must have 3 hot items. Not counting the waffles. They only had two bisquits and gravey. Which were not in the standard dictated display containers.

And speaking of this a person that is handicap would have a very hard time getting to the breakfast area which is located above the office. Navigating steps is a must at this property. I don't see how they are ADA compliant.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funkikker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityM1, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. We will inform our housekeeping staff about using less room fresheners in the rooms when they clean.

As for the internet, we have switched providers to provide guests with a faster internet service and we are still working out our troubleshooting issues!

We actually offer a breakfast service in our front lobby downstairs for our guests who are unable to access the staircase. There is a small seating area to the left of the reception desk. The front desk attendant is also there to assist guests with any breakfast needs.

I'm sorry to hear about the breakfast menu items and the containers they were housed in. We usually offer an egg quiche, biscuits and gravy and waffles, as well as fruit, yogurt, bagels, toast, etc. The breakfast attendants have been informed of your feedback.

Please let us know if there is anything else you noticed, or if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Kristin
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    179
    68
    14
    7
See reviews for
146
200
33
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012 via mobile

Reception was friendly, rooms are dated but maintained in a good shape and clean. Breakfast buffet is pretty good and area has sufficient seating. Overall good value for money using coupon rates. Acceptable for a night's stay.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roadtoholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityM1, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you providing us with feedback on your recent stay. We are constantly trying to improve our guests' stay and updating rooms is part of the improvements on our list. We have updated our bathrooms with granite countertops, have 32" flat screen TV's in every room, and the furniture is due to be replaced within the year. We will have all new bed frames, chairs, tables, and dressers in every room. The breakfast items have recently been updated as well and we are trying to offer as many options for our guests as we can. Please feel free to contact us directly if you have any questions or wish to keep tabs on when the new furniture has been implemented. Sincerely, Kristin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

First we have 3 holds placed on our cards as we asked to split the cost between two people. That sucked as we used debit cards. (dumb us). Then we get to the room. Ok not dreadful and do-able. Decent sleep only to wake up to get ready to leave and there is no hot wTer and the handle fell off the toilet. We endure and go to check out and explain our drama and we are berated by some fresh faced young girl for not calling to have everything fixed. So what were they going to do? Boil us some water?
There was no apology just a scathing berating. We had to ask for a discount which we were granted 5%. Uhhh thanks. So i give this place a poor rating. Go up the road and stay at siesta a family run place. Unfortunately they didnt have a room for us. :-(

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WheelieSerious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityM1, General Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
We are sorry to hear about your recent stay with us at the Quality Inn. Thank you for your feedback so that we may improve as many areas as possible for our guests. Your feedback has been given to our front desk staff and the maintenance staff. There is a room inspector that goes in and checks every room to make sure that handles do not fall off toilets, lights work, doors lock, etc. That person has been informed of the issues you encountered and has been asked to keep an extra close eye out for problems guests might be faced with.

The information about your debit cards has been given to management and the procedure about holds will be given to all front desk staff again to make sure three debit card holds will not happen again.

The staff here at the Quality Inn are always striving to better themselves. If there is anything you wish to contact us directly about please feel free.

Again, we are sorry that your stay was not up to the Choice Hotel Brand standards and we want to resolve the issues in any way we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The Quality Inn in Durango was a good choice for us. It was clean, quiet, good beds and a friendly helpful staff. It had the added attraction of being close to a friend's house.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Layton, Utah
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The outside of this facility is dirty, and the area is noisy. This is my first time in Durango in 23 years. The front office receptionist is rude and is not very helpful, I say this from much experience in traveling, as I have been in many destinations with my Federal career. The coffee is good, the young man staffing the breakfast area is nice and courteous. The room is reasonably clean, but I would not recommend this hotel/motel to any of my co-workers. I am in Durango for 14 days on travel & work duty for the government.

Room Tip: no commwnt
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityM1, General Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
We are sorry to hear that your stay was not as pleasant as we had hoped. The front office staff have all been given your feedback. If there is anything specific that you found the front office staff was not helpful with feel free to contact us directly and we can make necessary procedural changes to assure that every staff member is as helpful as possible.

Our maintenance staff has been working on updating and cleaning the outside of the building. Spring cleaning is always difficult because of the strange weather that Durango often gets hit with! We apologize if the exterior of the buildings was not clean, and we will make sure that doesn't happen again.

Again, please feel free to contact us directly if you have any additional comments or concerns you would like to share with the Quality Inn Staff. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review to work on building our services upon.

Sincerely,
Mary Hert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
128 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Had a good one night stay while on a bike ride through Colorado. Our TV did not work in our room and the manager on duty went out of his way to deliver a new one in working order to our room. There is a full blown laundrymat within walking distance and directly across from that a great little brew pub with cold beer to enjoy while you wash your clothes. Rooms were clean and well stocked. The hotel is showing some age, but you can see that the staff is working hard to keep it maintained.

On a bad note: (Not Hotel) If you have trouble with your motorcycle while in town, do not bother to go to "Handlebar Motorsports". I had a wheel bearing going out on me and needed their help. The service manager diagnosed the problem as a very expensive U-joint issue without even looking at my bike. I would not let them change the oil in my lawnmower.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbooth2099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityM1, General Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad to hear your needs were taken care of and you were able to enjoy some of the amenities near our hotel! We are working to keep our building maintained. Next time you come through the Durango area please check us out again. (P.S. Sorry to hear about the bike shop!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We rolled the dice on tr@v&locity and got the Quality Inn.

The front desk staff was excellent, and took time to help me plan out my micro brewery bar tour and hikes in the area. The free breakfast was nicer than I expected. It was staffed and had some hot choices. The king room had a comfortable bed and decent micro fridge and tv. I will say that the king rooms are on the small side, but they were nice enough and clean. The bathrooms looked remodeled.

The one downside is that if you want to go out downtown it is far to walk. There is the free trolley in season that is handy, plus bus stops close by. Unfortunately two of the micro brews close super early (8:30?!) so keep that in mind.

Room Tip: King rooms were a bit small but nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityM1, General Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Thank you so much for your feedback. The front desk is very knowledgeable about many of the "things to do" here in Durango. For such a small community Durango has 4 microbreweries. Sorry to hear they don't stay open past 8:30PM. We have also upgraded our breakfast and make our own sausage gravy!

We will take your feedback seriously and hope your next stay with us will be as pleasant as this one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
1.9 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
452 reviews
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
0.6 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#4 of 33 in Durango
968 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Durango

Property: Quality Inn Durango
Address: 2930 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4243 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Durango
#5 Family Hotel in Durango
#6 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Durango 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself surrounded by the beauty of Colorado and the history of Durango when you stay at our Quality Inn(R) hotel near the Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. Our smoke-free quality hotel in Durango is ideally located less than two miles away from the historic downtown area and is also near a variety of popular attractions like: - Durango Train - Multiple Durango Breweries - Fort Lewis College - Mesa Verde National Park The Animas River area offers a variety of outdoor activities, such as hiking trails, rafting and fishing. Our hotel also offers many packages including: - Brewery -or- Wine - Paddleboards - Cruiser Bikes Relax after an active day or get work done before you head out at our business center with access to copy and fax services. Hold an event at our meeting room, which accommodates up to 30 guests, and take advantage of additional amenities at our Durango hotel like: - Free breakfast - Free WiFi - Free weekday newspaper - Seasonal outdoor pool - Indoor whirlpool All inviting guest rooms feature coffee makers, hair dryers and TVs. You can always depend on our Quality Inn hotel to give you great value. At Durango, CO hotels like ours, you get an affordable hotel with all the amenities you expect, whether on business travel, a weekend getaway or vacation. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Durango Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn Durango
Durango Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing