We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, fair price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Durango Downtown Inn
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good location, fair price”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

The Durango Downtown Inn is well located and fairly priced. It's relatively basic in its amenities but only three blocks from Main St. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. We had a nice room on the river side, second story. You're on your own for breakfast. There is an Applebee's with a bar next door, but it no longer serves breakfast. There's also a grocery store and gas stations nearby.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KelCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    143
    88
    35
    14
See reviews for
89
151
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed in July 2014. Chosen because it was best priced room left in town. Must have been something going on. Hard beds. No free breakfast. Clean room. Would not choose again. Hot tub jets not very effective...just frothiness created and not much therapeutic aid,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ndngolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here two nights & it was a perfect place. Only reason I didn't give it a 5 is the size of the bathroom, smaller. But everything is pretty clean (carpets need a cleaning) and very friendly & helpful front desk. Best part is location - the riverwalk was just outside our room, so would take our morning coffee down there. Only two blocks from the historic main street, an easy stroll to shops and restaurants. If we come back, would definitely stay here.

Room Tip: ask for one near the river, out back -
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookielaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Nothing fancy, but located right next to town, so it's a one block walk to shops and restaurants, and also right next to the river. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Overall, a convenient place to serve as the hub for our exploring in the area for a few days.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VeganDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We were very disappointed in this place. We asked for nonsmoking room and ours smelled awful. They couldn't move us so we suffered for two nights. Room was small and tacky. This might be ok if room was cheap but was not. We would never stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryAnn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durango hotels

Sedona, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We reserved one night for the last night of our round trip through Colorado. Compared to the other places we stayed, at almost $200 per night, it was far below the standard we expected. The room was well cared for, but the carpet so needs to be upgraded. I think it was there originally since there were cigarette holes in it. This place is sufficient if there is no other place to stay, but sub-standard for what it offers. It was terribly noisy Saturday night... was very glad the air-conditioner was loud enough to mute the noise a bit. As an inn-keeper, myself, I was so disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirlGIrl1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was not a bad hotel but there were some problems. The positives included easy walking distance to downtown, pretty grounds, and clean rooms. The downside was a very slow check-in and no elevators. We had large suitcases that were difficult to get up and down the stairs. When we checked out, the housecleaning staff had the stairs blocked with their carts which added to the difficulty. If you want to wait, the hotel will track down the maintenance man to help with luggage.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground level room. There are no elevators and it's not easy getting large suitcases u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.7 mi away
Durango Lodge
Durango Lodge
#20 of 33 in Durango
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#6 of 33 in Durango
451 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durango Downtown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango Downtown Inn

Property: Durango Downtown Inn
Address: 800 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5582
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Durango Downtown Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in historic downtown, Durango Downtown Inn is conveniently located just 1 block off of Historic Main Street. The hotel offers guests the convenience of easy access to shopping, dining, and galleries as well as many exciting activities. The world famous Durango Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad is just 5 short blocks from the hotel and a very easy walk. The beautiful Animas river flows behind the hotel giving guests wonderful scenery as well as a 3 mile river walk. Our indoor pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center are sure to help you to relax and recharge. The Applebees Neighborhood Grill and Bar offers wonderful food choices for any meal of the day. The Durango Downtown Inn is waiting to take care of your every need and we hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Durango Downtown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Downtown Hotel Durango
Holiday Inn Durango
Durango Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing