We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This was my first time to Durango. The hotel is beautiful! Our room overlooked the Animus River and the apple trees were in full bloom. Tessa and Darcy at the front desk were so friendly, helpful and professional. They patiently answered all our questions. I know it is trying interacting with so many people and personalities and these two girls are awesome! Our room was so huge... we loved it. It was nice to come back from a long day of "getting lost" and see a smile at the front desk and a very comfortable bed. There was also a thank you note along with the HHonors water. What a nice touch. We didn't eat on property as we spent most of our time roaming around. The train ride to Silverton is a must for first timers. The mountains are breathtaking. We decided to make another trip later this year to take in some spots that we missed and to try some new ones. The Doubletree is our choice! Thank you to the staff for making this a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is great
to get feedback from our guests. We're so pleased that your first visit to Durango is not going to be your last, its a wonderful place with so many different things to do and experience. We welcome you back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

963 - 969 of 1,650 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

The hotel itself, is very nice with a large, comfortable lobby; plenty of parking; many amenities such as a pool and exercise room; restaurant; convenient location to the train, shops and restaurants. Our room was large, clean and nicely furnished. There is a microwave,refrigerator, flat panel TV, and coffee maker. The bathroom looked recenly remodeled and the towels are nice and thick. The front desk folks were friendly and helpful. Of course, the huge chocolate chip cookies are always yummy. One big negative is that breakfast is not included and the cost of the buffet is $16/pp - pretty hefty even for Durango. When we were there, major road construction was happening right in front of the hotel and it took us 15 minutes to navigate around to the parking lot. They work all night long and as our room faced the road, it was very noisy and kept us awake. However, this is not the fault of the hotel but I wish we'd known about it prior to booking our room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We do apologize for the noisy construction issues that you endured during your stay with us. We
are almost at the end of the highway construction out front of our hotel. The traffic jams and all have been rough for everyone but soon it will be over. We thank you for your business and welcome you back to stay with us again when the construction is over and peace and quiet will reign
again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My daughter was graduating from the local Fort Lewis College. After a HORRIBLE travel day (thanks United), we arrived at the Doubletree at almost midnight to our cookies and a very comfy bed. The location of the hotel is perfect next to the scenic Animas River Trail and just a couple blocks from all that's happening downtown Durango.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank smurph13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We love getting feedback from our guests. We are pleased that you found out location to be a great one by being on the Animas River and close to all the amenities of Durango. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Nice hotel from the days when they built nice hotels. Well kept, clean, great rooms, with plenty of space and beautiful river views. Professional and friendly staff. Durango has four distinct seasons and each is beautiful in a different way. Try them all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Randall L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

We thank you for your review of our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is
great to get your compliments of our hotel. We thank you for your business and welcome you back to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you back to Durango.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Hotel accommodations were perfect in every way. It was amazing to see how the staff took care of every little detail. Any thing that was needed was taken seriously and the staff made it happen. The food was excellent and plentiful, always presented professional. Each person was friendly always asking if everything OK and was there anything we needed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Elaine Woodall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

We thank you for your review of our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
Its great to get feedback from our guests and know that we are doing our job. We love catering for our guests and pleased that your event was successful. Thank you for your business, We look forward to having another opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Based on the lack of customer service, ability to accomodate my needs and provide key information I am not a fan of the Doubletree in Durango, CO. Would not stay at this hotel again. The staff did not understand their own billing system and wrong information was provided during my check out. NO information was given on the internet access of the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Tanya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor after your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback as it assists us on improving our service and quality.

I am hoping to get an opportunity to speak with you regarding your stay and do hope to hear from you soon. I am sorry for the experience you had and ask that you please either email or call me at my contact information below. Your opinions are important to us.

peter.marshall@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The room and view was beautiful. Close to town. Gorgeous lobby. Good bfast buffet. Goregous, large bathroom. Super comfy bed. Superb staff and customer service. Had a few technical difficulties, but they were resolved easily and quickly. Either we didn't have neighbors or walls are like brick, cuz we didn't hear a peep! Not sure which one! Manager when we checked out was wonderful in his demeanor and his handling of our few room problems. JP, Kaci, and Zach were all wonderful-especially JP :) Can't wait to come back :)

Room Tip: Room 450-gorgeous view, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sahmdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

We thank you for your review of our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango. Thank you for your compliments, especially those of our staff, we will be sure to pass them on to each of them.
We were pleased to learn that you "cant wait to get back" and want to welcome you back anytime you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 34 in Durango
1,119 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#12 of 34 in Durango
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Rochester Hotel and Leland House
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
2.5 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#1 of 34 in Durango
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range: £92 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing