We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Purgatory Village Condo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Houston
1 review
“Good Location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2007

Issues with our stay. Our first issue started almost immediately. The smaller room next to us had a heavy smoker in it (against the law) and we could smell his horrible smoke in our room. We complained 3 times and nothing was done. Sleeping was difficult breathing smoke all night. That leads to the second issue we had, we got in late from dinner one night and realized that there was no mattress on the sleeper sofa. One of the couples had to sleep on the floor and breath smoke even worse. The management gave us sorry excuses about it and said "well it doesnt have a mattress, these are individually owned" Sorry! It wasnt until we ran into the great maintenance man from Mexico City. We asked him about it and our problem was solved within the next hour. May not sound like a big deal but try sleeping on the floor after a day of skiing and you can barely walk the next day. Overall room was totally 80's but alright. Bring your own firewood because ours was wet and wouldnt light. Hopefully your stay will be better than ours, next year we're somewhere else!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room, Pool, Service, Atomosphere, Internet connection was bad
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dwightsullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    37
    15
    12
    10
See reviews for
66
39
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
san francisco, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2007

Inflexible, rude and downright unaccomodating.

Our desk clerk gave us the wrong room...unbeknownst to us until in our sleep, we were greeted by two additional guests in our room. The guests were just checking in and had bags in hand but instead of giving them an different room, the management asked us to pack up our things and move rooms.

The following morning, one of us had a 103 degree fever and needed to go to the medical clinic ASAP, not giving us enough time to pack up and check out. When asked for an additional hour to check out due to the medical emergency, we were simply told 'no and if you stay a minute past 11am, you will be charged a half day'.

Hands down, the worst experience I have ever had at a hotel.

  • Liked — comfortable bed
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kra89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFugit, Purgatory Village Hotel Management at Purgatory Village Condo Hotel, responded to this review, 12 February 2007
The writer checked in during the afternoon, not in the middle of the night. She was given the wrong room number in error and the problem was corrected within 20 minutes with many apologies and offers of luggage assistance. When guest called to ask for a late check out, we were unable to do so as we had another guest due to arrive into that specific room. We offered to store the guest's luggage and they hung up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2006

Just returned from short Christmas Stay with my family of 4. Had a 2 bedroom condo on 3rd floor of Kendall Building. Very roomy - worked great for us. Kitchen and decor stuck in 70's mode -- was not even sure how to operate some of the old appliances. Had steam shower (could not figure out how to work) and a jacuzzi tub (didn't even try). Could view slopes from the room, nice balcony with seating. 2 TV's with cable. Could not get WiFi or Cable modem to work (didn't try too hard).
Location was great - walk out to slopes. Had a locker on 1st floor to store ski and snowboard gear. Covered parking!
Service at the Condo/Hotel was limited - maybe because of the holiday? We were lucky to get towels changed - they did not make beds, vacuum, etc. One day of our 4 night stay our keys stopped working, a visit to office fixed that - but why the inconvenience?
There is a mini-mart on the first floor with necessary items for kitchen, which was convenient and nice. Not too much to do in the evenings - thanks goodness we were too tired to worry about that. Would probably go back - but would look for better rate - I think we paid $350 a night.

  • Liked — At base of mountain - by 6 pack lift.
  • Disliked — Needs an upgrade on decor. Servicing of room inconsistent.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2006

My husband and I first stayed at Purgatory Village for our honeymoon almost six years ago and at that time it was great...no complaints. We came back a few years later during the winter for some skiing and that was the first bad experience. We got a king room and when we walked in everything seemed fine. Then all went down hill. The sink and toilet were clogging. The toilet would flush but not very well as if something was wrong and the sink would take forever to drain to the point where if you just brushed your teeth it would almost overflow! So....we go down to the front desk to ask what's going on and they send up a maintanence guy. He proceeds to whip out a toilet plunger and puts it in the sink splashing water and other dark particles all over the mirror and counter with our stuff sitting there! Actual sewage came out of the sink!! YUCK. He plunged the toilet too. He left and said everything was fine now. We cleaned up and went to dinner. When we came back the sink and toilet were not working again! Now we were mad at this point and went back down to the front desk when they told us that they were having a "sewage problem" with their pipes in the building. They moved us to another building finally in the middle of the night and we finished out stay. They never comp'd us or anything.

Since our previous time there had been great and was during the summer we decided to go again this past summer 2005 for our anniversary. This time we rented a one bedroom condo for around 140 a night. The unit was nice yet faced the back of the property and was right above the basement where you could hear the hum of pumps or something running constantly. We decided not to worry about it and had a great day. Our first night we could not sleep since there was a huge bright street lamp next to our bedroom window that the blinds hardly helped to cover. The room literally looked like daylight. We went to the front desk to ask what could be done and were told we could try a room facing a different direction down the hall. We agreed. We walked in the new room and were stunned. The unit was HORRIBLE! There were stains all over the carpet, the couch was ripped in many places, everything was old like it was from the 70's, it smelled, the bedspread had a huge hole right in the center of it and the bed did not look like the sheets were fresh, and the wallpaper in the bathroom was peeling off. What a dump! We went back down to the desk in shock that they even could give someone a room like this and their response was "any other room we could give you tonight would be even worse". So we ended up back in the first unit and hung sheets over the window with tacks and it helped somewhat...at least the unit was nice and clean. This second bad experience was the last straw...we love staying at the Mountain but the accomidations are horrible for the price you pay and the staff seems to not really care too much to make it up to you. We will never stay there again unless it's renovated!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2005

Me and my wife have never been to colorado so we decided to take our vacation to durango area . Not being familar with the area i found purgatory on the internet. We booked a one bedroom condo with a sleeper couch for our 3 yr old son and took a crib for our 10 month old. The room was great full kitchen , washer , dryer, dish washer, vcr , dvd, fireplace.
the resort had plenty of activities. the only disapointment was that our daughter was to young to go up the lift, but for safey reason they must be 1yr or older.Me and the wife took turns up the lift and on the alpine slide with our son 3ys old. Alpine slide was a blast. we stayed for three nights. the third day was where we ran into trouble. key would not work and so i went to the front desk and was given another key that did not work , i went back down and was told to keep tring that it propably was a low battery in the lock and they would send some one to look at the lock. I went back and
still would not work. the frustration was at peak level !!!! This time iwas
asked them for some one to open my door . They opened the door and said that they would have it fixed by the time we got back from our trip to durango. Surprise !!!!! we returned after a long day nothing was fixed and front desk tryed to give me another key. After a hour of my family sitting in the hall with baby and 3yr old cranky , my vacation was going down hill real quick. A young girl named sarah at the front desk said she would move us into another room and would comp us for the night and if she could help us with anything else to let her know.
The next morning they didnt cmp us for the night , but comped us for two nights. they made it right and i will definately return .

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank jsund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2005

While the hotel is conveniently located in the village at the base of the ski resort, I would gladly drive to Durango in order to stay someplace else. We checked in at 4:45pm after a great day of snowcat skiing, received our keys to our room, and carried all our gear up to the room. We opened the door only to find that other guests were already occupying the room. Still in good spirits, we went back to the front desk to notify them of the mistake, and they assigned us another room. While we were at the front desk, another guest was ahead of us in line with the exact same problem, but we didn't think much of it at the time. We trekked up to another room on a different floor, tried the keys, and found the keys did not work. We went BACK down to the front desk to request new keys. While there, another irate guest was in front of us in line, complaining to the manager on duty. We received new keys, went up to the room, unlocked it, and found that the room was a complete mess - it was evident that housekeeping had not touched it since the last guest had checked out. We went back down to the front desk and this time asked to talk to the manager. We were informed that the manager had left for the day and there was no way to reach her because her shift ended at 5:00. It was 5:03. We were also informed by the front desk clerk that the manager was AWARE of our problems thus far because she had seen us on our previous visits to the front desk, yet she still left. Finally, we were informed by the front desk clerk that we would simply have to wait while housekeeping cleaned our room because she could not change our room again. After several requests, the clerk finally agreed to have the hotel pay for a cup of chili and two appetizers at the bar in the village so we would at least have a decent place to wait while our room was cleaned.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2003

Dr. Robertson's review had me a little spooked, but I couldn't be happier with my stay at Purg Village. The whole trip, via AdventureToursUSA, was excellent -- the resort is great and the service actually a highlight...everyone from the bellmen to ski instructors was friendly, helpful, and seemed to appreciate your choosing Purgatory. Evening shuttles into Durango are a plus. Finally, excellent skiing -- nice layout, lifts, and runs -- of course, 20+" new snow courtesy mother nature was a big help. Rock on.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durango hotels
25.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#3 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
27.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
25.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
26.6 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango
25.1 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#8 of 33 in Durango
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purgatory Village Condo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purgatory Village Condo Hotel

Property: Purgatory Village Condo Hotel
Address: 24 Sheol St, Purgatory Resort, Durango, CO 81301
Region: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 33 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Purgatory Village Condo Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Purgatory Village Condo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Purgatory Colorado
Purgatory Village Condo Durango
Purgatory Village Condominium Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing