We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FILTHY!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Durango
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“FILTHY!!!”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Pee stained sheets.... lazy staff who asked that I change the bedding when they brought it to me....dirty bathroom floor... I should have asked for a new location but we had traveled long hours and were with another couple....who were also tired... Sofa in the common area of the suite was filthy around the head area of the back of the sofa.... greasy hair stains.....It took me a few days to get over it... and I will NEVER stay at another Residence inn again.... and I have stayed at many of them. They should be reported to the health Dept.... but with time they will go down just like other poorly managed establishments!

Room Tip: Take your own bedding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Crissy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    103
    29
    9
    4
See reviews for
119
89
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

A very typical Residence Inn, which are one of our favorite places to stay when traveling. A little on the pricey side, but they usually are. The room was very clean, nice a quiet, and provided a very nice night's sleep. Having a kitchen is nice, but for just a 3 night's stay, we really didn't get a chance to use it. The full size coffee maker, though, is wonderful! The hot breakfast is very good, and includes a "make your own" Belgium waffle maker. They featured a rotating selection of eggs and breakfast meats, along with potatoes, french toast and pancakes.

The only comment is that one thing I was looking for was a hotel within walking distance to the downtown area. I called and was told that it was a very short walk. Reality is that it is about a mile to the heart of downtown. We ended up driving into town. Note that parking is at a premium in the heart of downtown (meters), but by going just a few blocks up into the residential area (3rd St), there was plenty of free parking. Based on its location, I can see why the Doubletree is the top rated hotel, but I don't think the location warranted the extra $100+/night it would cost to stay there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KailuaAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
782 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We selected this hotel for it's location,as well as our prior experiences with Residence Inns. The rooms were comfortable and clean, and the great breakfast was a good start for our day. Although we didn't use the kitchen, it was nice to have the large room. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surfinginflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lone Tree, Colorado
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I like this property. The rooms are nice, clean, comfortable and efficient. Great for a couple nights because of the living room and kitchen. The "free" breakfast is very adequate. I prefer fruits, yogurt, bananas, etc., which there is plenty. They also have the typical hot breakfast menu. They usually have a good happy hour. I did not take advantage of it this time because of business meetings but the last time I enjoyed the burgers and hot dogs and plenty of beverages - no charge. The staff has always been pleasant and helpful. I heard the staff telling a dog owner that there was an off leash dog park across the street for those of you bringing a pet.

Room Tip: It's no more than a mile west of downtown Durango.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TYOTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
291 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed here Aug 29th and had an uneventful stay. The rooms are large with a kitchen and 2 tvs. Clean, roomy bathrooms along with newer beds. Used the pool and hot tub with plenty of towels/chairs. Not downtown but not far away. Across the street from park on Animas River where kayakers shoot the rapids-they also practice for the olympics there, worth taking a walk. I stayed here because it was close to DS RR and I stay at many Marriott's. Good food in the morning. They had a 2 hour happy hour?-free drinks between 530 and 700pm but we missed it because we were walking main street. Over all, a bit pricey, but I like a clean room with a working A/C and that's what I got.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripperAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed here in late August while visiting friends in Durango. This property was a great choice for us because we would have a comfortable place to stay where we could do small meals. Best of all we didn't have to impose on our friends. For the most part, most Residence Inns offer large rooms, comfortable beds, internet that works, breakfast, guest laundry, and most important to us are extremely clean.

One observation we have to make is the difference between summer and off season rates. We don't really understand this as most of the guest we met we staying for a week or longer. We paid two years ago $99 a night in early May, last October $119 a night during leaf peeking season, yet this time the owners charge over $200 a night even with our senior discount.

Room Tip: ask for a room that is close to the stairs or elevator. rooms on the street side are actually surpr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Marriott has a repitation that meets or inalmost every instance exceeds the industry standards. The Residence Inn in Durango Colorado is no exception. You cannot beet the location and thr hotel is kept with high standards. The only thing that could have been better is this hotel is due a makeover inside. It is very clean but very worn. The staff are exceptional, and this goes double for the 2 ladies that handle the breakfast and snack area. They are very friendly, knowledgable about the area and are very eager to share things about the area that you would never find in a book.
The rates on this hotel are a little above normal and you can certainly find a cheaper motel, but you get what you pay for in this instance and you will be glad you stayed at this location.

Room Tip: Book early because this hotel fills up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lumberjack48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.4 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Durango

Property: Residence Inn Durango
Address: 21691 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Durango
#7 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Durango 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Durango Hotel Durango
Durango Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing