We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must to visit”
Review of Strater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Strater Hotel
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must to visit”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We stayed at the Strater Hotel Durango which made our stay, the staff are friendly and helpful. It was like going back in time the decor so authentic. The train journey to Silverton was magical the station being only 5 minute walk down the road. The Hotel has several bars, with music, and a theatre which has to be a must. The caste are young and super talented. The town itself is so worth a a stop over in your trip or a destination. It was a pleasant break from the motels we had been staying in. Durango town has fascinating shops, restaurants and cafés, plus it's historical value.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor at back of hotel which was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazinoz93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    345
    104
    37
    23
See reviews for
215
542
35
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

This is the best "authentic mid-century" decorated room I've ever seen. The staff as well as the rest of the over the top service niceties were beyond compare! If you love Southwestern motif and everything western too surrounding you from your view of the town to the authentic western era decorations in the bar in the lower level you are in for a treat!

This is a historic property located in the center of downtown Durango...near the Silverton Railroad area too and many nice boutique shops all Native American and authentic western type gift shops and some of the best food you will ever want.

You will NEVER go wrong in any room of this hotel...modernized shower/tub area and plenty of authentic decorations too. Comfortable beds as well. The only difficult thing is sometimes getting a reservation during a busy period...so plan ahead because of this hotel's history and reputation people are always trying to get in. It is a popular destination for a reason!

Room Tip: upper level streets with a street view would be your best bet. There are elevators and not all room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 481kristij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The Strater Hotel is a vintage hotel with 19th century charm. The rooms are beautifully appointed with turn of the 20th century furniture, walls papered with lovely prints and classic designs. The staff is friendly and very helpful, the restaurant superior, the Diamond Belle Saloon a real hoot. We had a thoroughly wonderful weekend, the best fun in years. It didn't hurt that the hotel is in the heart of Durango either.

Room Tip: Rooms on Main Ave. give a great view of the town. Third or fourth floor rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue_DanAlbuquerque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Children loved pulling out the murphy bed and listening in on the cowboy singsongs from the saloon, with old west style serving girls. I enjoyed the period antique furnishings. We all enjoyed the Rocky Mountain milk chocolate. Family-friendly front desk taught my daughter to rotary dial. A few too many bugs and maintenance issues to give it five stars, but couldn't be gladder we stayed (although kids still wishing the candy and toy shops across the way opened before we left).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eveonleave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Beautiful old hotel convenient to downtown activities and restaurants. Rooms were smaller but nice and we enjoyed reading about the hotel in a book that listed 100 historic hotels in America. The staff was great and very friendly and helpful. You do get a special wake up call when the train leaves. Get the breakfast with the room it is well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Strater Hotel is a landmark building towards one end of the main street.
The lobby area and staircase up to the rooms are beautiful (there is also a small elevator).

The room was fairly large with a good sized en suite bathroom.
the free Wifi worked well 9 no password needed, always a bonus!)

There are two bars, one an old-fashioned saloon with waitresses in period costume, the other a quieter cocktail bar.

Maybe I missed the briefing, but only the cold buffet breakfast is free. If you order cooked items, its an extra $5, but my omelette was worth it.

If I was ever lucky enough to be back in Durango, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOyston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed here two nights as part of a vacation primarily to ride the train. This place is absolutely amazing and the decor is awesome. We were allowed to check in a couple hours early and parking was right across the street. The depot is within easy walking distance 2 blocks away and there are plenty of restaurants of every variety and shopping aplenty also within walking distance. It was very quiet even with the train nearby. The view out of the window was of a rooftop but that was luck of the draw. The breakfast buffet was good with scrambled eggs w/wo green chile, sausage, pastrys, fresh fruit - which was "stale" one day, hashbrowns, posole, juice coffee, etc. All in all this is one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#6 of 33 in Durango
463 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Leland House and Rochester Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
219 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strater Hotel

Property: Strater Hotel
Address: 699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Durango
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1887, the historic Strater Hotel (Historic Hotels of America Member) is a prominent downtown Durango, Colorado landmark located two blocks north of the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, one hour east of Mesa Verde National Park, and in the heart of the rugged San Juan Mountains. Experience the Old West, fine dining, shopping, and many year-round indoor and outdoor activities. The hotel is home to the world's largest collection of American Victorian Walnut Antiques, the Louis L'Amour Room (designated Literary Landmark), and three unique dining establishments including Mahogany Grille specializing in fine dining. For entertainment, unwind with daily live music at the Diamond Belle Saloon and The Office Spiritorium or take in a show at the world famous Henry Strater Theatre, home to the Durango Melodrama & Vaudeville (seasonal). For those wishing to create a memorable event consider Strater Catering & Events (weddings, group meetings, special events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Strater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strater Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing