We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!”
Review of Strater Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Strater Hotel
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We found a room at The Strater through Priceline, and it was a nice surprise. It has a great location, nice furnishings, and a fun bar downstairs.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
1  Thank WhirledTravels28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

955 - 961 of 1,112 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2010

The location of the Strater Hotel is wonderful - you can enjoy the entire downtown, or walk to the rail depot for your train trip to Silverton (recommended!). It is a little pricey, but under $200 for our room. The hotel breakfast was excellent with real food (not the plastic eggs and eggos). Our room was small but elegant (see photos). Be warned the bathrooms are SMALL. We had a small, older TV, but we didn't even turn it on anyway. The hotel has free wireless, which a lot of hotels in this category seem to charge for. The lobby, stairway, pub, restaurant . . . everything was exquisite. If you don't care for the historic feel, then skip it. But if you want to get that 1800's feel, go for it!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chardob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

The bed made a lot of noise as the floor did and the bathroom door.
At breakfast we discovered that the bread was mouldy. No excuses from the personal.
For the price we paid we had a lot better hotels.
Only plus is the interrior and the location in Durango.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petcob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

The hotel is lovely and the staff seemed nice. They did a good job coping with the problems a hotel will have in the city. But the front desk didn't explain local events (such as the gunfight in front of the hotel which was just a show) nor did they tell us what amenities were available. I found out from another reviewer that a daily paper was available! Most distressing was the lack of a decent elevator and no coffee pot. Yes, you could get coffee or tea for a price from the restaurant. But really, after trudging up and down 4 flights of stairs 3 times a day, I really didn't want to do it one more time. I am glad I went - they were generous with breakfast, at least - but for $250 a night, I expected more.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quiltbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Just returned from week-long road trip through the Four Corners region. My husband and I stopped in Durango for an overnight before heading to Mesa Verde. The Strater hotel seemed the obvious choice - Old West Victorian style kitsch billed as luxury. I was not disappointed in the hotel itself - the common areas are lovely and the staff was attentive and friendly. The location on Durango's main 'strip' is convenient. Even the room I was given was tastefully decorated. However, for the price I paid (160$) I would have expected a little more - for instance, I was given a room facing an alley, with an air conditioning system that did not quite work properly. I am not the type of person to complain and make a fuss about perceived problems with hotels - and the Strater is a nice place - however, in this instance, I think a cheaper chain hotel would have worked out better for an overnight in Durango. If you're staying for a while, though, the Strater might be for you - just make sure you get a room you're completely satisfied with.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pilar1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2010

After a couple of days roughing it camping - I managed to persuade my husband to stay at the Strater -we didn't have a reservation and got a great room rate. We stayed one night but wished it could have been longer. Our room was large, was furnished with antiques and was very clean and quiet. The public areas of the hotel were very nice and genuinely Victorian in style. The hotel bar had live music, was very reasonable priced and had a fun atmosphere. The hotel's location is very central in the lovely University town of Durango, it was easy to walk from the hotel to a great range of restaurants and shops. It was even fun to be woken at 6 am by the scenic steam-train rolling into town.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank attention2detail_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We loved the location of the hotel and were at first impressed by the room. Then we saw the tiny bathroom and shower. I mean tiny - the shower was claustrophobic and it took about 10 minutes to get hot water. Our toilet backed up and we requested maintenance. When we got back to our room that night, it hadn't been fixed and we were asked to move to another room. That room was nicer with a bigger bathroom, but we quickly learned that the heat was malfunctioning and the room temperature quickly shot up in the 80s. We were unable to turn it off but it was late and we weren't up to switching to a third room, so we opened the window to the freezing air outside and stayed where we were. They credited us for the inconvenience, though I wasn't sure if that was for the toilet issue or the heat issue. Either way, I wouldn't stay there again - too expensive to have those kind of issues and there were plenty of other hotels to choose from.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bhaseagulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#12 of 34 in Durango
508 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.1 mi away
The Rochester Hotel and Leland House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
2.4 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#1 of 34 in Durango
303 reviews
25.1 mi away
Purgatory Lodge at Purgatory Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strater Hotel

Address: 699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-5423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range: £77 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1887, the historic Strater Hotel (Historic Hotels of America Member) is a prominent downtown Durango, Colorado landmark located two blocks north of the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, one hour east of Mesa Verde National Park, and in the heart of the rugged San Juan Mountains. Experience the Old West, fine dining, shopping, and many year-round indoor and outdoor activities. The hotel is home to the world's largest collection of American Victorian Walnut Antiques, the Louis L'Amour Room (designated Literary Landmark), and three unique dining establishments including Mahogany Grille specializing in fine dining. For entertainment, unwind with daily live music at the Diamond Belle Saloon and The Office Spiritorium or take in a show at the world famous Henry Strater Theatre, home to the Durango Melodrama & Vaudeville (seasonal). For those wishing to create a memorable event consider Strater Catering & Events (weddings, group meetings, special events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Strater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strater Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing