We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, bad customer service”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Dive Fish House - CLOSED

Dive Fish House
Price range: US$3 - US$28
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Highway 6
Description: Dive {fish house} is the newest incarnation from Pollyanna Forster + Chris Irving. Dive is located in the former dish restaurant + bar space in edwards colorado. With a spectacular oyster and crudo bar, a seafood-centric menu which also includes gorgeous steaks, chicken and pork presentations, dive is your vail valley seafood destination. We get our seafood flown in daily from both coasts and the Hawaiian Islands. Dive's new look transports you to maritime France with cool seaglass blues, vintage milk glass chandeliers, and rich aquamarine velvet drapes. Our beverage program focuses on handcrafted cocktails like the "20 order" punch and a well curated wine list of crustaceous loving varietals. Come in for a few oysters and a glass of champagne and stay for the amazing menu + ambiance.
Silverthorne, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food, bad customer service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Food was great, bartender was great.

When we ordered our dinner the server told us that not all of the dishes would come out together - which was fine. But then when they were brought out mine was brought out incorrect. So the server took it back. 30 minutes later, way after everyone else at the table had finished my meal was brought out. I just wanted to go home at this point and the server asked if I would like a box. At this point we received the bill, which didn't have our bar tab drinks on it. She then came back and added in all the bar tab as well as charged me for the dish that came 30 minutes late and incorrect. Server was nice - but anyone in customer service should know this should not be charged. I ended up leaving the meal untouched.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MtnSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    23
    11
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We tried dish a while back when they had a tasting menu and were not that impressed. We decided to give it another try and I am so glad we did. We loved our experience this time. They start you off with complimentary truffle popcorn while you decide on what to get. We started with “The Original” which is a slice of serrano jamon, a bite of manchego served with a shot glass of sherry for dipping and drinking. It was a delicious little bite and only $1. All of their entrees are also available as a half order (half the portion and half the price). We order two half orders and it was the perfect amount with room for dessert. We ordered the fried chicken and the panang curry shrimp. Both dishes were equally delicious and creative. There are a lot of carrots in the shrimp which I thought was great but my husband thought there were too many. We ordered the angel food doughnuts and they were melt in your mouth scrumptious. I can’t wait to go back and try some of their other offerings.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food, generous portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Tapas style but entree portions are very generous. Loved the brussel sprouts (they really make them taste good!), salmon, and fried chicken with grilled watermelon and pickled watermelon rinds. Fun coctails, but they were small for the price.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JenevieveH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Great staff with very good Tapas. Open kitchen so the staff is on display and at there best.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Coondogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land
Level Contributor
383 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“Fun wonderful food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

My husband and I loved Dish. It's away from the glitz and $$ of Vail and Beaver Creek, and worth the short drive to Edwards. The menu varies, but the $1 serrano shooter is a staple that you must try...salty, with sweet sherry...yum! Do not fill up on the complimentary truffle oil popcorn. It is tasty, but the appetizers and entrees are better. My husband tried the tasting menu, which is a great value, offering the shooter, soup, an appetizer (his were delicious asian style brussel sprouts), a fish entree, a meat entree, and dessert (a delicous dark chocolate pudding with ginger). My squash was delicious, and I enjoyed the duck confit entree. The lemon blackberry trifle was wonderful. Service was friendly & helpful. Value was excellent. We will return.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank sugarlandmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dive Fish House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing