We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Durango Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Durango Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Went north for a few days to get out of the Phoenix heat. Made reservations here. Hotel is a little east of the main downtown area but is close to other shopping and restaurants. Room was comfy and bed was firm. Room and surroundings were quiet for much needed R & R. Staff were pleasant and accommodating. Breakfast was typical hotel breakfast, in my opinion was not very good, have had much better. Coffee definitely took a vacation it was terrible... It needs major improvement. Overall I would book this again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review. We are happy to receive your comments and suggestions. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our convenient location to area attractions, our comfy rooms & beds, and our pleasant staff. It is always good to hear that our guests had a quiet, restful stay and that you will book with us again. I apologize that we did not meet your needs with our complimentary hot breakfast and will use your comments to improve in areas needed.
Thank you again, and we hope to be able to serve you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    259
    104
    34
    21
See reviews for
274
284
43
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

You would think for paying more than $160 a night that you could expect to get a mattress without a severe sag (hole) in the middle and we stayed 2 nights. On the second day we came back at 4:30 in the afternoon hot and tired and wanted to clean up and found housekeeping hadn't even been in to clean it yet. Sitting in the lobby now @ almost 5pm and they have told us it is ready now. My husband just went up to get into the room and found that it in fact not ready yet. Ugh!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeannieJoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Please accept my most sincere apologies regarding the issues you experienced during your recent stay at our hotel. We have replaced many of our mattresses with new Serta Sleepers and are working on finishing all of our rooms. I am very sorry you experienced anything other than a restful and comfortable night sleep. I also apologize for the lateness of our housekeeping service on your second day. Our staff do have quite a few rooms to clean on the busy summer months and try to get to them as quickly as possible. I am very sorry that you had to wait for your room to be serviced and caused you inconvenience. We will use your comments to ensure we handle these situations differently in the future. Thank you for your valuable feedback and we hope you will give us a chance to provide you with a superior stay in the future.
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
179 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Very room, Very convenient to all areas, ie, downtown, interstates and other roads leading everywhere you need to go. Breakfast was hot and very good...clean and well kept. rooms were spacious and comfortable. The price was very reasonable as well. A bargain for sure.

Room Tip: Book early as because of its location is a popular stopping place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travln4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were pleasantly surprised with our clean, spacious rooms, hot and good tasting breakfast, convenient location to all Durango has to offer and reasonable price. Our staff appreciate your kind compliments and thank you for your wonderful review. We hope you will visit us again in the near future!
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concho,AZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The room was decent, it was convenient off the major road, and cordial staff. Price reflects area, scenery all around warrants it. We were only there 1 night, only housekeeping issue was a small, but obvious piece of paper trash in the same place on the carpet near or in the elevator for the 20 hours we were there. Breakfast was standard hotel fare, disappointed, though, with the 2 basics lacking - coffee from a new box machine on par with the in room coffee makers(?) and eggs a little too homogenized. They just taste different. Wish we could opt out of breakfast for a reduced rate. American hotel breakfast fare (not just this chain's) is having us reconsider a la carte hotels or b&b's. I really want a good cup of coffee.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ltravel198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your comments and appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are glad to hear you were happy with our rooms and location. We apologize that you did not like our American breakfast. Our hot complimentary breakfast does include real scrambled eggs, sausage or bacon, biscuits and gravy, 2 types of pastries, two types of bread, 3 kinds of cold cereal, 3 flavors of hot cereal, 3 kinds of fresh fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, two types of milk, two juices, coffee and tea. I am not sure what you are used to from your country, but this is a very extensive selection for a complimentary breakfast and most of our guests really enjoy it. I am sorry it was not to your liking.
Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that you will visit us again in the future to allow us to provide you wit great accommodations and service.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killeen, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The young lady that was working on the night of 10 July 14 was outstanding and very hard with phones and customers. The hotel halls and room was clean but I did have a pet smell in my room but not unbearable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iv_fortune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your recent review and are pleased to hear that our friendly staff and clean rooms made your stay so satisfactory. We apologize if you encountered any negative odors as we have an outstanding housekeeping team who work very hard to make sure every room and common area in our hotel is clean and fresh.
We hope that you will visit us again and allow us to provide you with an exceptional experience.
Thank you,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I would agree with what some others have said about room cleaning stretching late into the evening. One day we did not get the room cleaned because we had returned to the hotel after a long day and the room was not done. They did knock on the door later and ask if we wanted it done but we turned them away because we did not want to leave our room. Other than this small inconvenience I was very pleased with my stay. The room was clean and updated, the breakfast was good, and all the staff was very friendly. The location was convenient to town. I would absolutely stay there again on another trip to Durango

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bckmn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us regarding your recent stay. Please allow me to apologize for the late housekeeping problem you experienced and hope that it did not inconvenience you too much. We are working on continued training and hiring more personnel to be able to provide a faster and more efficient service to our guests. I do thank you for your kind compliments regarding or cleanliness, satisfying breakfast, friendly staff and convenient location. I am very glad that the small incident you experienced will not keep you from returning to stay with us again and we look forward to providing you with an excellent experience the next time.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
115 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Spent three nights at the Comfort Inn Durango first week of July.

The good:

1) Eight mile beautiful running trail next to the river, across the highway from the Comfort Inn. Virtually no one else using the trail over the three days, and saw many deer on long runs.
2) You know what you are going to get with the Comfort Inn, up to standards.
3) Five minute drive to town
4) Liked the extra elevator at the end of the hall, that was not used by many. Park on side of hotel and use this elevator for quickest access to rooms

To Improve:

1) Hotel crowded, breakfast space not adequate (though the breakfast was good).
2) Hotel is a bit isolated, must drive to get anywhere, even a mini-mart for milk or emergency supplies.
3) Walls seem very sound proof, but not the floors. If you are sensitive to ceiling noise, stay on the third floor. We had children, so did receive a complaint about floor noise (justified complaint). Also, we could hear noise above our second floor room - walking and jumping kids.
4) Young Gal working the front desk in the evening when we arrived, was helpful, but not friendly.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, request third floor room.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jaredites1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,
I want to thank you for letting us know about your recent stay and allowing us to use your comments to make our services even better.
We have a hardworking team that do their best to offer friendly and helpful service to all of our guests, so I want to apologize if you experienced anything less from of Guest Service Agent at check-in. This is not the norm for us and we usually receive very good reviews on our staff's attitude.
We are glad that you enjoyed our close proximity to one of the local hiking trails and our convenient location to the downtown historic area of Durango. We provide a location just a short drive (5 minutes) from the lights and activity of Durango, but close enough to access all of your needs.
We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
1.5 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#4 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
1.5 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites Durango

Property: Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Address: 455 S Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81303-7939
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durango
#3 Green Hotel in Durango
#8 Family Hotel in Durango
#9 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites Durango 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn & Suites Hotel located in picturesque Durango. We have a fabulous award winning facility and we provide what we believe to be the fastest free Hotel Wifi in Durango with no 3 meg limit per guest like the other major hotel chains. Our hotel offers warm accommodations, friendly service and all the beautiful Durango attractions nearby such as the historical town center offering a wide array of dining, shopping, the famous D&S Narrow Gauge Railroad, and the Animas River Walk. Durango is a town rich in history with breathtaking views of the San Juan Mountains. Winter activities are abundant at the Durango Mountain Purgatory ski area. Durango was recently voted Best Colorado Ski Big Town and is famous for its fantastic summer recreation such as hiking, mountain biking, river rafting, jeep tours, horseback riding, and fishing. Durango was also recently voted Best River Town in America. Other nearby points of interest are the Mesa Verde National Park (a UNESCO World Heritage Site), Sky Ute Casino and Fort Lewis College. Our Durango hotel is a Tripadvisor Hall of Fame, Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, & 2011. The Durango Lift stops within 200 feet of the hotel for easy and convenient access throughout Durango. Full-service hotel amenities and features include the following: • Indoor heated pool & Finish SAUNA • Free high-speed Internet access with no 3 meg limit per guest • Free local calls • Business center • Air conditioned exercise facility Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! Business travelers staying at this Durango, CO hotel will find the Business Center with copy and fax services useful. All spacious guest rooms are equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and 32-inch televisions with cable, including movie channels. A guest laundry facility is located on the premises for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Durango, Colorado Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
Durango Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing