We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding old hotel, great location”
Review of Strater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Strater Hotel
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights to get away from it all. The hotel is right on main street so it is within easy walking distance of most of the shops. We had the Louis Lamour room on the corner of the 3rd floor. It is a huge room overlooking main street. We thoroughly enjoyed staying here. The bar is small but fun and lively. Breakfast was sub-par but we went out to eat and there are some great restaurants nearby so why eat at a hotel buffet? The hot tub is big and private. You have to reserve it in advance but we were the only ones on the reservation list late in the evening. We walked to the train station for the winter day ride, it was great as well.

Room Tip: Get the biggest room you can afford, preferably a suite to be up high where there are views. The co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1stWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

861 - 867 of 1,100 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

The Strater is a special hotel in a special place, Durango, CO. There is a vitality there in both the hotel and city.

The Strater offers immaculately clean and comfortable rooms in a classic setting. Public areas abound, with restaurants and saloon. All built in that old, intricate wood work style. Even the corridors and main stairwell are exceptional.

Located downtown, it is a short two block walk to the Durango-Silverton Railroad Depot. Restaurants are conveniently scattered about downtown, as well as other shopping options. Free hotel parking is offered.

The Strater is a romantic throwback to a simpler time that should be experienced.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjosker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

While we do our fair share of overnights in chain hotels, we also relish the time-travel and the vivid memories that a stay in an historic hotel provides. When technology changes too quickly and the latest edition of iPad is banner news, the lure of history beckons. Soak up that narrative: Was this historic lodging on a bygone transportation corridor like the railroad and the Strater Hotel? Or the SantaFe Trail near The Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas, NM? Or the Missouri River next to the Grand Union Hotel in Fort Benton, MT? Oops, I digress... Our overnight in the Strater was a fascinating chance to admire lodging that has welcomed guests since 1887. We didn't see the paranormal cat that is thought to inhabit Room 401, but he might have been stalking the paranormal fish inhabiting another room. Relax and relish your part in the parade of guests who have rested their weary bodies in the Strater. While I don't know the cost back in 1887, we paid $129 + tax for a King for 2 adults.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teton-view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We have stayed here 3 times now and would definitely recommend it. It's a period hotel and the atmosphere is just fantastic. The decor takes you back in time and everything has been tastefully done

The first time we had a beautiful room overlooking the front street. The other two occasions we had a room at the back of the hotel and blimey was this the right choice

My husband loves trains and the rooms at the back overlook the train track which was a delight for my hubby.

It's not a cheap hotel but it is right in the centre of Durango

A lovely buffet breakfast was included in our room rate

The Diamond Belle Saloon is a must and the shootout they do is fun

If in Durango stay here - you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spam_and_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Wonderful history and a decor to match.
Excellent and attentive staff.
Good value and a feeling of being back in the early days of Durango.
Right in the center of downtown.
Convenient to everything.
Thoroughly enjoyed the visit and would not hesitate to repeat.

Room Tip: Rooms on Main Ave are noisier, but have great views (especially on top floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0e1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

If you've read through a few reviews of this hotel then you have a pretty accurate picture already. From the point of view of a neat, historic old hotel full of charm and fabulous antiques in a great location, this is a fabulous place to spend a few days. If you want fabulous luxury, modern conveniences and space, then this is not where you want to be. You really have to choose one or the other with this hotel.
The positives are that the rooms are charming and the furniture is so neat and old fashioned. Minus the television and you could convince yourself that you've stepped back in time. There is a hot tub in a private room that you can book for an hour at a time. This is a really interesting feature as you have the hot tub all to yourself and there is a little sitting area and private bathroom/change room.
There was a decent continental breakfast with all the usual's: Coffee, juice, cereal, hard boiled eggs, begals, muffins, oatmeal etc. You can breakfast in one of the old fashioned dinning rooms and read the paper.
The location is right on main street so you are in the middle of it all and don't have far to walk to access anything from shopping, restaurants, cafes etc.
Service was all fine, nothing really amazing but definitely no complaints.
The cons are small rooms, small bathrooms small everything because the hotel was obviously built in a different era. Anyone who complains about this has no business being in a historic hotel. You are quite frankly rather dumb if you expect anything different from any hotel that is over a century old.
The halls are loud, the elevator is painfully slow and some of the historic "ambiance" is a tad cheesy. The ladies dressed as 19th century show girls in the saloon are a bit silly and there is a mock gun fight outside on the corner each day. Probably enjoyable for the under 12 crowd.
I enjoyed the novelty of such a historic "Gold Rush" type experience in Colorado. I think you need to see this charm and the fun of it in order to enjoy this hotel.

Room Tip: I think the upgraded rooms looked quite a bit bigger with slightly nicer decor and a bit larger. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Laura_Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

The rooms are great and clean, and the service is good, Nice place to stay!

Room Tip: The rooms are great and clean, and the service is good,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ksmith28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#12 of 34 in Durango
501 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.1 mi away
The Rochester Hotel and Leland House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
2.4 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 34 in Durango
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strater Hotel

Address: 699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Durango
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range: £83 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1887, the historic Strater Hotel (Historic Hotels of America Member) is a prominent downtown Durango, Colorado landmark located two blocks north of the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, one hour east of Mesa Verde National Park, and in the heart of the rugged San Juan Mountains. Experience the Old West, fine dining, shopping, and many year-round indoor and outdoor activities. The hotel is home to the world's largest collection of American Victorian Walnut Antiques, the Louis L'Amour Room (designated Literary Landmark), and three unique dining establishments including Mahogany Grille specializing in fine dining. For entertainment, unwind with daily live music at the Diamond Belle Saloon and The Office Spiritorium or take in a show at the world famous Henry Strater Theatre, home to the Durango Melodrama & Vaudeville (seasonal). For those wishing to create a memorable event consider Strater Catering & Events (weddings, group meetings, special events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Strater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strater Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing