We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“short staffed this visit!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gobi Grill - CLOSED

Gobi Grill
Price range: US$7 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Mongolian Grill,Rock Cooking, Sushi and Chinese Favorites. Mongolian Grill Open to Midnight or Later, Thursday Friday and Saturday Nights, and Bar open till 2am Thursday Friday Saturday Nights. Live Music Some Nights.
Bonsall, California
Level Contributor
184 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“short staffed this visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We've visited this restaurant 4 times over the last 13 months and used them for take out once.. They offer a variety of Asian foods, Japanese, Korean, Chinese, Mongolian and Thai. All have been wonderful and the service, except for the last visit, has been excellent. When we walked in a week ago, there was only one waitress for 15 tables, and no "bus boy" help as back up. It wasn't that the service was bad. There just wasn't any service of which to speak. When we walked in, we noticed a help wanted sign by the door. Hopefully, they'll solve this problem soon. One other thing, if you're looking for this restaurant, the large red neon sign above the restaurant says "Asian Spice Bistro". Only when you get to the front door do you see Gobi Grill. Kind of strange...

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    17
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Daufuskie Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

Just finished our take out meal and it was just OK. The chicken potstickers and sauce were tasty, as were the egg rolls. Our main dish (which we shared) was the general tso's chicken with fried rice. At least that is what we ordered. What we got, could have been another chicken dish all together. It looked like fried dough pieces and didn't taste much different. There wasn't much 'general tso' taste or sauce and we could hardly taste any chicken as it was mostly fried dough. The fried rice was just white rice that was ... well, fried. It did not have the typical vegetables or pork in it ... just rice and maybe a few dashes of soy sauce. All in all, it satisfied my 'chinese food' fix. Not sure yet if I would go back or try another place. They were very quick and friendly and the place was very nice looking.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank elk137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Reasonable prices, delicious food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

I'll make this short and sweet: my Pad Thai was delicious and my companions raved about their food, as well.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kentuckyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Wonderful find!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a bite and luckily we popped in at the Gobi. We are not from here so we knew nothing of the place. Food, service, and atmosphere are excellent!

Helpful?
Thank Louisvillslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Lake, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Better than average Asian dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Four of us dined together here on a Sunday evening. We had attentive service and all of us were pleased with our four different meals. Good soups to start, but the lettuce wraps were difficult to eat as wraps, being made with small Romaine lettuce leaves. I ordered a favorite of mine, Walnut Shrimp, and got about twice the number of shrimp as I have received in other places. No batter coating on the shrimp, which is how I prefer it. My husband ordered PaNang Curry and found it to be to his liking.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gobi Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing