We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Limited time but a nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 July 2013

An early evening arrival for an early morning departure can provide limited impression. A nicely situated hotel, we had a room overlooking the river with a small veranda that could perhaps have been enjoyed if the door had opened properly. For an overnight stay it wasn't an issue. The room was as we would have expected: clean and comfortable. Staff were polite and friendly. The general ambiance was good. There's a handy retail area across the road and a ten minute walk gets you into the town where there's a good choice of restaurants, some of them quite stylish. Can understand why those who stay longer enjoy it here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jubileepit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It's always good to get feedback from our guests. We're pleased that even tho you had a short stay with us you found everything favorable. We welcome you back to stay with us again when you have more time and can explore and enjoy all that Durango has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,579)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,066 - 1,072 of 1,581 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

Our family stayed here from July 23rd to 27th. This was probably the best hotel stay we have ever experienced. When we first arrived after a long drive up from Santa Fe, of course we were met with the warm cookie. The bell hop brought our things up to our room. As he was unloading, I expressed disappointment that there was no refrigerator. He immediately went to fetch us one, and set it up right away. Our room was right on the Animus River. The room was large and clean, wonderfully comfortable beds, and we had a lovely balcony over the river. Our 13 year old son had the stomach flu one day. We spent the day in the room and on the balcony and it was lovely. In the evening I called down to the restaurant to see if they had chicken soup. John said they didn't but asked the chef if he could make some. Sure enough, the chef made homemade chicken soup from scratch for my sick boy, who pronounced it delicious! All of the staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful. Because our son wasn't feeling great, my husband and I ate in the restaurant one night and at the Animus River Cafe in the hotel, another. Both meals were delicious, and the service was great. Our meal at the Cafe was so nice, sitting right next to the river listening to live jazz, well we couldn't be happier. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Durango. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Choose the river view room. It is well worth it!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your giving us this feedback. Our Chef was happy to make from scratch the Chicken Soup for your son who was ill. We're also pleased that we were able to assist you in your stay to make it a memorable one. We look forward to having you back to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Durango.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Hotel is in a great location at the entrance to Durango near old town. You can walk to the train station or old town and enjoy some great places to eat or shop. If I come here on family trips we use Durango and Hilton as our base location and go see all the areas around Durango as everything is within a day trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank gkiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on TripAdvisor. We do appreciate your positive feedback. We're pleased to learn that when you come to Durango you use our hotel as your headquarters. There is so much to see and do in the Durango area and all a short trip within a day. We welcome you back to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Everything about the Doubletree gets my recommendation. The food, service in all areas and the location get an A+ from our family. We enjoyed the walking trails and tubing down the river. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel -the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We are pleased that we could assist you with a memorable family reunion and that you had a great stay with us. We look forward to having you and or your family back to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

Double tree is located less than a 5 min walk from the narrow gauge railroad station and close to the heart of downtown Durango.

Rooms are clean and fairly modern, spacious bathrooms, and some offer gorgeous views of Animas River.

Staff was very friendly and helpful to us throughout the stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DenverAC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is great to get your feedback. We totally agree with you about our location, on the beautiful Animas River and close to the Train and Downtown amenities. We welcome you back to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to Durango.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

As longtime, loyal Hilton clients, this one was strange. As I read others' comments, I could get the same sense of something slightly off. The location is great, cookies warm, building attractive BUT staff seem very disconnected and not quite happy. Often, they look up and then go back to conversations with no connection to guests waiting or just walking through.
The all important in room coffee is on a table in a dark corner with no good light source. It made it difficult to make a proper cup.

The comment about the dining room is spot on. Lots of staff, friendly but no evidence of training or good management. One morning we watched 6 employees setting tables or chatting while guests sat and waited for even minimal attention, like a menu or coffee. 2 of 3 mornings we had to seek out server.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TucsonSiobbhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We pride ourselves in providing each and every guest with a high quality experience and it seems we have fallen short during your recent stay. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused to you while staying with us. I will follow up with my team immediately to ensure we take all necessary steps to make sure this does not happen in the future. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, we hope the next time your travels bring you to Durango that you would stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I stayed here for two wonderful nights in late June. I recommend paying the extra few dollars for a river-view rooms. I loved sitting on the balcony and watching the tubers and kayakers float by. The front desk staff was very friendly and genuine, housekeeping was thorough and the hotel was pretty quiet even though it was sold out. There is a walking path right in front of the hotel, and plenty of shops and grocery stores within easy walking distance. It was a little pricey because of being in the high season but all in all worth the money. I would definitely go back to the Doubletree Durango.

Room Tip: It's worthwhile to upgrade to a river-view room if you plan to spend any time in your room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gahoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterm52, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is always great to get feedback from our guests. We're pleased that you had a wonderfully relaxing stay with us. We couldnt agree more about the River View Rooms with balcony overlooking the river -they are relaxing and well worth it. We welcome you back to stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 33 in Durango
1,073 reviews
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#11 of 33 in Durango
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
0.3 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range: £88 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing