We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Groningen Westerbroek
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westerbroek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We, ve spent more than once a weekend inthis hotel, near the city of Groningen.....I do not know what it is, but every time when I check in, there is a comfortable atmosphere. it's so natural at the reception. Always feel welcome.
We stayed every time in a so called: Comfort room. These are the rooms in the building what is a the back of the hotel....Pleasant room, with a stunning view. sheep, horses, and in summer, quit early you can see some deers....
The bathroom is big, no ammeneties, although not much, showe and seperate bath....Room is a little dark, but it is cosy and comfortable.....No fridge, and that's something you need during the summer...... Nice balcony, and you can see, ( it depends on which side you are of course) the Martini tower of Groningen.

Breakfast is selfservice; enough to eat, there is a choise for everyone. It;s quiet, and comfortable.
Diner: Ok. good food, enough to eat, pleasant staff, helpfull, ....

the comfortrooms, are seperate from the mainbuilding, for us it was no problem, but I can imagine that some people do not like thise, when they had prepeared themselves for diner, and have to walk outside to reach the mainbuilding.

Parking: enough of space....
In short as the title says: Lovely hotel, near Groningen. 10 minutes by car....

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kuiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2010

About 2 weeks ago I made the mistake of booking hotel V.d.Valk Zuidbroek by accident instead of V.d.Valk Westerbroek. Both close to Groningen but a world of difference. Westerbroek is situated in a quiet environment with fields as far as you can see, not build exactly on the expressway(Zuidbroek-A7) and the dinner I had in Westerbroek was delicious and the service was friendly. The room was pleasant and comfortable. I only wonder why they don't install flatscreen tv's, it would be not that big of investment would it? Breakfast was good, allthough I only found eggs, no bacon. But I am not complaining I am recommending. So it's definitally not downtown Groningen, but if you are looking for quiet, free parking, nice food and in general a worryless stay which offers value for your money, I can point you to this hotel.

PS: I am not sure how the public transport reaches this place, I came by car.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Willem_ter_Haar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

When visiting Groningen for business, I love coming to this hotel. Go for the luxury room which looked very new and has a small terrace and enjoy a nice meal in their restaurant. Between the hotel and the first shop, cafe or basically anything, it does take at least a 10 minute drive by car. If you're looking for a clean, friendly, quiet place that offers quality, value for money, this is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TylerW78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Very nice hotel near Groningen, pay a little bit more and take the luxury room instead of the standard room. The luxury room is very spacious and completely new with a big bathroom and a small terrace outside your room where you can enjoy the evening if the weather is nice. The restaurant and breakfast is also ok. The quality versus price is very good.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aliceesjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2008

This hotel is located about 15 km or 10 miles south east of the city of Groningen in a rural surrounding, with nothing (shops, restaurants etc.) on walking distance. You need a car to get here, although there is a bus stop very close by (will be easy to visit the city of Groningen). There is a large restaurant building (here is the front desk as well) with a terrace and some other wings with hotel rooms.

Check-in went smooth by a friendly young girl. We had made a reservation in advance for an arrangement for 115 euro all-inclusive for one-night. It contains a welcome with coffee and a local snack, 3-course dinner and breakfast for two and one-night in a deluxe room. So, a very attractive rate and we knew from another visit two years before that it should be okay.

The deluxe rooms are behind the restaurant building, be sure to have a room in here. There are two floors, on the ground floor you share a terrace with your neighbors, on the second floor you will have your own balcony for some more privacy. All rooms are looking out on countryside with meadows. (If you like to enjoy the sun on your terrace/balcony in the afternoon ask for a room on the side of the parking lot.)

The room is of a good size and they have tried to give it all a somewhat luxurious look. It is a little old fashioned, wallpaper with an angel above the bed and so on. The bed is good and the two easy chairs are very comfortable. The rest is of a minor quality. There are no extra amenities such as a fridge, air conditioner (it can be hot in the room in the summer) and coffee/tea facilities. I brought my own water cooker, cups and coffee/tea with me, so we could make a nice cup of coffee/tea in our room.

The bathroom was clean and spacious, all tiles with a separate bath and shower. There were enough soft towels.

We had dinner in the restaurant and were amazed that it was so busy that Saturday evening. We think, as the hotel was not fully booked, 50% were non-staying guests. A table was reserved for us and the whole evening service was excellent. We didn’t have to wait too long in between courses. The food was very good, more than we expected actually when there are so many guests. We could make a choice for starters, entrees and dessert. Wine is not expensive; they offer bottles from 13.50 till 24.50 euros. We had a good Rioja for 23.50. With the main course a plate is presented with two extra portions of vegetables and two choices of potatoes. For dessert I took the coffee with all kind of small delights and this was great.

The breakfast was also very good, with a wide variety in rolls and bread, cheeses, meats and fruits. One can make their own squeezed juice from fresh oranges. Also it is possible to cook your own eggs on a hot plate.

With checkout two young girls were more than willing to assist me with printing directions to the event we wanted to go. So, although rooms are not top class, it was in all a pleasant stay and unbeatable for the price offered.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BA-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Balkon of terras: comfort (klassieke inrichting) of new comfort (modern)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jandebeaumonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ik zou niet weten waarom je hier zou logeren .. te ver van de stad .. voor de rest niets te beleven
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank grete63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westerbroek
Stadscentrum
Prinsenhof Hotel
Prinsenhof Hotel
#1 of 18 in Groningen
285 reviews
Binnenstad-Zuid
Hampshire Hotel - Groningen Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastion Hotel Groningen
#12 of 18 in Groningen
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Groningen Westerbroek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Groningen Westerbroek

Address: Rijksweg West 11, 9608 PA Westerbroek, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Groningen Province > Westerbroek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westerbroek
Price Range: £48 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Van der Valk Hotel Groningen Westerbroek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City, beach & nature within reach. Enjoy the farmlands around Groningen, where you can enjoy the surroundings in peace. The Falcon restaurant offers only homemade dishes, prepared with fresh ingredients from Groningen. Enjoy yourself on the sunny terrace or have a drink at our very cosy Falcon bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Groningen Westerbroek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing