We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent: room, service, restaurant, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Smyrna GA
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent: room, service, restaurant, location”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Overall EXCELLENT!

We stayed 4 nights at the Durango DoubleTree.
- We had a party of 7 (family of 3 and two sets of grandparents in 3 separate rooms) and we had several arrival changes which the front desk folks handled smoothly.
- The staff (front desk, housekeeping, and restaurant) were all courteous, professional, prompt and personable. Kudos to them and the management who know how to treat and talk to guests.
- Excellent views from the riverside rooms (don't remember if they cost a bit more, but we thought they were worth the price).
-- the DoubleTree is more expensive than some of the other surrounding motels/hotels but the rooms and service were clearly a cut above. We found out that they provide benefits for their full time employees (a rarity in the service industry) and we are willing to pay more to businesses that takes care of their employees. (And in-turn, their employees are a cut above.)
- About. 2-3 block walk to the train station and the Durango restaurants and shops.

We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Riverside room is desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billbor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. We're so pleased that you and your family had a good stay with us. We welcome you back to stay anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    880
    485
    137
    41
    14
See reviews for
535
595
44
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint George, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We recently spent one night at the Doubletree in Durango. Although there are many other cheaper options in Durango, I decided to pay the extra money because I wanted to be on the river, so I booked a room at the Doubletree.....I have to admit, I was kicking myself afterwards because it just was not worth that extra money to walk out the balcony and look at the river versus driving five minutes to see it.

As far as the hotel goes, it is very pretty and in a great location....on the river and a very short walk to downtown. The staff was nice; not exceptional but very pleasant. We had a 2 queen room with a river view. The room was adequate in size with a small table and two comfortable chairs. It was very clean and the bed was comfortable. We had a microwave and a refrigerator; I don't think all rooms come with them though.

Breakfast was not provided unless you bought the breakfast package, which we did for $20.00. The food was very good though. The chocolate chip cookies are always good; there is coffee in the lobby in the morning but not in the evening.

Overall, we had a pleasant experience at this hotel; however, for the price paid I think I would check other options if I returned to the Durango area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 388lovetravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is always great to get feedback from our guests -to learn how we are doing from a guest perspective. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for staying with us and welcome you back again when ever your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We only stayed for one night for our first trip to Durango, so the sampling size might not be adequate. But the location, the property and the room all left a strong impression, enough to convince us that a longer stay might be in order the next time around. The location strikes a difficult balance of convenience and relaxation, as it is within a short walk from the historic downtown and also on the bank of the Animas River which is heavy with rafting traffic on the water and leisurely pedestrians. The room is specious and generously equipped with the essentials. The hallway decorations give the hotel a resort feel. The ambience in general is very relaxing. One slight complaint is noise both on the town side and on the river side during the day.

Room Tip: River view on the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odysseydelux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is always great to get feedback from our guests - a good way to measure our performance. We are pleased to learn that you would like to come back for a longer stay. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Double Tree hotel in Durango, Colorado has won our continued support. I had just retired and we were welcomed so graciously and a fruit plate and drinks were delivered to our room soon after we arrived. A congratulatory note signed by the front desk accompanied the fruit plate. We had a question about our door and someone came down right away to look and fix it.
The whole hotel is beautiful with a pretty entry and check-in area. Our room walked out to the Animas River not 20 yards away and a river walk right outside the door. The hotel is on the river and within walking distance to the Durango and Silverton tourist train and within and easy walk of downtown Durango. A perfect vacation trip!

Green Features: Very in to environmental practices. Even the wastepaper baskets are divided for recycling!
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 724pamelah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. We're pleased to learn that your stay with us was welcoming and that you found our hotel and location a beautiful spot. We thank you for staying with us and welcome you back when ever your travels bring you to Durango again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Perfect location for site-seeing and enjoying the Animas River. Just a couple of blocks from all the shops, restaurants and the train station. We had a king room facing the city. It was nicely appointed, bed was comfortable, and towels were nice and fluffy. My only issue with this hotel is the inconsistency of service which at times appeared indifferent. First - when I got to the front desk the person looked at me and said, "Just a minute. I'll be back." No "Hello! Welcome!" nothing. Later when she returned, she was very friendly and welcoming, but the first impression left a lot to be desired. Usually in Doubletrees or other nicer hotels, the staff acknowledge you when you're walking by. At this one they don't. Except for one of the housekeepers, they actually seemed sort of unfriendly/indifferent. Finally, we had brunch in the restaurant on both days. The first day, the service was exceptional - very attentive, accommodating, etc., but the second day was completely different. The server took forever to acknowledge us, take our order, etc. Also - their brunch includes omelettes, waffles, and pancakes. On the first day, the server made a point of offering to take our orders for these items, but on the second day, the server never offered. Another group near us actually left (and later returned) because they didn't realize they were included in the brunch. Bottom line - this is a terrific location, but the service is very inconsistent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Roxane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We thank you for your compliments and for the comments about inconsistency of service. We are working with our staff to correct this. We thank you for staying with us and welcome you back to stay again when ever your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

At a rate of $229 per nite on a holiday weekend ... this should have a superb stay .. it was a OK .. nothing spectacular.. The restaurant was not well staffed and the chef had an off nite .. considering the dinner pricing .. Enjoy the view, however, do not stay on the east side .. the train whistle is annoying..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank H. Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments about our hotel. We know our guests have many choices and we thank you for choosing our hotel. We welcome you back to stay again when your travels bring you to this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, United States
1 review
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Wonderful hotel in a splendid location. The staff was extremely helpful. Room was exceptional. Lots of care both inside and outside of the property. Easy to walk to the Durango downtown and train station. Restaurant selections covered all tastes and wait staff very attentive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. It is always great to get feedback from our guests. We thank you for your compliments of our hotel, we do have a great location and our staff work hard to make our guests stay a good one for them. We would like to welcome you back to stay again when ever your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#9 of 33 in Durango
1,050 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#6 of 33 in Durango
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
2.5 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing