We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Real nice hotel in Durango”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Real nice hotel in Durango”
Reviewed 11 July 2008

We stayed here during a road trip. We were really happy we used this hotel. The location is good, the staff are helpful and the rooms are nice.
Be sure to enjoy the creek out the back, a lovely scenic walk in the early evening.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank cowboyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    468
    133
    41
    14
See reviews for
502
566
42
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2008

We were driving through town and were very tired so we stopped here. It was very late and there were few available rooms in town, so we didn't have a lot of options. This place was beautiful, but boy we paid for it. They accepted pets which was another reason we stayed. When we checked in they gave us fresh warm cookies and a doggie bone for my puppy. The room was beautiful and the bed was wonderful. The bathroom was lovely; marble looking counters and floors. The shower was very pretty as were the lights and sink. The room had lots of room and I noticed some of the rooms had balconies. The hotel was right on the river and you could go downstairs and walk along the bike path. They had a gym and a big indoor pool. The map made me think it was some distance from the downtown area but it was actually pretty close. There was a McDonalds just down the street too. The only complaint I had was that they didn't offer any type of continental breakfast. For a hotel to charge over $200 a night and not give any type of breakfast is lame. Other than the cost, I would stay here again.

  • Liked — The comfortable bed and high quality soaps and shampoo
  • Disliked — No continental breakfast.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank casabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pflugerville TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2008

We originally had booked three nights at the end of June 2008 at another property in Durango (has the number 8 in its name) but after one night found it to be unacceptable. So, after seeing the Doubletree, we checked the prices and booked using our AAA membership card. Even though the room was twice as expensive as the other hotel, it was well worth it. We had a large room with two queen beds and a small balcony on the 2nd floor overlooking the Animas River behind the hotel. This was for myself, husband, and two sons (ages 15 and 6). For anyone doing the Durango-Silverton train trip, you could easily walk to the train depot from this hotel (it would be about 2-3 blocks). There is also a grocery store and a few restaurants within walking distance. The hotel was very quiet. The bathroom had Neutrogena bath products (which we really liked and took home with us!) and had two sinks - one in the dressing area and one inside the smaller room with the toilet and shower. The hotel has two restaurants (one of which is only open at certain times and one of which is slightly expensive) -- we only ate one meal at the hotel, which was breakfast on check-out day. There was a breakfast menu and there was a buffet for $12.95/person ($8.95, I think, for young children). After looking at the menu prices, we thought we'd do the buffet. This would be my only complaint - the buffet was way overpriced and the food was not very hot and, frankly, not very good. Other than that, we would certainly stay at this hotel again (just not eat there).

  • Liked — balcony on our second-floor room
  • Disliked — overpriced restaurant in the hotel
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Kellie-in-Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingman
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2008

For the $$ we had to spend to stay here you'd think we'd have a plasma TV, coffee in the lobby for customers.., (yes, there is a coffee maker in the room (with paper cups)), there is no fridge and no micro, heck even the cheap Ramada Limited in town had these!! There is no breakfast either...for the price we paid we should have had a full breakfast....what's the big deal about this place? The location on the river...this is beautiful but you can save lots and lots of cash staying else where and still enjoy the boardwalk that runs along this same river; you don't need to stay here...as for the room it was very clean and the bed was too die for...but heck we paid too much!! This place lacks in "class" and really does need to be upgraded....we did get free cookies at check in....and they were good....oh, if you need to cancel your last night for some reason you need to have that "48 hr." rule in your mind....they will charge you $50.00 if you don't stay that last night...we canceled our third night because we could not see spending that kind of money when we were out doors most of the time....overrated place!!!

  • Liked — The bedding
  • Disliked — Crappy amenities
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank windsong_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice, TX
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2008

Very nice hotel. Spacious, comfortalbe rooms. Excellent mattresses. Great location with short walking distance to Main Street and the Durango/Silverton Narrow Gauge Railway. My wife and I had a City side room that I thought would be noisey and it wasn't. My teenage son and his friend had a room with two queen beds and a river view. It was excellent even though you saw too much of the highway to give you a feeling that you were actually out in the wild.

  • Liked — beds
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelersFromAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2008

Just stayed at the Doubletree in Durango for two nights and loved it. The room (riverview 2 queens) was spacious and clean. The bed was the most comfortable of our entire trip. We had a first floor room and walked out about 30 feet to the Animas River. The front desk staff is both friendly and accommodating. All in all, if you are going to stay in town, I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The room and service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gocartmozart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2008

This is an excellent hotel in a great location, overlooking the river and just accross the road from downtown Durango.
We arrived early and didn't expect to get into our room, but it was no problem, the staff were very helpful and pleasant.

The rooms are large and the beds and pillows are excellent. We had a lovely view and balcony overlooking the river.

  • Liked — Excelt rooms and great location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetoholiday2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#9 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#4 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing