We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Would Recommend”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We enjoyed our stay here in early February. The staff was very helpful and the rooms are modern and very comfortable. The heating is run from a guage on the wall which is much better than the units placed under windows..thank you! thank you! We were able to walk to main street very easily - lots of great restaurants to chose from. We would stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the city actually face the parking lot/street. We selected this for the lower rate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DG_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. We are pleased that you had a great stay with us and we look forward to having you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    870
    475
    136
    41
    14
See reviews for
525
589
43
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Stayed 4 nights for skiing and Snowdown. Our room #124 was a pebble's toss from the Animas river. The view was beautiful and the beds were great! Stay on the first floor for best pool/ exercise access. Two sinks, great shower pressure, best hotel towels ever! make the bathroom 4.5 stars. No exhaust fan subtracts half star.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swjuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 15 February 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We're pleased that you found our hotel enchanting by the riverside, we do have the best location in town. We look forward to having you return to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

This place had some very friendly staff members and was in a pretty setting. The room and premises were rather rustic, but kept up well enough. The hotel has a close to vintage look on the interior.

The food in the lounge was average. The morning front desk staff were particularly cheerful and accommodating.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbsonboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank yuo for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We were pleased to learn that you would stay here again! We are in the planning stages now for a guest room renovation - it takes a lot of planning to execute such a large renovation but we are very excited about it for the added value it will be for our guest.
We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Clean, friendly and professional. What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate the feedback, it's great to hear first hand from our guests. We look forward to having you stay with us again your next trip to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Zero complaints about this hotel. It has character, the service was outstanding, the food was excellent (try the wild mushroom bisque), it was clean and quiet, the fitness center was clean and well equipped. The only issue was that the WiFi was a little slow and "choppy" at times, but it worked well enough and worked in the fitness center also.

Great location in town, a few minutes walking to good food and good beer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the river view. Balconies make it a pleasant place to have morning coffee,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ominbnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your feedback. We do apologize for the bad experience you had with the tub drain, that should never have happened. With respect to our beds, we have "Sweet Dreams" beds which are made expressly for DoubleTree Hotels. These beds feature feather bed toppers, down comforters etc which for an occasional guest is too soft, the majority of our guests absolutely love our beds. Should you make another reservation to stay with us we would be happy to accommodate you by removing the feather bed, comforter, etc replacing with regular bedding and put a bed board under the mattress. All you'd need to do is let us know prior to your arrival and we will take care of it for you. We look forward to having another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Nice location, walking distance to the downtown area and all the nice restaurants in the area. We had a river view room which was nice. The hotel sits at the corner of 2 major roads into the Durango area, so when you think "river-view", don't confuse it with the wilderness - you do hear road traffic but it's more like background noise. The room was nicely appointed though neither my husband or I were fans of the beds here - too soft and we both suffered discomfort because of it. We found used linens in our bathroom upon check-in which pointed to the fact that the shower curtain hadn't been changed since the last guest. The tub/shower also didn't drain and I removed a hair-ball that probably reached to China - pretty gross. The public areas are very dated though clean. The complimentary coffee was actually quite good. Sound-proofing of the rooms was better than average. Would stay again.

Room Tip: ask to stay as far away from the road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heidimiller365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the feedback and welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Just as others have Written very Elegant for Colorado

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, The DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We couldn't agree with you more, we do have a great location, right on the river, just a short walk from down town and the Train and other activities. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#6 of 33 in Durango
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
1,035 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
0.3 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#4 of 33 in Durango
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing