We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of Strater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Strater Hotel
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed 21 December 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Strater Hotel last week (mid December). It was a wonderful experience. The staff was really friendly, the hotel was gorgeous (full of antiques and unique charm), the location was unbeatable in Durango, and the price was amazing. The hotel has several on site places to eat or have a drink, all of which share the general ambiance. There is a parking lot directly next to the hotel - which is a life saver with the poor parking available in the old part of town. The only downside that I can think of is that breakfast is served between 7:00 and 9:00. While on vacation I like to sleep in a bit. BTW, the overall quality of the included breakfast is better than most American hotels. Nothing to write home about though.

Bottom line: If you want to stay in Durango and are interested in a hotel with great value, style, location, and staff, stay at the Strater Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Achillesxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    333
    103
    36
    22
See reviews for
206
533
33
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2009

My wife and I checked in here as the first place on our honeymoon, we stayed for 4 nights.
The decor is all antique,which was very neat. The curtains and comforter on the bed were burgandy colored, crushed velvet! Very comfy!
The food in their Mahogany Grill was awesome.
The atmosphere in the Office as well as the Diamond Bell was very cool, relaxed.
All of the staff was very helpful.
We even reserved the jacuzzi room for one of the nights.....totally romantic!
The breakfast could have been a bit better and the sound proofing was HORRIBLE.....we could hear everything from the Diamond Bell and the streets.
The seating was not very comfortable in out room either.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bissbeebuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

The Strater helped us imagine what Durango was like long ago. The restoration is fantastic. A few modern amenities might have been lost to maintain historic details, like elevator and room sizes as well as luxury bathrooms, but the atmosphere more than makes up for this. The front desk staff was efficient with check-in and out, and when I had an historical question, the manager came over and gave us a tour. The bed was comfy, the bathroom....adequate. Breakfast was okay, and the waiter was helpful in figuring out our options due to weather conditions. The location couldn't be better, within walking distance of everything. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colorangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

I was afraid this old historic 1887 hotel would be beat up and in poor shape but not so! It was beautifully restored, from the walnut Victorian antique furniture in every room to the custom made wallpaper to match the light fixture in the ceiling. Yet modern comforts added as well, the beds were plush pillow tops and the heating and electrical systems were modern (no old clanging radiators!). The rooms and bathrooms were clean and the staff seemed well trained and engaged in their work. It was very fun to see the old history of the place. The location downtown was great for walking to restaurants (go 1/2 a block to Ken and Sue's for great food at a fair price), or 1 block to the Durango Silverton narrow gauge train station. The included hot breakfast was delicious in an elegant setting not an overcrowded family zoo. It is all 1890's feeling including a saloon with nightly music of the style back in the day. In fact the western author Louis L'Amour used to rent the room above the saloon when he wrote his western novels, just to soak up the ambience. This is a unique experience and should not be missed!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeIsSanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

We stayed at the Strater for 4 nights during a week long trip to Southwest Colorado. We had one of the deluxe queen rooms on the third floor. The room was very clean, the decor was lovely and the bed was comfortable as well.

As someone else noted, the plumbing was a little bit loud and the sounds of the water in the pipes were easily heard in the room, but that was really our only complaint.

The complimentary breakfasts were nice, though we did eat outside of the hotel several days because we wanted something other than starch for breakfast. "The Office" was a great place to enjoy an evening drink and half price appetizers before heading out to dinner. The Diamond Belle Saloon was also a great place for evening entertainment and drinks-it really made you feel like you were back in the days of the old West.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Durango at the Strater. The hotel is in a great location and was easy to get to all the shops and restaurants in historic Durango and was an easy walk from the train station. We'd definitely stay again if we make it back to the area!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEI2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

Stepping into the Strater Hotel is like walking back in time. It is very well kept, considering it is over 100 years old. It is very clean. The staff is friendly & helpful. The food in the Mahogany Grille is supurb. The entertainment in the Diamond Belle Saloon was outstanding. The deluxe continental breakfast was a nice touch. The Strater is definitely the place to stay in Durango.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthwestTravelerPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

We didn't have a bad experience with the Strater Hotel, but for the price and from the website, I expected something a bit better. The rooms were quite small, though the Victorian flavor was pleasant. The staff is friendly. The plumbing is very loud, and there was some "other room" noise. The location is very good, and they had some nice, though somewhat quirky amenities - Victorian Hot Tub (one for the hotel) and loaner computer. For many of the rooms, there are a few stairs & no elevator. The complementary continental breakfast was somewhat better than average. We haven't stayed elsewhere in Durango, so I can't rate it comparatively, but next time we'll try the Best Western or the General Palmer, both of which are equally well-located.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.1 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#9 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#4 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strater Hotel

Property: Strater Hotel
Address: 699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Durango
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1887, the historic Strater Hotel (Historic Hotels of America Member) is a prominent downtown Durango, Colorado landmark located two blocks north of the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, one hour east of Mesa Verde National Park, and in the heart of the rugged San Juan Mountains. Experience the Old West, fine dining, shopping, and many year-round indoor and outdoor activities. The hotel is home to the world's largest collection of American Victorian Walnut Antiques, the Louis L'Amour Room (designated Literary Landmark), and three unique dining establishments including Mahogany Grille specializing in fine dining. For entertainment, unwind with daily live music at the Diamond Belle Saloon and The Office Spiritorium or take in a show at the world famous Henry Strater Theatre, home to the Durango Melodrama & Vaudeville (seasonal). For those wishing to create a memorable event consider Strater Catering & Events (weddings, group meetings, special events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Strater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strater Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing