We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is an aging hotel that does not give...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersSilver level
Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This is an aging hotel that does not give...”
Reviewed 20 June 2010

This is an aging hotel that does not give a welcoming feeling. The check in area is small and cluttered with furniture. There are several signs telling you what you can't do ( don't change the dinning room tv channel, don't use the ice machine for coolers, etc.). The rooms are large but dated. The beds were worn, television was an average tube tv but good picture. The fitness room was poor. One multi-use machine, one bike and one treadmill that required you to go to the front desk to get a key in order to use it even though you had to have a room key to get into the fitness room. The breakfast was adequate but not great. They advertised a in room USA Today paper but I never saw one. The in room wifi was a good feature as advertised though.

In summary this is an aging hotel that gets by because of it's location. Yes there are plenty of worse hotels in Durango but I'm sure there are better ones too. I believe I over paid for this hotel and would not stay here again.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texastan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    266
    106
    34
    24
See reviews for
275
295
42
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

Extraordinarily clean and outstanding included breakfast. Room was pristine. Only (very minor) complaint is that towels were very worn - not at same level as rest of the experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donegal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pattidgo1, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, responded to this review, 9 July 2010
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay. We appreciate all feedback, good and bad as it gives us the opportunity to respond and improve on our services if needed. We have an outstanding housekeeping staff, who takes pride in the cleanliness of our hotel. Thank you for recognizing their efforts. Regarding the worn towels in your room, we did recently get a huge linen order in and have replaced all the old linens, I’m sorry we were unable to replace linen during your stay. We’re glad to hear you had a great experience at our hotel and hope to serve your lodging needs next time you are in Durango.

Sincerely,
Durango Comfort Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eckert, CO
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2010

We booked the large group room (4 queen beds) for our family trip on the Durango Silverton Narrow Guage RR because it met our needs at a reasonable price. Our group of six "seniors" included one 92-year-old and the room location, size, convenience to the breakfast area, and overall amenities made for a comfortable night for all. The front desk staff were friendly, helpful, and were prepared for our arrival. The breakfast was excellent and provided lots of choices of fresh and prepared foods. The serving and eating area was clean and well attended-to by the breakfast staff.

The only drawback for our group was location, since we came into Durango on the train and needed to arrange for transportation to and from the depot. The local taxi service provided good connections from door-to-door, which made our trip a great success! We will definitely return to Comfort Inn the next time we are in Durango!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GArmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2010

My son and I were in Durango for the"welcome freshmen" weekend at Fort Lewis College. We arrived late evening and very tired. The desk manager on that night was pleasant and helpful. Our room was clean, fresh smelling, and the right temperature for a great night sleep.
The breakfast was plentiful and fresh. The primary person caring for the buffet was superb. She was friendly, made sure all the amenities were kept stocked, and attended to a problem with the waffle maker in an expedient manner.
All staff we encountered were friendly and pleasant. The rate for being part of a FLC event was excellent.
My son and I had a comfortable relaxing trip because of our accommodations.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosiepoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

We stay in 25 or more Comfort Inns/Choice Hotels a year and this is one of the nicer ones.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

We stayed in Comfort Inn in Durango for 2 nights and were pleased with the large and comfortable room. Continental breakfast was good too. We liked free computer in lobby.
Location is good, just a 5 min drive to very nice downtown Durango and the Durango/Silverton train depot.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InnaTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moab, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Staff was very friendly and informative..Very clean and comfortable..Breakfast was excellent, clean, appealing, and very good. We stayed 2 nights and we will stay there again. The value for your money was excellent ..just had a really great experience.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nana0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#6 of 33 in Durango
503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
1.5 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Durango Inn & Suites
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
1.5 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#8 of 33 in Durango
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites Durango

Property: Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
Address: 455 S Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81303-7939
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durango
#3 Green Hotel in Durango
#8 Family Hotel in Durango
#9 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites Durango 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Comfort Inn & Suites Hotel located in picturesque Durango. We have a fabulous award winning facility and we provide what we believe to be the fastest free Hotel Wifi in Durango with no 3 meg limit per guest like the other major hotel chains. Our hotel offers warm accommodations, friendly service and all the beautiful Durango attractions nearby such as the historical town center offering a wide array of dining, shopping, the famous D&S Narrow Gauge Railroad, and the Animas River Walk. Durango is a town rich in history with breathtaking views of the San Juan Mountains. Winter activities are abundant at the Durango Mountain Purgatory ski area. Durango was recently voted Best Colorado Ski Big Town and is famous for its fantastic summer recreation such as hiking, mountain biking, river rafting, jeep tours, horseback riding, and fishing. Durango was also recently voted Best River Town in America. Other nearby points of interest are the Mesa Verde National Park (a UNESCO World Heritage Site), Sky Ute Casino and Fort Lewis College. Our Durango hotel is a Tripadvisor Hall of Fame, Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, & 2011. The Durango Lift stops within 200 feet of the hotel for easy and convenient access throughout Durango. Full-service hotel amenities and features include the following: • Indoor heated pool & Finish SAUNA • Free high-speed Internet access with no 3 meg limit per guest • Free local calls • Business center • Air conditioned exercise facility Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! Business travelers staying at this Durango, CO hotel will find the Business Center with copy and fax services useful. All spacious guest rooms are equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and 32-inch televisions with cable, including movie channels. A guest laundry facility is located on the premises for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Durango, Colorado Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
Durango Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing