We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“19th century experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strater Hotel
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“19th century experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

Travelling with two small kids we wanted to experience what it was to travel in the last century. We gave ourselves a treat and stayed in a suite and were absolutely fascinated by the original ambience and attention to detail. The room was very spacious and well maintained, however preserving it's authentic charm. The same can be said about the Saloon and the dining room and so altogether you really feel like in another time.
However, when it comes to service and breakfast, you feel again in 2012 America. Friendliness is not outstanding (standard in the US according to our experience) as you arrive and the breakfast should be considered a lost opportunity: such a wonderful setting should be matched by a more inspired menu and better quality.
All in all we nevertheless felt great staying in the Strater and would come back anytime.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pascal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    496
    318
    98
    36
    20
See reviews for
201
507
32
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

I attended a conference in Durango at the Doubletree but wanted to stay somewhere more interesting. The Strater Hotel was a quick walk from the DT and the Animas River. I am so glad I chose it. The antique-filled room was beautiful and very comfortable with modern WiFi, flat screen TV and nice toiletries. The coffee service in the hallway and the excellent breakfasts were a great way to start the day. Parking was convenient, staff were attentive, and the location can't be beat. You are on Main Street for strolling, and right around the corner from the free trolley that goes to both ends of town. The Diamond Belle has great food, great local beers and great entertainment. Durango is a cool town--everyone seems happy, healthy and friendly. I was pretty sad to have to leave.

Room Tip: You can see the Silverton-Durango train from rooms facing 7th street: nice view and not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharlyn1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
185 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

This place has character. Staff was wonderful. Room is really comfortable and clean. Other places we stayed in during this trip should spend time here and see what customer service means. I feel at home here. GREAT LOCATION

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chienee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

We booked our room last-minute and got quite a small one with an antique-sized bed which didn't quite accommodate my 6'3" husband. The room was very charming, though, with old fixtures and tiles in the bathroom, antique wallpaper and furniture. We both got a strange vibe from the place and didn't sleep very well - maybe those ghost stories are true - but it was fun to stay there anyway. There were a few big groups there, which I find annoying, being an individual traveler myself, and of course it's a huge tourist attraction, so there's not much peace and quiet in any case. Downtown Durango is cute and quaint, though, and this is a great location as a base for exploring the area on foot.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingcello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at the Strater and will happily stay there again. It is a nice historical hotel with local feel and history. The hotel is right on the main historical area strip where there is lots of shopping and great restaurants. The river walk is only 4 blocks away. And it is a 3 minute drive to Ft. Lewis. They have nice restaurants and a bar right there (with local beers). The price was very good and included a nice continental breakfast (better than most). Incredibly quiet rooms, especailly for an historical hotel. Check in is at 4:00 and I called ahead on a Saturday and they accomodated a noon check-in which was extremely appreciated
Business travellers: Not an ideal place for business as the wifi is spotty at best and the desk not very large.


.

Room Tip: Suggestion: both times I came I was travelling alone. The first time I got a room with a double bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We just spent a long weekend in Durango and strayed at the Strater. It was an excellent choice, and probably the only place to stay in Durango. The hotel has great atmosphere, and our room was very nice. We had VERY low water pressure in the shower, but that is not totally surprising since we were on the top floor of such an old building. The location was perfect, and the breakfast (included) was far better than the usual fare. I highly recommend the Strater,

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david_lauth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklinville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

I loved the Strater Hotel. I have stayed there at least a half dozen times, often when we go out to Durango to visit our son who settled there . We had all the wedding guests stay there when he got married and also when we bring others out to visit him use this hotel. The antiques throughout the hotel are unique and sure set the stage for this total immersion in Durango's paste. The piano bar is so much fun and the food is good too.
We had his rehearsal dinner for wedding at the Strater 7 years ago.
It is so conveniently located. Can walk anywhere in town from their door ! The staff has always been helpful. I always tell folks heading out to Durango they must experience the Strater's hospitality. I really look forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#8 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#4 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strater Hotel

Property: Strater Hotel
Address: 699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Durango
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1887, the historic Strater Hotel (Historic Hotels of America Member) is a prominent downtown Durango, Colorado landmark located two blocks north of the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, one hour east of Mesa Verde National Park, and in the heart of the rugged San Juan Mountains. Experience the Old West, fine dining, shopping, and many year-round indoor and outdoor activities. The hotel is home to the world's largest collection of American Victorian Walnut Antiques, the Louis L'Amour Room (designated Literary Landmark), and three unique dining establishments including Mahogany Grille specializing in fine dining. For entertainment, unwind with daily live music at the Diamond Belle Saloon and The Office Spiritorium or take in a show at the world famous Henry Strater Theatre, home to the Durango Melodrama & Vaudeville (seasonal). For those wishing to create a memorable event consider Strater Catering & Events (weddings, group meetings, special events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Strater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strater Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing