We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Durango
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2009

Our stay here could not have been better....except maybe for a friendlier female desk clerk! The accomodations were outstanding and perfect for our family. We had the 2 room suite and we are sold on Residence Inn in every way! Great breakfasts and evening snacks, nice pool and hot tub, immaculate and quiet rooms, free internet, 3 large flat screen TV's, and perfect location to downtown Durango and the Animas river. We were originally booked for 4 nights, but didn't want to leave, so were able to extend an extra night. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bessiedear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    103
    28
    8
    4
See reviews for
117
87
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2009

Wonderful hotel. The suite rooms are so roomy with a kitchen and living room which was great. The free breakfast was very good with a hot waffle maker and there was a manager's reception the night before. The bed was so comfortable. Front desk very accommodating. The hotel is very close to center of town (via car) with many places to eat. Durango was a cute place to visit for one night.

Loved this hotel so much that I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julliet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
472 reviews
348 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

This older property is located on the road to Mesa Verde and a short drive from downtown. It is well maintained and the staff is helpful.

We enjoyed having a kitchen and separate bedroom. Breakfast was good.

We felt we got a lot for our money, and the rate was considerably lower than any other place we considered staying.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wonderfulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleo Springs, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

Don't really know why people complain like they do. This hotel was perfect in every way. We stayed during spring break for 4 nights. We reserved the 2 bedroom suite. It was 2 seperate bedrooms with 1 king bed in each with a bathroom and seperate vanity area. Full kitchen with sink, microwave, oven and some appliances along with dishes silverware, glasses. LIving area with pull out double sofa. Yes, the kitchen supplies were limited, but what do people expect. Unless you are a chef preparing gourmet meals, you'll be fine. Great for just some 1 skillet jobs. Or a frozen pizza. Full size fridge was great! Grocery store down the road a bit to buy what you may need.

After a long day of skiing and arriving at the hotel just in time for the Managers recepition-awsome. Kids could'nt wait to check out the complimentary snacks, baked fresh choc. chip cookies and drinks, and of course for the Mom's the complimentary beer and wine was great! First night was taquitos and poppers, 2nd night was chicken noodle soup, 3rd night was hot wings and last night was frito chili pie. Breakfast was ample with eggs, sausage or bacon with make-your-own waffle, yogurts, fruits, oatmeal, pasties, bagels with all the toppings. One morning they had biscuits and gravy...Great!. Overall experience was great with no complaints. The distance from the hotel to downtown is not really a walkable distance , but could be done. Busy highway and interections to cross. We drove!.. Indoor Pool and hot tub were great!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelagentviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

Just returned from Spring Break (Utah, Grand Canyon, Colorado) and spent the last 2 nights of our trip at the Residence Inn, thinking it would be a nice suite for our last 2 nights. We were shocked at the condition of the room! We reserved a two bedroom suite and although the suite was a nice size (bedrooms a little tight though), the suite was about the dirtiest I've seen. If we were paying $59.00 a night at a motel, I would expect this type of service, but at almost $200.00 a night, and carrying the Residence Inn name, it was a joke! The couch was covered with crumbs....and I mean so many crumbs that we couldn't even sit down until we cleaned it up. Gross! Next, the bathroom sink had hair all over it and the sink and mirror appeared as though they hadn't been cleaned. The bathroom floor had hair all over it,as well, and the shower was clogged, leaving us to stand in a lot of water while trying to shower. Since we checked in late, after a long day on the road, we thought we'd "just suck it up". Then, when I went to get a glass off of the bathroom counter (which was tipped upside down on a coaster, as though it were clean), I was SHOCKED!!! The glass was filthy... lipstick marks all around the top, white milky-looking stains on the inside. Need I say more? We then discovered that our 10 year old's bathroom was also furnished with a dirty glass, upside down on a coaster! I then notified the front desk, who said they'd let the manager know the next day, since he wasn't in. No response from the manager. So, the following day we tried again...no manager. We then spoke to the Housekeeping Supervisor (who was very sweet and apologetic) yet she was never notified of the problems by the manager or anyone else. She said she hoped we wouldn't hold it against their hotel and said she'd have the manager contact me when he returned Monday (today). No word from him yet. We'll see what happens. Seriously, when the Manager isn't in, most hotels have an Asst. Manager or a Front Desk Manager who can assist with concerns. Not this hotel. Additionally, it appeared as though the dinnerware and silverware that were stocked in the kitchen were not clean either. They smelled funny, yet smelled fine after we ran everything through the dishwasher. Call me crazy, but when I pay for a suite, I expect it to be stocked with CLEAN utensils and kitchenware! Although we requested the highest floor possible, we were on the second floor with an incredibly noisy family above us. Kids jumping off of beds at 2am and racing back and forth, which all could be heard in our room. Not the hotel's fault, of course, but rooms weren't insulated for sound as much as one would hope. On a positive note, the staff that we encountered were friendly and the breakfast had a number of hot and cold selections, including eggs, sausage and belgian waffles. The location was nice being further from the train depot so that we didn't have to be woken up at 7am by the train, as we have in the past staying "right in town".

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoSonshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
163 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2009

We spent five nights in hotels I picked from Tripadvisor, which seldom has let me down. The Residence Inn in Durango was the best of a very good lot. We had a friendly reception with a hospitality hour drink and snack when we arrived. We had a two beddroom suite for my wife and me and four teenagers. It had pleanty of room for us. The indoor pool and spa looked wonderful, but being in a winter location we did not bring suits. The wireless internet worked well and was free. The breakfast was ample, with something for everyone. The staff were very good. The only drawback was that it was a few blocks across a busy highway to the train station, but it had much nicer accommodations than the downtown properties.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captainmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willis, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2009

I stayed for a week with my kids while in town for a spring break ski trip. The room was nice, updated and clean with flat panel tv's in the living and bed rooms. The room was quiet and we happen to have a nice view of the mountain across the highway. Looks like the only rooms that would have any view would be the 3rd floor, highway facing rooms. The hot breakfast buffet was very good and many more choices than your typical continental breakfast. My only disappointment was the kitchen (which was one of the main reasons I selected this place). We had planned to cook a few meals in to save on some expenses. The utensils, pots and pan selection were limited and very poor quality. So poor that after one use, I didn't try to use them again. And the front desk told me that was all they had. So if you are not planning on cooking, then everything else was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tr196dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.4 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#4 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Durango

Property: Residence Inn Durango
Address: 21691 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#7 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Durango 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Durango Hotel Durango
Durango Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing