We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed by noise and lack of hot water”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Durango
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This motel (not Inn) looks very cheap and rundown from outside. Inside rooms very ordinary, not modern. Motel is right on Main St. which is also the main highway through town, so lots of road noise even in back building. Also right next to train tracks which is not scenic (can't see it due to trees) but very loud with horn. Kids will enjoy small pool. Motel is nonsmoking and parking is right outside the room so loud guests were up late at night in parking lot partying and smoking. Breakfast room is small, breakfast is free but usual free breakfast fare. Internet connection free but hard to access, need different site depending on which building so need to start over if in breakfast room. Front desk said one business computer available but slow connection so don't bother. Finally, hot water in shower only lasted less than a minute, so had to keep turning shower off and on to get any hot water at all. I had expected more because I usually find good hotels through tripadvisor reviews.

Room Tip: Back building will give only a very slight improvement from road noise but then will have more train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LMom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityM1, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear LmomNY,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on our hotel, and I am so sorry to hear that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. Here at the Quality Inn Durango happy guests are our #1 priority.

Noise is not a normal complaint that we have, and the Durango train is usually a fun highlight for our guests. We are located in town, and right off the river, so I can see how the sounds can be a concern. I will personally be sure to check out internet. We do have multiple routers to ensure high signal, but each router accesses the internet with the same passcode. If you had to re-log in when you moved locations, there may have been a problem, and I will see to it that it gets fixed! As for breakfast, we have been improving our breakfast with healthy and fresh items. Some of the new offerings include: eggs cracked in house, house chopped potatoes, homemade gravy, and numerous gluten free items. If there is something specific that you were missing, or would like to see added, please don't hesitate to let us know as we are always looking to improve.

If you have any further details please feel free to email me personally at gm.co405@choicehotels.com. Any comments a suggestions are very valuable to all of us here at the Quality Inn Durango.

Sincerely,
Brooke Henderson & the
Quality Inn Durango Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

366 - 372 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Overall, our stay at this inn was fine - nothing stellar but nothing horrible. The staff at check in was helpful and courteous. We reserved two rooms and were placed in completely different buildings (due to having different room types) - since I'd reserved pretty far in advance it just seemed as though they could have placed us closer. Our room was very clean and had some nice touches (chalkboard, rubber duckie for the kids' bath). It was spacious overall but a little tight with the sofabed open.

On the downside, our refrigerator did not work (kind of a big problem since we had a cooler full of food); the fridge in the other room worked but was off when we checked in and took hours to cool down. The WiFi did not really work very well. The breakfast area was ridiculously small and we had to eat in our room. It's not the fault of the hotel, but there were several parties of extremely rude guests making a lot of noise at night and early in the morning; and as it's motel-style accommodations you can certainly hear this type of guest very clearly.

The king bed was very comfy, and my kids (5 year olds) had no complaints about the sofabed. The pillows were strange - these kind of square small bed pillows rather than standard-sized pillows. Maybe there was a stash of real pillows somewhere. They flattened out a bit with use and looked slightly more normal in the morning.

Our stay here was pleasant enough though I'm not sure that I'd bend over backwards to stay there again.

Room Tip: The King bed/sofabed rooms are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krista M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityM1, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us feedback from your stay. We sincerely appreciate hearing from our guests, and use this information to make improvements for future guests.

Although it looks like you enjoyed many parts of your stay, there were some areas that could have been improved. We have known that our pillows have not been up to our standards, or our guests. Thankfully, Choice Hotels recently accepted a new pillow that is now brand approved , and they are a much higher quality. We have already started replacing our old pillows with the new and improved ones. We have also been udating and renevating our rooms this past year, and part of this renevation includes our chalkboard walls! I am glad to hear that you and your children were able to enjoy this new feature. Our goal is to continue to exceed our guest’s expectations, and we hope these changes will help us reach that goal!

Thank you so much for providing us with your input, and we hope that you will come again on your next visit through Durango.

Sincerely,
Brooke Henderson
& The Quality Inn Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Booked here based on other reviews and pricing and found this to be the best value with good reviews. Our stay here did not disappoint. The rooms were small, but we were staying just one night and we had everything we needed. The beds were comfortable, the room was clean. Our little one (and heck, even us) enjoyed the chalkboard. We didn't get to try out the swimming pool, but our little one sure wanted too! It looked clean and inviting and we saw folks enjoying it. The breakfast was really good, something for everyone, the health conscious, the gluten intolerant, the little one loved making her own waffle. My husband enjoyed the freshly made eggs. The room was small and I wasn't sure we were going to be able to eat, but with a little patience, we enjoyed our breakfast very much. The staff made our stay though, everyone from first check in to check out, including the breakfast help, were friendly, welcoming and very helpful as they guided us to good dinner and visitor's options.

Room Tip: We were in the back toward the mountain and a bit further off the main road. The room was quiet. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breezy779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityM1, Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with the rest of our team, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. I am happy that you were able to take advantage of our breakfast as well. We work hard at providing fresh, healthy, and homemade options for our guests. Each one of us here takes pride in our hotel, and the services we provide, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

I hope you will stay with us again during your next Durango trip!

Sincerely,
Brooke Henderson &
The Quality Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

From the outside is nothing special but the rooms are very clean, comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was good brittany in the breakfast area was great. the trolley up and down the main street was nice. take a walk out back by the river and watch the train go by

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jennifer1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityM1, Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with the rest of our team, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. Having the opportunity to share all the wonderful things Durango has to offer is one of the most enjoyable parts of our job! Each one of us here takes pride in our hotel, and the services we provide, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

I hope to see you during your next Durango trip!

Sincerely,
Brooke Henderson &
The Quality Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Spent four nights,very nice and well maintained pool,very comfortable clean rooms,good breakfast,great location,excellent staff.Resteraunts,bar,grocery stores near by,located near historic downtown Durango.Stay here you wont ne dissapointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityM1, Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our online survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with the rest of our team, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. Having the opportunity to share all the wonderful things Durango has to offer is one of the most enjoyable parts of our job! Each one of us here takes pride in our hotel, and the services we provide, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

I hope to see you during your next Durango trip!

Sincerely,
Brooke Henderson &
The Quality Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Durango. When we arrived we found a little ducky wearing a fireman's helmet. We also had makeup remover wipes. The staff here bent over backwards to help us. Our large mini refrigerator wasn't cooling, so while we were away, the replaced it and transferred all of our stuff. The breakfast was yummy too. One day we had scrambled eggs, bacon/sausage and home fries and the second was sausage and gravy. The girl working the breakfast area was making the food in the background. The ice machine is in an odd area but it works. They also have a continental breakfast if guests would prefer that. Breakfast is served on the 2nd floor in the 1st building above the office. They also have a small area in the lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not by the breakfast area. Everyone has to walk by these rooms on the 2nd floor to ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank SharkGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityM1, Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you so very much for your review. It is always wonderful to hear when our guests have a positive experience with us, and encourages our team in all their efforts and hard work. I hope you will come visit us again, and thank you for choosing our hotel during your Durango visit.

Sincerely,
Brooke Henderson &
The Quality Inn Durango Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were disappointed that our request was not honored, even though we called before arriving and noted our request in our initial reservation. Call the night before if you have special requests. That being said, the room was clean and quiet (after we had complain once about noisy neighbors). The location is not anywhere near downtown, but the trolly is free and stops across the street, tho we drove in the evening to town. The staff was friendly, including the breakfast server. The price was not a bargain, but for Durango it was competitive I guess.
Bed was comfortable. Towels could have been a little nicer.

Room Tip: Take the free trolly. Also a self-serve type mexican restaurant is within walking distance and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WA-Cougarrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QualityM1, Manager at Quality Inn Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We agree with you, our towels and pillows needed upgrading. We have been replacing all of them that are worn our with a much hirer quality, and all should be 5 star in the next few weeks. We hope to see you again soon, and thank you again for sharing!

Sincerely,

Brooke Henderson & the
Durango Quality Inn Team
2930 Main Street
970-259-5373

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
0.6 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 34 in Durango
303 reviews
4 mi away
La Quinta Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#6 of 34 in Durango
1,050 reviews
2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Durango

Address: 2930 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4243 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Durango
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#4 Business Hotel in Durango
#6 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range: £49 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Durango 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself surrounded by the beauty of Colorado and the history of Durango when you stay at our Quality Inn(R) hotel near the Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. Our smoke-free quality hotel in Durango is ideally located less than two miles away from the historic downtown area and is also near a variety of popular attractions like: - Durango Train - Multiple Durango Breweries - Fort Lewis College - Mesa Verde National Park The Animas River area offers a variety of outdoor activities, such as hiking trails, rafting and fishing. Our hotel also offers many packages including: - Brewery -or- Wine - Paddleboards - Cruiser Bikes Relax after an active day or get work done before you head out at our business center with access to copy and fax services. Hold an event at our meeting room, which accommodates up to 30 guests, and take advantage of additional amenities at our Durango hotel like: - Free breakfast - Free WiFi - Free weekday newspaper - Seasonal outdoor pool - Indoor whirlpool All inviting guest rooms feature coffee makers, hair dryers and TVs. You can always depend on our Quality Inn hotel to give you great value. At Durango, CO hotels like ours, you get an affordable hotel with all the amenities you expect, whether on business travel, a weekend getaway or vacation. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Durango Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn Durango
Durango Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing