We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the river”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ennis, United States
1 review
“On the river”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our room was a river view and it was so nice to look out at the river going by, the rafters, kayaks and tubers. Everyone at this hotel was friendly and pleasant. Durango seems to be bit expensive so this hotel is in keeping with the prices. The airport shuttle made it possible to do w/o renting a car. It is within walking distance of the train, trolley and downtown.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We do appreciate your feedback. We're pleased that you had a good stay with us. We do have a great location right on the beautiful Animas River. We welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    870
    478
    136
    41
    14
See reviews for
527
589
44
205
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My stay was excellent. The room had plenty of space and was very clean. They provided me with complimentary water and the room had a refrigerator and microwave which I appreciated. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone vacationing in Durango.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and compliments of our hotel. Thanks for staying with us.
We gladly welcome you back to stay again when ever your travels bring you to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel is rated a luxury hotel. It is by far a luxury hotel. I would say this hotel is similar to the Best Western. There was absolutely nothing special at all. The food in the main dining room was average while the wait staff was terrible. There was only one waitress with four tables and the service was terrible. Couldn't imagine if it was busy. The entrance to the hotel was really hard to find. We had to loop around three times to find it. The furniture in the lobby and the room were outdated. I do not believe this hotel is worth the luxury prices either. I will say that the location of this hotel was awesome. You could walk to tons of attractions, restaurants, etc. The Animas River was beautiful and we did enjoy taking that 7 mile walk but that has nothing to do with the hotel. I would suggest saving your money on this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments. We have addressed the issues that you raised with our restaurant team to ensure that this is not repeated. We are hopeful of a partial renovation late in 2015. In the meantime we thank you for staying with us and hope that you will consider us again should your travels bring you back to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claypool, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2014

When we come to Durango Colorado there is no other place we even consider. The location is perfect. The view is stellar. The climate is second to none. The Staff are wonderful. The rooms are extremely comfortable and the view of the river ties it all together.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and compliments of our hotel. We thank you for choosing our hotel for your Durango stay and welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

and yet close enough to walk to town. We did use our car for the 3 days we were here! Very nice front desk staff. Two restaurants riverside to choose from. Get a room on the river side. It's worth it!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank E1659DRjeanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel -the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to get your feedback and compliments of our hotel. Thanks for staying with us, we welcome you back anytime you are in the Durango area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponchatoula, La., United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Overall Doubletree has always been very good, but our experience at their Durango, CO facility was pretty sub-par for Hilton. You typically pay more for the Hilton quality and expect more, but that was not the case on this particular stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the DoubleTree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments. We will make every effort to make the improvements necesary to ensure a great stay in the future. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a very nice hotel located next to the Animas River and close to downtown Durango. The hotel rooms were spacious for my family of four. the restaurant offered a good breakfast that helped to start each days adventure. My family enjoyed their experience in Durango and the Double Tree helped may that possible.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel, the Doubletree by Hilton Durango on Trip Advisor. We love getting feedback from our guests. We are pleased to learn that you had a great stay with us.
Thanks for choosing our hotel for your Durango stay, we welcome you back anytime you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#6 of 33 in Durango
462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
1,035 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
0.3 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#4 of 33 in Durango
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301-5449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing