We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice place for a good rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Groningen Westerbroek
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westerbroek
Certificate of Excellence
Tynaarlo, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A nice place for a good rest”
Reviewed 28 December 2012

I was a guest of the hotel for business reasons. I'm fully satisfied about the quality of the room, spacious and nice. The place is far from the town so the rest is guarantee and if you don’t want to move to Groningen you can have an excellent meal in the hotel restaurant. The price is quite ok. I consider it also a good choice for families.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lupinterceros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    145
    21
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
137
8
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

Yes, you'll find it is in the middle of nowhere, but that's magic - quiet, tidy and calm. Huge rooms, in the bathroom you don't have the feeling like you're put in a jar, nothing missing on breakfast. One more important thing: personnel is somehow invisible.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mishovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

The hotel is in the countryside 5 miles outside Groningen and not the easiest to find.We had an upgraded comfort room which is in the newer block at the back overlooking fields and away from the road and canal and railway. The room had excellent facilities with double French doors onto an outside area, there were 2 comfy chairs ,excellent and a good large bed. The bathroom was very large well spaced out with seperate shower,bath and lots of room , this for an overnight stay travelling from Lubeck to the channel coast was excellent and good value at 95 euro was good value. breakfast was extra but a good spread of buffet with cooked eggs,meat, cheese ,juice etc
Dinner was good and popular with the locals from Groningen, we had melon cocktail and smoked salmon as starters and followed by grilled chicken and calfs liver &bacon, very good , well cooked and presented. We ended with the Groningen dessert selection and Dame Blanche. It was a good value and tasty meal.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel if you are passing through this areaof lesser known Holland

Room Tip: comfort rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Stayed here for two nights on the breakfast and dinner deal which was very good value. On the map it looked close enough to Groningen but quiet. Stayed in the annex room, good enough with views overlooking fields. No tea or coffee making facilities so take your own. Breakfast and dinner were of a very high standard. Even if you are staying there as a guest you need to book dinner because so many non-residents go there for meals. That must be a good sign. Had taken bikes with us so used the cycle route to go into the centre of Groningen which took about half an hour. Bus stops near the hotel so access is pretty good. North coast about thirty minutes away by car. Ring road around Groningen was not easy to navigate because of road works and very heavy traffic so better to be staying outside the city.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We, ve spent more than once a weekend inthis hotel, near the city of Groningen.....I do not know what it is, but every time when I check in, there is a comfortable atmosphere. it's so natural at the reception. Always feel welcome.
We stayed every time in a so called: Comfort room. These are the rooms in the building what is a the back of the hotel....Pleasant room, with a stunning view. sheep, horses, and in summer, quit early you can see some deers....
The bathroom is big, no ammeneties, although not much, showe and seperate bath....Room is a little dark, but it is cosy and comfortable.....No fridge, and that's something you need during the summer...... Nice balcony, and you can see, ( it depends on which side you are of course) the Martini tower of Groningen.

Breakfast is selfservice; enough to eat, there is a choise for everyone. It;s quiet, and comfortable.
Diner: Ok. good food, enough to eat, pleasant staff, helpfull, ....

the comfortrooms, are seperate from the mainbuilding, for us it was no problem, but I can imagine that some people do not like thise, when they had prepeared themselves for diner, and have to walk outside to reach the mainbuilding.

Parking: enough of space....
In short as the title says: Lovely hotel, near Groningen. 10 minutes by car....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kuiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nieuwegein, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2010

About 2 weeks ago I made the mistake of booking hotel V.d.Valk Zuidbroek by accident instead of V.d.Valk Westerbroek. Both close to Groningen but a world of difference. Westerbroek is situated in a quiet environment with fields as far as you can see, not build exactly on the expressway(Zuidbroek-A7) and the dinner I had in Westerbroek was delicious and the service was friendly. The room was pleasant and comfortable. I only wonder why they don't install flatscreen tv's, it would be not that big of investment would it? Breakfast was good, allthough I only found eggs, no bacon. But I am not complaining I am recommending. So it's definitally not downtown Groningen, but if you are looking for quiet, free parking, nice food and in general a worryless stay which offers value for your money, I can point you to this hotel.

PS: I am not sure how the public transport reaches this place, I came by car.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willem_ter_Haar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2009

When visiting Groningen for business, I love coming to this hotel. Go for the luxury room which looked very new and has a small terrace and enjoy a nice meal in their restaurant. Between the hotel and the first shop, cafe or basically anything, it does take at least a 10 minute drive by car. If you're looking for a clean, friendly, quiet place that offers quality, value for money, this is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TylerW78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westerbroek
Stadscentrum
Prinsenhof Hotel
Prinsenhof Hotel
#1 of 17 in Groningen
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastion Hotel Groningen
#12 of 17 in Groningen
128 reviews
NH Groningen
#3 of 17 in Groningen
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Groningen Westerbroek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Groningen Westerbroek

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Groningen Westerbroek
Address: Rijksweg West 11, 9608 PA Westerbroek, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > Groningen Province > Westerbroek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Westerbroek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Van der Valk Hotel Groningen Westerbroek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HotelsNL, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Groningen Westerbroek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing