We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Merely Average But Expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Merely Average But Expensive”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed at the Econo Lodge enroute to Santa Fe. The motel had a good location, the room was kind of clean (it seemed like it used to be a smoking room), the decor was rundown; however, the front desk staff was extremely helpful and courteous. We paid $165 for a Thursday night, which struck us a very expensive, albeit in the range of similar motels in Durango. I would give a half-hearted recommendation of this motel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyMaysHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehjut, Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
We have been 100% non-smoking for many years now, so I am very disappointed and surprised you encountered any odor of smoking in your room. I am pleased that you found our staff to be so helpful and courteous. I know our summer rates may not be as low as other parts of the country, but we do pride ourselves on providing an excellent value for the Durango market.

Sincerely,

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    31
    38
    25
    22
See reviews for
44
54
17
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Fort Myers
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

This is an older hotel so the rooms are small with no amenities, I.e. no hair dryer, no coat rack, no coffee pot, no laundry facilities. The continental breakfast is lame - all carbs, no fruit or protein plus the break room holds 4-5 people comfortably. However, the bed and break room were clean and the hotel location is good. You can catch the free trolley across the street to go down town or anywhere on Main Street. I would stay here again if I couldn't find another room elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oaksgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehjut, Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Thank you for posting a review. We do have hair dryers and irons upon request. We also have a microwave, fridge and coffee maker in all of our suites and all of our rooms feature a closet to hang your coat. For guests staying in a standard room, we have a microwave available any time at the front desk and are always happy to brew up a fresh pot of coffee. Our breakfast far exceeds a typical continental breakfast and includes- waffles, hot and cold cereal, cinnamon raisin bread, wheat toast, two kinds of bagels, milk, juice and coffee among other things.

Sincerely,

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located. Close by is a sweet walking path right by the river, close to the library, and not far from the main drag. The staff are friendly and helpful. They obviously put a lot of thought into what they have in their continental breakfast, it is far superior to most. Their coffee is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehjut, Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
We are pleased that you found the staff to be so helpful and friendly. We have given much thought to our breakfast selection and try to offer as many items as possible. We are also proud to be the closest hotel on the north side to downtown, making us very conveniently located relative to many attractions.

Sincerely,

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Young lady that checked us in was nice & helpful. After late check-in, quickly discovered sheets on sleeper sofa were stained with something yellow. AC was slow in cooling down unit and too small for the room so temperature in room felt warm & stuffy throughout the night. Room smelled funny. Doors all stuck and made lots of noise opening. Wifi signal was horrible. Floor was filthy. Breakfast was lacking, orange juice machine with no OJ.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dw0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehjut, Front Office Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
We are very pleased you found our font desk agent to be friendly and helpful. Not sure why the WiFi signal would not have been strong in your room, as it is in a direct line of sight with our outdoor antenna. I truly wish we would have been permitted to come and check the air conditioning settings for you. While we are not able to offer a full hot breakfast, we do have a substantial continental breakfast which includes: waffles, hot and cold cereal, cinnamon raisin bread, wheat toast, 2 kinds of bagels, milk, juice and coffee among other things. Next time your in Durango, we look forward to serving you again.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durango hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Night manager had chip on his shoulder. He asked our wedding party to quiet down, which we did and apparently wasn't quiet enough. He insisted that no one could be outside on the balcony smoking after 11, and told us we needed to go to bed. What is this, Summer Camp??!?!? There are no lights out policies at motels. Then he proceeded to call the police and have people who had already gone to bed, removed from the motel. Nonsense. This man was obviously bored.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebizaleth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehjut, Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
We do not have a lights out policy at our hotel. We do, however, believe that our guests should respect our other guests right to a good night sleep. We regret that in this extremely rare case, after multiple requests for these guest to quiet down and after multiple complaints from other guest who were disturbed, we were forced to call the police in order to assist us in removing these guests from the property. We truly wish a different outcome could have been reached.

Sincerely,

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Basic hotel, nothing fancy.

Check in, check out, easy no questions asked.

Room on first floor, no A/C working but had box fan for air.

Free breakfast was just donuts or cereal, very basic.

Decent bathroom, shower. Room was clean.



For one night,

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milehigh28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Confused by the poor ratings by others on this property. My stay was very good. Clean, comfortable room. Adequate breakfast. Good shower. Price paid seemed fair for the room that was provided. The most negative thing may be the location on the edge of town.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enondoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ehjut, Front Office Manager at EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are very please that you enjoyed your stay. While our property is not in the heart of historic downtown, our location at 20th and Main does make us the closest hotel on the north side to downtown. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit to Durango.

Earl Jack
Assistant General Manager
EconoLodge - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 33 in Durango
513 reviews
0.9 mi away
Durango Downtown Inn
Durango Downtown Inn
#22 of 33 in Durango
347 reviews
1.4 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
2.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
0.8 mi away
Durango Travelodge
Durango Travelodge
#30 of 33 in Durango
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango

Property: EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
Address: 2002 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4635
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Durango
Durango Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing