We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Overnighter!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn and Suites Durango

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    256
    103
    34
    21
See reviews for
269
282
43
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bicknell, Utah
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We we got to this motel we saw that they were changing out beds, but I don't thinks they did ours yet. Room was nice and clean but didn't sleep well, back is killing me and my husband. My thought is it would have been better if we had one of the new beds.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank happygolucky1971_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest,
I am so sorry to hear that you did not have a restful and enjoyable stay with us on your recent visit. Please accept my most sincere apologies for your discomfort. We normally get many compliments on our comfortable Serta Sleepers and so I am disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy it. I am glad that you found your room to be clean and I hope that you will give us another try the next time you visit Durango to allow us to offer you a room with a bed more to your liking.
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

From the well-lit parking lot forward, this property has been a completely smooth experience. The front desk receptionist Marley, was clear-eyed and focused, adjusting to my request for change in my reservation without a hesitation while the lobby filled with the evening's guests. The room was spacious and the air fresh. The business center was equipped with arthritic computers, but everything worked, and there were the small necessities that I am always looking for.... post-its, paper clips and stapler ready at hand. This hotel made business in Durango very seamless.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are so very pleased that everything from our friendly, knowledgeable staff; fresh, spacious rooms and complimentary well stocked business center met all of your needs and made your stay smooth and enjoyable.
We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in beautiful Durango Colorado on business or for pleasure.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
488 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Due mainly to a combination of price and trip advisor ratings, plus a little bit of consideration to location, I chose this hotel for our stay in Durango while we went on the Durango and Silverton.

I went to check in and met of the friendly desk staff, Marley, if I remember correctly. She was polite, efficient and friendly. As she was quickly checking me in, a sports team, I am assuming football, pulled up in 2 busses from Colorado Mesa University. "Oh-no," I thought. I had flashbacks to my horrible experience of college students taking over the Holiday Inn Riverview in Charleston, South Carolina.

We went up too our nicely lit room. The sink had a nice counter top. The shower flow was interesting. A low flow setting that was inadequate. Another odd setting, and then a blast in a stream. It wasn't horrible, but I have had better. No problem to get hot water. The room was big. It had a microwave, fridge and tons of electrical outlets. The edges of the room needed better vacuuming, as evidence by detritis and nail clippings.

The pool is quite small. I was disappointed the hot tub was apparently out of service. The pool area was dark.

They had coffee out at night and we spoke a little more with the friendly check in lady.

In the morning we enjoyed the hot breakfast with biscuits and gravy, eggs, waffles, yogurt, etc..

What a relieve and thanks to the Colorado Mesa University team that they were quiet respectful guests that did nothing to deter from our stay.

I alerted the front desk men to the need for better vacuuming in the room. I received an apology. I told them no apology was needed, but I would appreciate if the maid service could please take care of the issue.

We returned from our trip on the Durango and Silverton narrow gage RR and the room still needed a good vacuuming.

Another girls sports team had taken up residence which clogged the breakfast area.

Check out was quick the following day.

A cleaner room would have rated this place an above average rating. For the price, I was a little disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank western u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti R, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review and comments. We appreciate your willingness to share your experience and allow us to use your feedback to address any problems.
Please accept my most sincere apologies for any issues you encountered with housekeeping. We have addressed this with our staff and will work on making it top priority for a 100% clean and fresh room for each and every one of our guests.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast and were able to provide you with a quiet and restful stay even though we were quite busy at that time with large groups. We strive to make every stay enjoyable so please be assured that we will do our best to rectify the issues you encountered. We hope you will choose us again on your next stay in Durango.
Thank you,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Located just outside of downtown so near the train station and downtown eating. Our room was clean and comfortable. The handicap room for our relatives was small but the bathroom was large and easy access to the parking lot. The motel looked newer which was also nice.

Room Tip: We had an upper level room at the back of the motel so nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank howloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks very much for taking the time to let us and others know about your recent stay. We are so glad you found your room to be clean and comfortable. Our convenient location does allow all our guests to enjoy the downtown atmosphere and dining while still far enough away to enjoy a peaceful, quiet night.
We hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel was very nice. Minor problem at check-in...was told two of my rooms were adjoining, but they were not. Offer was made for other rooms that were adjoining but they were on second floor, so opted to stay in original room (116). One light fixture did not work...oops, forgot to tell them. Breakfast was good, but no meat. Remedied that by buying microwave sausage and bringing it to the breakfast room. Location was about a mile from town, but a very easy drive. Hotel was attractive and clean. Enjoyed using the breakfast room for game/card playing in the evenings with family. Hot tub was closed. Felt completely safe. Would definitely choose this hotel again. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Granny_Annie327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. We appreciate your compliments and comments. We will use your valued opinion to address any issues noted as well as compliment our friendly, helpful staff for providing such great service. It is rewarding to hear that you enjoyed our attractive and clean hotel and our complimentary hot breakfast. We are glad you felt completely safe and will choose our hotel again for your next stay in beautiful Durango Colorado.
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We have stayed at this motel before, that is the reason we stayed this time. Motel is clean, rooms are nice, beds are comfortable and the breakfast is great. I'm sure we will stay here again on our next trip to Durango.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dottie1199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Guest,
It is great to receive your review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are so pleased that you are a repeat guest and that your satisfaction and praise of our clean rooms, comfortable beds and great hot breakfast will keep you coming back.
We appreciate your continued business and look forward to serving you in the future!
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
1.5 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
1.5 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#4 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites Durango

Property: Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Address: 455 S Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81303-7939
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durango
#3 Green Hotel in Durango
#8 Family Hotel in Durango
#9 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites Durango 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn & Suites Hotel located in picturesque Durango. We have a fabulous award winning facility and we provide what we believe to be the fastest free Hotel Wifi in Durango with no 3 meg limit per guest like the other major hotel chains. Our hotel offers warm accommodations, friendly service and all the beautiful Durango attractions nearby such as the historical town center offering a wide array of dining, shopping, the famous D&S Narrow Gauge Railroad, and the Animas River Walk. Durango is a town rich in history with breathtaking views of the San Juan Mountains. Winter activities are abundant at the Durango Mountain Purgatory ski area. Durango was recently voted Best Colorado Ski Big Town and is famous for its fantastic summer recreation such as hiking, mountain biking, river rafting, jeep tours, horseback riding, and fishing. Durango was also recently voted Best River Town in America. Other nearby points of interest are the Mesa Verde National Park (a UNESCO World Heritage Site), Sky Ute Casino and Fort Lewis College. Our Durango hotel is a Tripadvisor Hall of Fame, Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, & 2011. The Durango Lift stops within 200 feet of the hotel for easy and convenient access throughout Durango. Full-service hotel amenities and features include the following: • Indoor heated pool & Finish SAUNA • Free high-speed Internet access with no 3 meg limit per guest • Free local calls • Business center • Air conditioned exercise facility Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! Business travelers staying at this Durango, CO hotel will find the Business Center with copy and fax services useful. All spacious guest rooms are equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and 32-inch televisions with cable, including movie channels. A guest laundry facility is located on the premises for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Durango, Colorado Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
Durango Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing