We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Durango Downtown Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Strater Hotel(Durango)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Durango Lodge(Durango)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Durango(Durango)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveller rating
61
151
98
38
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
151
98
38
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivergreat locationapplebee's restaurantoatmealroom was cleantwo blockswithin walking distanceparking lottrain stationbusy roadmain streetin townindoor pool and hot tubgrocery storewould definitely stay here againdogpet
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 363 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The beds were comfortable, the room was clean, the staff was extremely helpful and the location is great. The price is a steal considering its walking distance from downtown. It also has an Applebee's in connected to the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Hello Justin,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your experience here! Thank you for the kind words you said about the hotel. We cannot wait to welcome you back. Safe travels!

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This motel is one of those whose rooms are arranged mom-and-pop style, that is you enter your room from the outdoors. Our room was clean, bright, and way roomy enough for the two of us. A very short walk leads you to the banks of the beautiful Animas River.
Personnel were friendly, and the only hassle was that the WiFi was on the fritz during our stay.
Immediately adjoining is an Applebee's restaurant, so you don't have to go far for nourishment.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay here. I apologize for the issues with the internet, we did have a system outage, we were working together with our internet provider to get it working but it was not as quick as anyone would have liked. I am happy to say we are back up and running and our WI-FI is working well. Thank you again for the nice things you said about our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Megan Meehan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We had a booking for Mesa Verde Far View, but the NPS shutdown compelled us to look for an alternative. Thus we reached Durango and popped into Downtown Inn. The motel is OK. The room is what you may expect, and the location is excellent. We also enjoyed a back room - with a view to Animas River. Very Nice. Having said that, I still felt unhappy with its pricing. The fact that I had no booking does not justify ripping me off. Though I negotiated the price down from the initial $135 to $95, I still paid more the what most people do, and the bad taste remained.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gonjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I deeply apologize for your feelings of our hotel being overpriced. You did come here while we were still in our "peak" season and I want to assure you that the $135 rate that you were originally quoted is the rate that everyone that would have tried to call or book through the internet would have been quoted. Many times it is true that if you come in last minute to a hotel limited availability will drive the rate higher than if you had booked ahead of time, but you actually lucked out with not having a reservation and I am glad the front desk was able to get you a rate that was better for you. We do have much lower rates during our off-season (November-April) and it is a beautiful time of year to come and see Durango. I am glad that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and hope that we will be able to see you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Motel style rooms at the back of a welcoming reception foyer and Applebee Restaurant. A good hotel right in the centre of town, whereas I noticed many of the other hotel chains were situated quite a long way out of town. Plenty parking at hotel – easier to walk into town’s main street than try and park there. Also situated on the side of the river for riverside walks. US standard 2 double bedded ensuite room, clean and comfy; hotel also had laundry facilities, a small indoor swimming pool and Jacuzzi. Durango main street has numerous shops and restaurants. Applebees Restaurant attached to the hotel was very good for both breakfasts and evening meals, with excellent service. Packed with locals when a heavy early snowfall cut power to some outlying areas.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms had a good view - cars could park just outside room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMCGosport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the kind words that you said about our hotel. We hope that we will see you back in Durango soon.

Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This hotel has what others would love to have. Location! It is a two block walk to the fascinating shopping on Main Street - Durango. We found the employees and staff to be personable and helpful. The common areas are spacious and has a nice indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi and work-out room. We had the river-view room which was nice and quiet. There is coffee and tea in the lobby 24 - 7. There is an Applebee's Restaurant on site, which was very handy. They are even open for Breakfast, which brings me to my final point. The reason this hotel gets a 4 instead of a 5 is that they do not include Breakfast in their room rates. But then again, a lot of hotels in Durango don't serve Breakfast either. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Chjoose the river-view rooms for a quieter stay.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmeehanDurango, General Manager at Durango Downtown Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Mr. Jerry B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so lucky to be located on the perfect spot in this beautiful town; close to all the restaurants, shopping and night life, yet still on the banks of the tranquil Animas. We are glad you enjoyed it as much as we do. I am so sorry we missed out on the last star, while we do not provide breakfast there are so many great local restaurants to explore it can be half of the fun! Our front desk can definately point you in the right direction for an amazing meal next time that you are in town. Thank you again for your feedback and we really look forward to seeing you again in the near future.


Sincerely,
Megan Meehan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews