We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room smelled like cigarette smoke”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Room smelled like cigarette smoke”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

My husband and I stayed at Comfort Inn last week for 5 days. The price should have been a little cheaper for the area (not in downtown). The hotel is nice, but our complaint was the smell of our room. When we walked into our room the smell of cigarette smoke was horrible. The hotel is non-smoking so I walked back and told the front desk only to be told it use to be a smoking room before it became a non-smoking room. Ok, that makes a lot of sense!!! With no fight after a long flight we stayed. The smell never left! Now at home all our items from the luggage reeked of smoke and we had to wash everything immediatly. Also note only one hotel in Durango (that we were made aware of) has a shuttle to and from the airport and this is not it. Taxi fare from airport is $30.00 with an additional $20.00 charge for each person. $50.00 for a less than a 15 minute ride started the vacation off bad. I would also like to suggest a few places to eat in Durango. The Ore House, a steak house was great. Gazpachos, a mexican restuarant was different but in a very good way. Then for a great sandwiches try Lost Dog, a bar. These were recomended by a local and we agree they are great.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melena506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pattidgo1, Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, 4 September 2009
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your Trip Advisor Report. We take great care in making each of our guest’s stay enjoyable and satisfying, so I am concerned that your experience was unpleasant.
In January 2008 our hotel proudly became 100% non-smoking. We took great pains for 3 months prior to that date to deep clean and renovate all of our previously “smoking rooms”. Our cleaning efforts included new carpet, dry cleaning all fabrics and drapes, new paint, and new bedding.
I am so sorry if you encountered any detection of the smoke smell from 1 & ½ years ago.
I also apologize that we do not offer a shuttle here at our hotel. Unfortunately we do not have any association with the local transportation company and do not approve or condone their policies or prices. While we are not downtown, we are the newest hotel in Durango and there is a very inexpensive ($1.00 per ride) city operated shuttle that picks up right next to our hotel and takes about 5 minutes to get to the downtown area (1.5 miles).
Your comments and suggestions are appreciated and we hope that all your future stays at Choice Hotels will be pleasant.
Sincerely, Comfort Inn & Suites- Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    260
    104
    34
    21
See reviews for
275
284
43
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

We found the staff and property wonderful. I only wish we had started our stay in Durango at the Comfort Inn. We had a bad experience on the first night at another hotel, but after checking in at the Comfort Inn the entire weekend improved. Everyone from housekeeping to front desk was helpful, friendly and made my family feel very much at home. 100% clean throughout the property!!!!!
Will stay at this property again when we return!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevesisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pattidgo1, Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, 21 August 2009
Dear Guest,
Thank you from all the Staff at the Durango Comfort Inn & Suites.
Your satisfaction is the most important part of our jobs and it gives us great pleasure to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations in making your trip to Durango so successful.
We hope that you will come back to our hotel in the near future and allow us to serve you again.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites - Durango Colorado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2009

We stayed on a Friday night, the staff was so friendly and helpful. They smiled and gave us great ideas for restaurants for our evening meal. The rooms were extremely clean and quiet and the breakfast in the morning was more than wonderful. Lots to choose from and very tasty. We most certainly will stay again the next time we are in that area.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NebraskaHollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pattidgo1, Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, 21 July 2009
Dear valued guest,
On behalf of our hotel staff, I am writing to let you know how delighted we were to receive your kind words of praise on our Trip Advisor site.
We accommodate many guests each evening, and strive to make their night’s stay a satisfying one. We strive to provide the best customer service possible to our guests at all times. But, it is only through their eyes that we can accurately assess the quality of the accommodations and service we provide.
Thats why it’s truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts, and takes the time to say thanks.
Again, let me thank you for your kind words. We are committed to total guest satisfaction, and we look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Durango Comfort Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

We stayed here over a weekend. It was super crowded and noisy. The breakfast was well-below average for chain-hotel contential breakfasts. Many of the foods were served in large containers, instead of individual packages, lending it to lots of germs.

The in-door pool was not heated and freezing. Our kids could only stay in for a few minutes. Usually the pool is the highlight of a hotel stay for us. But this one is small and terrible.

The staff was nice enough. Although they didn't seem to have any desire to keep the noise down.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABQ_workingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pattidgo1, Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, 13 July 2009
Dear Guest,
I am concerned about the issues you experienced at our hotel on your recent visit.
A hotel is defined by the quality of service and at our hotel we strive to provide the best possible stay. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you were unhappy.
We have 123 rooms in our hotel and so when it is a very busy holiday weekend (4th of July), we are usually quite full. I do apologize that the other hotel guests were noisy, I know this can be very frustrating and not always easy for the staff to keep everyone quite.
I apologize that our pool did not meet with your satisfaction. We keep our indoor pool between 80-82 degrees. When it is quite hot outside, it sometimes does not feel that warm as a persons body temperature is higher, therefore the water temperature feels cool. I am very sorry your family was unable to enjoy it.
Please be assured that the issues you have raised have been addressed and are genuinely appreciated.
I hope that all your future stays at Choice Hotels will be satisfactory.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites - Durango, CO.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2009

We have stayed at this Comfort Inn and Suites before and we will stay there again. When we checked in, they realized that they'd double-reserved the specific room that we had reserved. They upgraded our accommodations and we were thrilled. Our room was clean, quiet, it has a convenient location, and great staff. The breakfast is very basic and has fruit, cereal, eggs, waffles, breads, donuts and muffins. The pool is big and the pool and hottub area is well maintained. Given that Durango is geared for outdoor activities where clothing gets wet and dirty, it would be nice if they had more washers and dryers available in the hotel.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank wiscariz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pattidgo1, Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, 10 July 2009
Dear Guest,
I want to take the opportunity to say Thank You for the warm review and let you know how pleased we are at the Comfort Inn & Suites to have made your trip a pleasant one.
We always take all comments and suggestions seriously and appreciate you taking the time to let us know what we are doing right and what we can do to become even better.
Thank you again and I hope you will return to visit us again in the near future!
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites-Durango Colorado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

I stayed here 1 night (based on trip adviser recommendations) in June. I was unpleasantly surprised when I walked in. The room had some weird smell that didn't go away. The bathroom was old and tiny. The room was marginally acceptable (for a chain) but had the worn and faded look of an old place. For the price (with tax) of $135, it was hardly any deal. Also, you are on the outskirts of town in the "industrial" area-- ugly and certainly can't walk to anything. For those of you who care about exercise, the exercise "gym" had a treadmill (decent) and a very old recumbent bike--the room was creepy and dark. The breakfast did not include a single piece of fruit (except apples--who eats those for breakfast?) but did include plenty of styrofoam--which never ever breaks down. This hotel was a case of bad information from trip adviser.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pack20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pattidgo1, Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, 2 July 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a Trip Advisor report.

We accommodate many guests each evening and we strive to make their stay a satisfying and pleasant experience, so I am truly sorry yours was disappointing.

I apologize that you experienced an indistinguishable odor upon entering your room. We have an outstanding housekeeping staff and when an issue arises we always try to correct it as soon as we are notified. Unfortunately, if a guest’s concerns are not brought to our attention at that time, we do not have the opportunity to correct it for you.

I am sorry that you felt our bathroom did not meet your size and décor preferences. We recently had all our bathrooms renovated and upgraded with beautiful granite and new bathtubs. We also recently installed new carpet, comforters, and new lighting in all of our rooms. I apologize that the room did not meet your expectations.

We are located 1&1/2 miles from the downtown area of Durango which is about a five minute drive, but we are right next to the beautiful river walk that runs through Durango, and many people enjoy the walk to downtown area and beyond.

I am sorry that you were disappointed with our fitness room. We have done our very best to provide a well lit room with a wall of full length mirrors. We also provide fully functioning weight training equipment, a Nordic ski machine, brand new treadmill, and a stationary bike, that you mentioned.

We are truly proud of our complimentary hot breakfast that includes eggs, hash browns, biscuits & gravy, waffles, cereal, bagels, yogurt, doughnuts and two kinds of apples that most hotels recognize and serve as an acceptable breakfast fruit. I apologize that our breakfast was unsatisfactory for you.

I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive are very much appreciated. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to respond to yous.

I hope that all your future stays at Choice Hotels will be satisfying.

Sincerely- Comfort Inn and Suites- Durango, Colorado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

Clean room, comfortable bed and an okay breakfast buffet. Definitely no complaints for the price. The only issue we encountered was a slow draining sink. I removed the stopper and what looked like a dead rat came out without it. No, it wasn't really a dead rat, but rather a gigantic clump of hair that was impeding the water from draining. How housekeeping managed to avoid reporting this issue to maintenance is a puzzle, and additionally, the bathroom was supposedly recently remodeled, so I'm not sure how this was overlooked. That amount of hair did not accumulate in one stay. All things considered, we would not hesitate to stay at this hotel if we were to return to Durango.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reelfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pattidgo1, Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, 29 June 2009
Dear Guest,
I want to take the opportunity to thank you for the Trip Advisor reveiw you wrote.
All reviews are appreciated and taken seriously as they tell us what we are doing right and what we are doing wrong.
I am pleased that your stay with us for the most part was a satisfactory experience.
I apologize for the condition of the sink drain in your room. We pride ourselves on an outstanding housekeeping and maintenance staff. So, it is disappointing that the problem was not discovered prior to your stay.
I hope that we can make it up to you on your next stay in Durango and show you how great our hotel really is.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites - Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
1.5 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#4 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
1.5 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites Durango

Property: Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Address: 455 S Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81303-7939
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durango
#3 Green Hotel in Durango
#8 Family Hotel in Durango
#9 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites Durango 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn & Suites Hotel located in picturesque Durango. We have a fabulous award winning facility and we provide what we believe to be the fastest free Hotel Wifi in Durango with no 3 meg limit per guest like the other major hotel chains. Our hotel offers warm accommodations, friendly service and all the beautiful Durango attractions nearby such as the historical town center offering a wide array of dining, shopping, the famous D&S Narrow Gauge Railroad, and the Animas River Walk. Durango is a town rich in history with breathtaking views of the San Juan Mountains. Winter activities are abundant at the Durango Mountain Purgatory ski area. Durango was recently voted Best Colorado Ski Big Town and is famous for its fantastic summer recreation such as hiking, mountain biking, river rafting, jeep tours, horseback riding, and fishing. Durango was also recently voted Best River Town in America. Other nearby points of interest are the Mesa Verde National Park (a UNESCO World Heritage Site), Sky Ute Casino and Fort Lewis College. Our Durango hotel is a Tripadvisor Hall of Fame, Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, & 2011. The Durango Lift stops within 200 feet of the hotel for easy and convenient access throughout Durango. Full-service hotel amenities and features include the following: • Indoor heated pool & Finish SAUNA • Free high-speed Internet access with no 3 meg limit per guest • Free local calls • Business center • Air conditioned exercise facility Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! Business travelers staying at this Durango, CO hotel will find the Business Center with copy and fax services useful. All spacious guest rooms are equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and 32-inch televisions with cable, including movie channels. A guest laundry facility is located on the premises for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Durango, Colorado Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
Durango Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing