We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Durango”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Durango
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
NM
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Durango”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed here during a volleyball tournament in April. The room was very spacious with a full kitchen, separate living room and 2 bedrooms/bathrooms. The only complaint with the rooms is that the walls are very thin so you can hear others. The breakfast was very good with different choices each morning. They also have a lovely happy hour Mon-Thurs with bottled beer and food! The kids loved the pool and hot tub and really enjoyed playing volleyball on the outside court. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd floor to limit noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjulib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    104
    29
    9
    4
See reviews for
127
92
5
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights while visiting family. Roomy, clean and up to date, the place was a great value. Staff were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Daily room service was thorough. Breakfast was the usual, my kids were happy with it. It is set back just a bit from a highway, but a nice walk from downtown (with sidewalks). No complaints on any front.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VancWash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Typical Residence Inn quality! Location is about half a mile from the historic downtown. Easy to get in and out of.

Our room was clean and nicely set up. We stayed on the third floor to avoid the noise. Equipped with full kitchen and two flatscreen tvs.

The pool area was very nice, much larger than your average marriott pool. Pools are a must for us with two kids so they can get out their energy!

Front desk was courteous but nothing special. Best part of the stay was the friendly breakfast staff. Very accomodating and made sure the food was hot and ready.

All in all it is what you should expect from a Residence Inn.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the 3rd floor to avoid hearing the footsteps above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamacnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Koodos to this establishment. It was really clean, well decorated, with an awesome kitchen. I really respect places that allow dogs. They charge 75 bucks pet fee for any length of stay, and any number of dogs. I have 3 dogs. The cheapo strip motel next door wanted 65 bucks plus 10 dollars per dog-, per night- thus $95 a night. For a little extra, we got a great room with a full kitchen, free wifi and a 40 inch flat screen. We are planning a return trip to Durango cause this place was so good.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carbonbeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

What this hotel lacks in ideal location, it more than makes up for with their happy hour. From 5:30p to 7:30p they serve a complementary selection of beers and wines and light food. Also, they also have a good breakfast selection and the service was great. I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Will1444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I love Residence Inn. Nice, quiet construction, friendly staff. The breakfast staff were exceptionally friendly at RI Durango, catering to the international ski crowd in town. I travel for business and love the oversize desks, abundance of outlets, high quality furnishings and dishes. The full-size fridge and range were useful and allowed some variety in meals. I didn't use a lot of the stuff I bought at the near-by grocery store. A hearty breakfast in the morning and a more-than-adequate evening social-hour snack in the evening meant I didn't need all I had purchased. My room came with maintenance issues this time. One of the windows was cracked and some of the windows wouldn't close or lock properly, allowing a small draft. The weather was quite cold and the little furnace room is directly adjacent to the bedroom, making it difficult at times to sleep clear through the night. Once I caught on, I cranked up the heat before I went to bed, put an extra blanket on the bed from the closet, and turned the heat way down. Slept like a log, or something like that. I recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank inspectordude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This is a newer Residence Inn property ( or recently updated ). Nothing beats a new carpet and bed and a new coat of paint. I have seen a lot of older Residence and they get nasty with age. This property is definitely above average. The location is a little odd at a main road backing up to a mountain. The one thing I noticed that in opposite to most of this kind of mid-end hotels the staff was actually attentive and easy to talk to. Part of the Residence Inn concept is daily cheap free wine and food. The free junk-food was actually fun because of the mixed crowd and engaging staff members. We were there during a fire and that may have had to do with it since the hotel was packed with news people and firemen. The third criteria that moves this place above average ( condition and staff were 1 and 2 ) was the full size pool. Most of the time you end up with a Kitty pool which is hardly usable for preteen kids. Their pool is nicely sized and the kids spend every day at the pool for 1-2 hours - most of the time nobody else was there. They had actually more fun at that pool than at other resort style pools which were crowded and undersized...So if you want to go to Durango with your family and your kids like to swim - this is a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
0.5 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#9 of 33 in Durango
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#6 of 33 in Durango
469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Durango

Property: Residence Inn Durango
Address: 21691 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#7 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Durango 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Durango Hotel Durango
Durango Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing