We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISGUSTINGLY DIRTY ROOMS, guaranteed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We have stayed at this hotel a handful of times to visit family & ride the DSNGRR. Never Again!
3 out of the past 5 stays at Doubletree Durango have been horrifically filthy. This last stay there was dried bodily fluids on the white coverlet with hair stuck to it, brown dried splashes on the wall in plain sight, something gooey all over the phone cord. I took pictures with my iPhone to show them and the very young staff was not even surprised. We were moved to an allergy pure room and there was half eaten candy on the floor and a wrapper.
We will no longer stay here, at $150/night this is unacceptable. Appalling!
They have also removed all the hutches with fridges and microwaves, that used to be present in every room. Housekeeping will roll some scratched dented and dinged ones into the room and leave on the floor at your request.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do apologize for the housekeeping issues you experienced. This is definitely not up to our standards. Our staff works hard to provide clean and comfortable rooms for our guests and we will work hard in the future to see that this doesnt happen again. It is interesting you mention hutches with microwaves and fridges, our hotel has never had those. We are in the planning stages now for a guest room renovation which will include microwaves and fridges in addition to many other changes for our guest rooms. We do hope that in the future you will consider staying with us again to give us the opportunity to show you a perfect stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,319 - 1,325 of 1,617 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2012

The Doubletree Hotel in Durango is next to the Animas River and within easy walking distance to the Silverton Train and downtown Durango.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michelle k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate the feedback and welcome you back anytime you are in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

The hotel is a little older and shows its mature without taking away from a pleasant experience. Actually, unlike so many of the newer hotels that feel corporate chic but lack some soul, this one feels comfortable the moment you walk in it.

The front desk staff was excellent; professional, helpful and friendly. The rooms were roomy and had all necessary amenities. Opening up the balcony door and hearing the river flow by 20 feet away made it even nicer.

The breakfast buffet was very good - lots of choices including healthy ones.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: pick the river facing one if you can and go at least one floor up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benedict D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor, We appreciate your feedback and welcome you back anytime you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We recently stayed for four nights during a tour of the South West. The service received was excellent, and both breakfast and dinner proved to be both excellent value and quality. Rooms were very spacious and clean, with really good quality beds, although overall furniture was slightly more dated than we expected. The only downside was the restaurant was very empty most times we used it in the evening - lacking in atmosphere, which was a shame as the meals were great. The hotel is ideally placed for the town, and although it is based on the main road and bridge into town, we did not suffer from any traffic noise. We would thoroughly recommend the Doubletree for any visit to Durango

Room Tip: Chose riverside rooms - better view and possibly quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate the feedback. We're pleased you found our hotel to be excellent. We strive to be the best. We welcome you back anytime you are in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We were driving from the Grand Canyon to Denver for our flight home and I chose this hotel as a midway stay over based on the reviews here on trip advisor.Thank you everyone for your reviews.

I will try to add what I thought stood out to our family.There was 4 adults in one room,my 2 boys,my husband and myself.The room was bigger than your normal hotel room,we never felt crowded.Enough walking room,nice balcony overlooking the river.When I made the reservation months ago, I put in for an upgrade for an additional $15 to include breakfast.Their breakfast was amazing,Oatmeal,omlettes,tasty herbed potato wedges,homemade hot apple strudels,omg this breakfast was a fine dining breakfast.I could go on with all the items but you get the picture.If the upgrade was not available I would pay for this awesome breakfast.Excellent service also.

I loved the path by the river,I wish I had taken better photos.It was also nice to walk next door to Albertsons?grocery store for items needed and a liquor and beer store also.The Doubletree chocolate chip cookies were warm and tasty.They were also available in the lobby by their fresh coffee.The staff was warm and friendly.We used the hot tub and pool which was also a relaxing way to rest after a long car ride.Also this town was adorable.Nice to walk around and shop.I just wish I had booked 2 nights here.That was my only negative.Plentiful parking also.
One more note the hotel is very Green for the environment.Very high standards from the trash areas in and out of the room to the toilet paper.Well done Doubletree and thank you!

Room Tip: Try to get a river room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and we hope that your next visit you'll plan to stay longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

One of the nices hotels in Durgano. Very easy to find right downtown. Near old town sections of main street. Very clean rooms and a nice staff You do not get a free breakfast though.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the backside of the hotel very nice view of river and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shortsallyear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, on Trip Advisor.
We do appreciate your feedback. We're pleased that you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed our hotel. We look forward to being your hosts again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed here between Great Sand Dunes and Mesa Verde for one perfect night.

The hotel is located on the very busy junction of the major East-West and North-South streets. Luckily it is a bit set back from both streets and it is located at the river that flows through Durango, with only a running/cycling trail between the hotel and the river front. Thus, if you can influence it pick a room on the river side, which are actually very quiet. As we needed to accommodate five people, we actually got a king bed suite with a connecting door to a two queen room on the ground floor level of the hotel, which made it a really great three room family suite. The king suite had very beautifully upgrades with a jetted large tub, crown molding and wall treatments, separate rest room, separate spacious shower and bedroom vanity. Plenty of room, privacy for early lights out versus adult sleepers, full dining table, kitchenette, spacious sitting area.

On the service side, the front desk people seemed a bit clumsy (letting the unshaved guy in hiking wear and Birkenstocks with the bunch of teenage kids wait while finishing up some paperwork/discussions among themselves) but nothing too hostile that wouldn't have happened to us previously...

The dinner and breakfast experience was excellent in terms of quality, variety, service, and price. If you aren't traveling alone, for breakfast, take the option were breakfast is included in the room rate. For dinner they had a $15 dinner menu special - New Yorkers listen up: $15 for soup or salad, steak, and desert!!!!

We stayed at the Residence Inn in Durango before, which at face value offers more explicitly a family suites product at a sightly lower/similar price point; but at all levels (building quality, room/bed features, meal quality, service) the DoubleTree is far superior. It, in fact, is a real and well rounded hotel product not the stripped down economy/extended stay kind of deal that at every corner makes you feel "not quite".

Room Tip: river side of the hotel - the extra $10 are worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciated your kind words and thorough review of our hotel. We're pleased that you see the value in our hotel and appreciated all the extras we provide to our guests. We welcome you back when ever you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#12 of 34 in Durango
501 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 34 in Durango
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
0.3 mi away
The Rochester Hotel and Leland House
2.5 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#1 of 34 in Durango
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range: £85 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing