We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel with friendly staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Durango

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn Durango
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Average Hotel with friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2007

We stayed at the Hampton for 7 nights at the end of June. The rooms were okay, but I expected more for the rate we paid. The breakfast was okay, but the breakfast seating area was very cramped.

We needed assistance from the front desk staff on a couple of occassions and had to find another hotel staff member to track down the front desk staff. One time the manager came out to help, and she seemed particularly clueless.

Their Mountian View rooms overlook the parking lot and very busy Main Ave. The alternative is looking at run down buildings or an alley, so I guess the parking lot view is better.

The hotel is located to far from the river or downtown to walk, you will need a rental car to get around.

  • Liked — the beds were comfortable
  • Disliked — the rooms were not well insulated so you could hear hallway noise and people above and next to you
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    287
    86
    24
    7
See reviews for
361
312
40
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2007

This hotel was slightly above average. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean. They have those hot duvets in sheets but I asked for blankets which they did have. The windows do open and it was quiet on the backside of the hotel. The breakfast bar was average, adequate. Cookies in the evening. It was fine. All the hotels in a remote areas like this are over-priced for what you get. We enjoyed Mesa Verde very much and going one way on the train and one way on the bus was a very good idea. Durango is very nice, good restaurants, just fun to sit on the benches and watch the world walk by.

  • Liked — quiet but convenient location
  • Disliked — duvets
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank washingtoncritique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2007

Who would have thought this little roadside hotel would be so nice? The bed was awesome! Very, very comfortable. The room very clean. Staff was friendly and nice. Wonderful cookies offered in the evening. A little night light in the bathroom was a nice touch! Air conditioner quiet and no hallway/other guest room noise. Good free breakfast with a well-maintained eating area. I would recommend to anyone visiting the Durango area. The only drawback would probably be that it is further from the town area than most of the other hotels. But I'm still glad we chose to stay there. I'm pretty picky and found this place to be very nice.

  • Liked — The beds! Very comfortable.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurst, Texas
Level Contributor
206 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2006

Enjoyed a non-eventful three-night stay at this inn. The desk staff was particularly helpful in securing and booking passage on the Durango to Silverton narrow gauge railroad. Breakfast was a bit too crowded for my tastes, and liking hot breakfast much better, (and willing to pay for it) I elected to forego the free breakfast and took up Denny's on their offerings. Had no difficulties with the room, staff, or common areas. I would return to this inn and would recommend it to others.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Overcrowding in free breakfast service area
  • Tips/Secrets — Ignore testimonials - they are all briberies.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arnold_Ziffel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holladay, Utah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2006

I have stayed at Hampton Inns many times and find them to be consistently above average. Unfortunately this location had a problem with their "fire alarms" inadvertantly sounding at various odd times including in the middle of the night. Also, the AC in our room was noisy and needed attention. I brought these items to the attention of the desk clerk. They have a 100% satisfaction policy and so she was happy to "comp" our stay for the night. That would be robbery on my part, but I did accept a small adjustment on our bill. For the most part our stay was very pleasant. I can recommend this location and the entire Hampton Inn chain.

  • Liked — Hampton Inn consistent quality
  • Disliked — Fire Alarms malfunctioned
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Writerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbrook, IL
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2006

We stayed at the hotel on August 13th during a family driving trip. I had reserved a room with a "premium view," but was given a room with a view of the parking lot. When we called the front desk, they explained that no premium view rooms were available, but they would credit our bill. It would have left a better impression if they had volunteered that information at check in.

Other than that, no real problems, but nothing really to recommend it either. The hotel was pretty expensive ($125) for a very run of the mill Hampton Inn.

  • Liked — Durango is a convenient stopping place for various attractions
  • Disliked — Value
  • Tips/Secrets — Check other hotels first
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LostButMakinGoodTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canyon lake, california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2006

Overall this place was okay. The rooms were clean and the front desk people were nice. However, I do have some complaints...
•The fruit in the morning breakfast sucked.
•The pool closes way to early.
•And one of the maids stole $40 out of my purse.
**Now I know that the front desk people had nothing to do with this robbery, but i would very much appreciate it if you could take care of this issue. I don't care if you give me a discount..or if you just give me my money back. But either way you owe me something.....An appology maybe?!?!.....

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Your damn maid took my money
  • Tips/Secrets — Yes, hide your money from their maids!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ikickbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.6 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
4.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
2.6 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Durango

Property: Hampton Inn Durango
Address: 3777 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4032
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Durango
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#3 Business Hotel in Durango
#4 Green Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Durango 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the pet friendly Hampton Inn Hotel in Durango, Colorado. Whether you are traveling to downtown Durango or have a day trip planned to Mesa Verde National Park, we've got you covered. Enjoy free Wi-Fi, free breakfast daily, out front access to the downtown trolley and free parking at the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. Step back in time with a ride on the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. Find great hotel rates, specials and packages all online for the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing