We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hotel in Durango” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #5 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hotel in Durango”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2008

This is the best option in Durango (maybe it ties with the Strater, but I never stayed there).

The hotel needs a makeover, but overall it was a great experience and I rate it a 5 because it really is the best option for Durango.

The rooms are clean, the bathrooms have been remodeled, although the rest of the property should be remodeled.

The riverview is awesome.

Negatives are the decor and the food is awful.

  • Liked — Location, amenities, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Food, decor
  • Stayed February 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dm4499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    458
    129
    41
    14
See reviews for
491
547
41
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2008

We stayed at the Doubletree in Durango for two nights to see the town and visit Mesa Verde. The hotel is across the street from downtown Durango which is convenient because you can park your car in the big lot and leave it while exploring downtown. We had a room facing the street which was clean, quiet and comfortable. It was really hot during our visit and our room provided a nice break after a long day outdoors. We did not eat at the hotel so I cannot comment about the food. However, I do suggest going to Carver's in town for breakfast. Great service and good food. I recommend this hotel--the staff was pleasant, the location is great and the room was very clean.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank histtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2008

Spent two days (Aug 10 & 11, 2008) in a ground floor riverview room. We had a problem with our patio screen door, which was dealt with promptly, and mgmt even called an hour later to make sure it was taken care of! The location is great, very near town and right on the Animas River--my little dog felt very much at home, and we were able to leave her in the room crated while at Mesa Verde. Rooms did not appear remodeled to us, but they were very comfortable, with good mattresses and linens. We asked for and received a small frig for use during our stay--rooms do not come with them. Good towels--Neutrogena bath products and more than you would expect, including a facial cleanser. Friendly--although not that knowledgeable--front desk.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank sclark30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, AZ
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2008

Well the Double Tree was a nice hotel, we had the worst time the two nights we were here. The people next door to us were too loud, and kids running up the hall crying and screaming. It seemed like there were too many people in a small yet big place. I did like that it was close to the down town area, but I just wished that I would come back to a quiet room to sleep and relax. For the price of our room, you would think that we would get a free breakfast, and better service. The staff wasn't that nice too. The night before, we stayed at the Residence Inn by the Marriott, and we loved it. Even my teenage son who doens't like anything, said he liked the Residence Inn.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The service, and price
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank teeshina52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2008

The Doubletree in town is probably one of Durango's best hotels.
It is within easy walking distance to town and the train station.
We had a riverside room which was nice. The rooms have recently been remodeled and they are spacious and very quiet. The beds are comfortable and of course the Doubletree cookies are great!
We only had breakfast there one morning and it was okay. The service was a bit slow.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lollyOklahomaCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2008

The Doubletree sits on the banks of the river and is in walking distance to town. The hotel was clean and comfy. The warm chocolate chip cookies at check-in are great. We had a room that faced the river and it was pure luxury to sleep with the sliding glass door open all night and listen to the river rushing by down below. Close your screen on your door and you won't get the moths another poster complained about. The only drawback to the hotel is that the restaurant is expensive and the food is not good. Much better places to eat in town. One would think that with a great hotel like this, they would fix the restaurant problem.

  • Liked — The view of the river!
  • Disliked — The restaurant
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Snp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, VA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2008

We were not originally suppose to stay at the doubletree, but after problems in our first hotel we drove straight to it. It was a busy weekend night and the staff was very friendly and accomodating. We had two rooms that were both clean and spacious. The beds were comfortable with good pillows. Our room was on the river side which was a nice bonus. The hotel has lots of convenience features: bar, restaurant, rental car info, small store, etc...everything you'd expect from a Hilton owned property. There was a wedding reception that night in one of the ballrooms and we were still able to get around and have dinner inside the hotel without a mob of people in the halls or taking over the place. Parking is ample. You can walk to the downtown area which is nice. Overall we were very pleased with this hotel. Given the extremely short notice need for 2 rooms on a Saturday night, they were very helpful and made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank vcb219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#4 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#8 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Hilton Hotels Direct and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing