We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Customer focus very questionable !”

Pentlands Backpackers Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pentlands Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #1 of 1 Mount Eden B&B and Inns
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Customer focus very questionable !”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2011

Pentlands is in a good location with easy access to bus routes & local amenities, however the accommodation manager, falls far short of what one would reasonably expect from someone in his position. Verbal abuse of a guest, as a result of a using a bathroom which had a questionable out of order sign, was not what I expected & quite alarming. The guest in question felt so threatened by the managers outburst that they along with other members of there party felt compelled to leave.
Reasonable accommodation, shame about the management

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarcUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    19
    8
    8
    1
See reviews for
2
13
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

First, be aware that Pentlands is a backpacker hostel, not a hotel - it's one of the BBH hostels. Not a problem, but don't expect B and B standards, or breakfast! We stayed at Pentlands at the end of a six-month stint in New Zealand. We've been to Auckland before and the Mount Eden hostels are the only ones I would stay in apart from City Garden. It's about a 30 minute walk into the city, there's a big supermarket 5 minutes away (although it's a good hill back up) and there are frequent buses in and back so the location is good. Also plenty of parking - we had a car to sell so needed this.

Pentlands is not as smart as the reception area appears; the big lounge has tatty smelly chairs and is very dark, but kitchen and showers are newly refurbished, although sadly the showers don't all have fans and the decoration may not last too long. The place is cleaned thoroughly in the morning and the kitchen and showers are done again last thing at night which is excellent. Kitchen storage and equipment are ok but as always could be better, and while the fridges are cleared often they do need to be a bit more ruthless with this.

We had double room 1 on the front and it was very quiet - there are many long-termers in the hostel and after some trouble there is no tolerance for late night noise, and we had uninterrrupted sleep for all the 10 nights of our stay. Anyone who has stayed in NZ's thin-walled buildings with youngsters will know how good this is! It was also noticeable that the other guests got friendlier the longer we stayed;

It was coming into winter but still occasionally nice enough to sit outside - trouble was that the decking area is also the smoking area and as all the travellers smoke like chimneys it was unusable for anyone who likes to breathe. Could do with a smoke-free area or at least having the smoking area away from the house as I was forever closing the door to keep the stink out. After a chilly first night we asked for and got a heater; it's an old building and leaks heat like a sieve, although as ever in NZ investment in thick curtains would pay dividends, no-one ever seems to do this!

The washing machines are expensive $4 and the outside drying area doesn't get much sun. Internet access is ok at $2 for half an hour, for longer stints you either need a laptop or to go into the city or to the library about 20 minutes away.

Owner and manager were very pleasant and helpful and ran a tight ship. Not the most characterful or comfortable of places, but could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank fr0mtheb0rders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

I found this hostel looking for an accommodation in Auckland. I have to recognize that the hostel seems to be a very nice place, clean and rounded by a huge natural garden.

The problem started after asking for the price of services such as Internet. Suddenly, after change some mails, the accommodation manager, told me that they were not able to make my reservation, advising me to try a booking with another hostel. We should take in consideration that they had already my credit card details and the ironic way to say that I'm probably looking for a cheaper place with free services.

I just can't understand why they suddenly changed into this rude way to treat a customer, specially after have confirmed the booking and have my card details.

Definetly, strange!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank volare88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mount Eden hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
204 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

My husband and I stayed at Pentlands Backpackers for two nights in a double room. The place has a pleasantly homey feel to it and, while it’s clearly a hostel, we felt comfortable to hang around in the spacious kitchen, on the deck or in the lounge room. The room itself was comfortable though it was a bit humid without air-conditioning. The bathrooms (which were shared) were all spotless and plentiful, we rarely had to wait for a shower. The only downside would be that it’s not in Auckland itself so, if you are going there for something that requires you to be close to the city, staying at Pentlands does require a short walk/busride to the CBD. For our purposes, however, we enjoyed Mt Eden as it’s a nice little neighborhood not too far from the city.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sasandtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Eden
1.2 mi away
City Towers
City Towers
#36 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
2.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
2.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel
0.4 mi away
Eden Park Bed & Breakfast
Eden Park Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 53 in Auckland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.8 mi away
ASURE AT Eden Park
ASURE AT Eden Park
#1 of 2 in Mount Eden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pentlands Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pentlands Backpackers Hostel

Property: Pentlands Backpackers Hostel
Address: 22 Pentland Ave., Mount Eden 1003, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Mount Eden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Eden
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned and operated hostel offering you clean, comfortable, affordable accommodation with a home away from home feel.This colonial homestead is set in spacious park-like grounds giving you a sense of peace within the hustle and bustle of the central city. Enjoy our hostel with it's friendly, relaxed atmosphere and close proximity to the bars, cafes and shops of vibrant Mt Eden Village. Pentlands Backpackers has recently enjoyed a fresh new look with extensive renovations completed in August 2012. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pentlands Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing