We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask and you shall receive!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
South Pasadena, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ask and you shall receive!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Our family stayed here from July 23rd to 27th. This was probably the best hotel stay we have ever experienced. When we first arrived after a long drive up from Santa Fe, of course we were met with the warm cookie. The bell hop brought our things up to our room. As he was unloading, I expressed disappointment that there was no refrigerator. He immediately went to fetch us one, and set it up right away. Our room was right on the Animus River. The room was large and clean, wonderfully comfortable beds, and we had a lovely balcony over the river. Our 13 year old son had the stomach flu one day. We spent the day in the room and on the balcony and it was lovely. In the evening I called down to the restaurant to see if they had chicken soup. John said they didn't but asked the chef if he could make some. Sure enough, the chef made homemade chicken soup from scratch for my sick boy, who pronounced it delicious! All of the staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful. Because our son wasn't feeling great, my husband and I ate in the restaurant one night and at the Animus River Cafe in the hotel, another. Both meals were delicious, and the service was great. Our meal at the Cafe was so nice, sitting right next to the river listening to live jazz, well we couldn't be happier. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Durango. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Choose the river view room. It is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your giving us this feedback. Our Chef was happy to make from scratch the Chicken Soup for your son who was ill. We're also pleased that we were able to assist you in your stay to make it a memorable one. We look forward to having you back to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    870
    480
    136
    41
    14
See reviews for
529
589
44
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Hotel is in a great location at the entrance to Durango near old town. You can walk to the train station or old town and enjoy some great places to eat or shop. If I come here on family trips we use Durango and Hilton as our base location and go see all the areas around Durango as everything is within a day trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank gkiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on TripAdvisor. We do appreciate your positive feedback. We're pleased to learn that when you come to Durango you use our hotel as your headquarters. There is so much to see and do in the Durango area and all a short trip within a day. We welcome you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albuquerque, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Everything about the Doubletree gets my recommendation. The food, service in all areas and the location get an A+ from our family. We enjoyed the walking trails and tubing down the river. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel -the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We are pleased that we could assist you with a memorable family reunion and that you had a great stay with us. We look forward to having you and or your family back to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Double tree is located less than a 5 min walk from the narrow gauge railroad station and close to the heart of downtown Durango.

Rooms are clean and fairly modern, spacious bathrooms, and some offer gorgeous views of Animas River.

Staff was very friendly and helpful to us throughout the stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DenverAC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is great to get your feedback. We totally agree with you about our location, on the beautiful Animas River and close to the Train and Downtown amenities. We welcome you back to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

As longtime, loyal Hilton clients, this one was strange. As I read others' comments, I could get the same sense of something slightly off. The location is great, cookies warm, building attractive BUT staff seem very disconnected and not quite happy. Often, they look up and then go back to conversations with no connection to guests waiting or just walking through.
The all important in room coffee is on a table in a dark corner with no good light source. It made it difficult to make a proper cup.

The comment about the dining room is spot on. Lots of staff, friendly but no evidence of training or good management. One morning we watched 6 employees setting tables or chatting while guests sat and waited for even minimal attention, like a menu or coffee. 2 of 3 mornings we had to seek out server.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TucsonSiobbhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We pride ourselves in providing each and every guest with a high quality experience and it seems we have fallen short during your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused to you while staying with us. I will follow up with my team immediately to ensure we take all necessary steps to make sure this does not happen in the future. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, we hope the next time your travels bring you to Durango that you would stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I stayed here for two wonderful nights in late June. I recommend paying the extra few dollars for a river-view rooms. I loved sitting on the balcony and watching the tubers and kayakers float by. The front desk staff was very friendly and genuine, housekeeping was thorough and the hotel was pretty quiet even though it was sold out. There is a walking path right in front of the hotel, and plenty of shops and grocery stores within easy walking distance. It was a little pricey because of being in the high season but all in all worth the money. I would definitely go back to the Doubletree Durango.

Room Tip: It's worthwhile to upgrade to a river-view room if you plan to spend any time in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gahoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is always great to get feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you had a wonderfully relaxing stay with us. We couldnt agree more about the River View Rooms with balcony overlooking the river -they are relaxing and well worth it. We welcome you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
555 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Wow....when you arrive at your hotel you want the front desk to give you a good impression...Not The Case Here! Complete disorganization ...lack of good knowledge of the area and NO supporting maps of the area available. The room is good and very clean and the location is super. Once you can find a bellman they are very helpful. It appears to be the best in the city....but in another city it would struggle to rank number one!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank drlehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We pride ourselves in providing each and every guest with a high quality experience and it seems we have fallen short during your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused to you while staying with us. I will follow up with my team immediately to ensure we take all necessary steps to make sure this does not happen in the future. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, We hope the next time your travels bring you to Durango that you would stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#6 of 33 in Durango
463 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
1,035 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
0.3 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing