We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Friendly Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Durango
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Colorado Rockies
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Typical Friendly Hampton Inn”
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Typical, friendly Hampton Inn. Front desk staff extremely friendly and knowledgable about local area. Halls a bit depressing, seemed like an older motel in appearance, but nothing "wrong" that I could put my finger on.

Standard Hampton Inn Breakfast fare (sadly, the cut fruit is too full of artificial preservatives for me, as is in all Hampton Inns, not enough gluten free choices, but whole fresh fruit is available) but hubby was thriled to find Bisquits and Sausage Gravy on the menu (they don't serve it in East Coast Hampton Inns and not something I care for anyway). Many people LOVE the full breakfast buffet choices however, if they're "typical American processed food eaters!"

Great "locals" self-serve BBQ place a few doors down, and the hotel had "free drink with sandwich" coupons - $23 dinner for 3 people! Huh? Yep! The smoked brisket was so good we got extra for snacks the next day.

Enjoyed the pool and hottub too.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DineRight4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    558
    304
    90
    27
    7
See reviews for
376
332
44
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Pluses:
Friendly and helpful guy at receiption.
Good breakfast - slightly above the average of other chain motels
Plenty of parking.
Free internet access (service dropped a lot at busy times).

Negatives:
Well out of town - about a 12 minute drive.
Slightly dated room and bathroom - but within the range of acceptable.

Summary
Good value and a good standard for Durango. The Durango hotel market isn't very dynamic and hotels tend to charge above average rates - the Hampton Inn provided a good room for the price.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CampK9, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Durango, responded to this review, 28 January 2011
Thank you for your review of the Durango Hampton Inn. We're glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and are pleased that you would recommend us to your friends.

I would like to make a clarification as to our location and proximity to town. Durango's Main Street is approximately 4 miles long. We are located on the North end of Main, only 2.2 miles or 5 minutes from the heart of the Historic District and 3 miles from the Durango/Silverton Narrow Gauge Railway station. It may be too far for most people to walk, but the city provides a free trolley service to the Historic District. The trolley stop is located just outside our front door. The advantage to this free service is the elimination of needing to find parking and then paying for it once you've found it. Many of our guests use the service to avoid the all day parking fees while riding the train.

We may not be in the heart of the Historic Distict but our central location makes it an ideal spot for those who have activities in the Downtown area, Fort Lewis College, Durango Mountain Resort, Mesa Verde or plan on riding the train. Being located on the North end of town makes our location a bit quieter in the morning when the train starts running at 7:30 in the morning and the hustle and bustle of towns activites get underway at the start of the day.

Thank you again for your nice review and allowing me to explain where we are located.

The Management-Durango Hampton Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slidell, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Typical Hampton Inn. Clean and neat rooms. Good breakfast. Overall a good value.

What almost ruined our visit was that a tour group was staying there at the same time we were. Tour groups are a royal pain. The people mill around at all hours, cover up the breakfast area, and cause traffic jams at the front desk area upon their checking in and leaving. Honestly, we got up around 530AM, packed, and left shortly after 615AM to avoid the tour group.

I'm sorry if that comment about tour groups offends anyone, but we simply dread staying at a hotel when there is a tour group there also.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoastalDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

My wife has allergies and the room set them off. We had to leave the window open. The hotel gave you the feeling of an older hotel that is heavily used and is struggling to stay up. We looked at rooms at some of the other hotels and they did not appear to be much better.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidsonWho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

Located away from the downtown hustle & bustle (it's only 10 minutes away), the motel offers well equipped, clean rooms, a good included breakfast, and decent value. Higher priced "mountain view" rooms are not always worth the premium unless you like the parking lot between you and the mountains. Swimming pool and spa are well maintained although the outside patio is very small. Staff was very friendly and competent.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IDTRAVLR9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Could not have felt more welcome. Great staff - friendly in a genuine helpful way. Didn't question that the bikes needed to be in the room and even provided old towels and sheets for bike maintenance. Good continental breakfast with large fruit salad and hot options. Big plus - homemade cookies in the afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cobaltoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Hi, went there for a band trip with school it was fun i sugest u take the train tour it great. the hotel was nice lots of room and a few places to eat. price i dont know it was in a package deal. very clean and good settings. makes u feel at home

Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JamesM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
4.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
Adventure Inn Durango
Adventure Inn Durango
#2 of 33 in Durango
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#6 of 33 in Durango
463 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#5 of 33 in Durango
514 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Durango

Property: Hampton Inn Durango
Address: 3777 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301-4032
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#1 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Business Hotel in Durango
#4 Green Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Durango 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the pet friendly Hampton Inn Hotel in Durango, Colorado. Whether you are traveling to downtown Durango or have a day trip planned to Mesa Verde National Park, we've got you covered. Enjoy free Wi-Fi, free breakfast daily, out front access to the downtown trolley and free parking at the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. Step back in time with a ride on the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. Find great hotel rates, specials and packages all online for the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing