We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Execution of the Residence Inn Concept”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Durango
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
240 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great Execution of the Residence Inn Concept”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This is a newer Residence Inn property ( or recently updated ). Nothing beats a new carpet and bed and a new coat of paint. I have seen a lot of older Residence and they get nasty with age. This property is definitely above average. The location is a little odd at a main road backing up to a mountain. The one thing I noticed that in opposite to most of this kind of mid-end hotels the staff was actually attentive and easy to talk to. Part of the Residence Inn concept is daily cheap free wine and food. The free junk-food was actually fun because of the mixed crowd and engaging staff members. We were there during a fire and that may have had to do with it since the hotel was packed with news people and firemen. The third criteria that moves this place above average ( condition and staff were 1 and 2 ) was the full size pool. Most of the time you end up with a Kitty pool which is hardly usable for preteen kids. Their pool is nicely sized and the kids spend every day at the pool for 1-2 hours - most of the time nobody else was there. They had actually more fun at that pool than at other resort style pools which were crowded and undersized...So if you want to go to Durango with your family and your kids like to swim - this is a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    103
    29
    9
    4
See reviews for
121
89
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
austin,tx
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This is a typical RI and provides a good value for room size, amenities,etc. I would not stay here again due to the noise level. Walls seem VERY thin, could hear road noise, hallway doors opening/closing and next door coughing, talking, being intimate and every time the upstairs room walked it sounded like a herd of elephants. More soundproofing is needed!

Room Tip: Ask for third floor away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012 via mobile

We booked our Durango visit through the Texas golf trail concierge which was very helpful. The residence inn in Durango was consistent with other residence inns. It was convenient to main street Durango and easy to find. The staff was great event hour it was Christmas eve. The room was spacious enoug for 2 adults and 2 teenagers. We got a roll away bed and had plenty of comfortable sleeping. The wet area was great. We needed more towels and that was arranged easily. We will be back.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
126 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

I have stayed at many Residence Inns and this property in Durango is consistent with the brand. The lobby was just remodeled and the rooms were is good shape, clean and spacious. We were in town for three nights to ride the Polar Express. There is no way to walk to town (at least in the winter) but town is less than 5 minutes away. The folks at the front desk were perfunctional, and thats about it. On the other hand, the folks that worked the breakfast area were super friendly and helpful and contributed to a nice stay. If you are familiar with the Residence Inn brand and happy with that level of service, you will be content in Durango at this Residence Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bentpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and I was pleased. Room clean, Paul Mitchell shampoo/conditioner, kitchen...all that you would expect with a Residence Inn. I found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful, both when I checked in and when getting breakfast. One exception though - one employee did not seem thrilled with me telling him that a clock alarm in another room woke me both mornings at around 5am (which was not good as I needed to sleep before a long drive home - caffeine worked though). Overall, I would stay there again especially when the remodeling in finished!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoccerMomof233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Litchfield Park, Arizona
Level Contributor
66 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We were very pleased with this property. Very neat, clean, and plenty of room in our King Studio Suite. As typical with Residence Inn, full kitchen included. Pull out sofa bed. Quiet rooms. They were even doing some remodeling in the front office area and we could not even hear it!

Good complimentary breakfast in the morning, with a great staff keeping everything stocked. Nice surprise in the food area in the evening were the hot pretzels with cheese and fresh baked chocolate chip cookies, lemonade and iced tea. Bonus: the laundry facilities on the second floor actually got our clothes dry on the first run!

This was not in the "center" of Durango...but as great of an experience that it was, we would not stay anywhere else now.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeThreeAdventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
369 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

The staff here could not have treated me any better if I was their rich uncle! Reserved room was not ready at the appointed time, so they upgraded us to a larger suite. Beautifully appointed, very comfortable. Super evening buffets and breakfasts. While not in the historic district, I would go back there in a minute for the service and amenities. One challenge: At certain times of the day, making a left turn out of the property onto the road can be a challenge.

Room Tip: Don't worry about getting a view...there isn't any to be had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trainman334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.4 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 33 in Durango
1,021 reviews
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Durango

Property: Residence Inn Durango
Address: 21691 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Durango
#7 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Durango 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Durango Hotel Durango
Durango Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing