We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold rooms, but hot showers = good sleep”

Pentlands Backpackers Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pentlands Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #1 of 1 Mount Eden B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 May 2011

I travelled to Auckland for a few weeks last year. Having been to the city before, I wanted to explore the suburbs and residential enclaves. While at the airport at the information center, I decided to go with Pentlands. I called them on the courtesy phone and they said I could grab a bed right away.

Pentlands Bed and Breakfast hotel is more of a hostel than anything else. It is conveniently located just a few blocks from the airport bus route, as well as other bus routes.

One of the great things I liked about this place was the showers. Hottest showers in a hostel I've ever seen. And they were clean (recently refurbished).

One thing I did not like was that place was always cold. I stayed during the end of their winter season, start of spring. My first night was in a dorm room, next to the window. It was rainy/cloudy that night, really cold due to air leaking in from the window. I slept with my shoes, socks, gloves and scarves on. The room had space heaters scattered throughout, but it was not enough to heat the entire room. Luckily I was moved to a smaller room, shared with 3 longer-staying residents. The heat in this room was much better.

I only used the kitchen for breakfast, preferring to go out for lunch/dinner. The kitchen is small, but clean. Appliances are in ok condition.

Since I did not want to stay in the city, I felt that the location is great. It is located right near Mount Eden Domain, so I could go up there on a daily walk and enjoy the views of the surrounding area. A large supermarket is located just a few blocks away, as well as major bus routes into the city (Dominion Road and Mt Eden Rd). Also, the Mt Eden shops is located a few blocks too.

Management was ok. When I arrived, the person on duty gave me a tour of the hostel and helped me with my bags. I did not encounter any other problems while I stayed there. I did not hang around the hostel much, just was a place to sleep.

I would caution that you bring luggage locks when you stay, and keep your important documents and phone either locked up or on your body. I did not see lockers in the rooms I stayed in. I have a small backpack with my valuables that I would carry with me at all times, even to the bathroom.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monochezia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2011

Pentlands is in a good location with easy access to bus routes & local amenities, however the accommodation manager, falls far short of what one would reasonably expect from someone in his position. Verbal abuse of a guest, as a result of a using a bathroom which had a questionable out of order sign, was not what I expected & quite alarming. The guest in question felt so threatened by the managers outburst that they along with other members of there party felt compelled to leave.
Reasonable accommodation, shame about the management

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MarcUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

First, be aware that Pentlands is a backpacker hostel, not a hotel - it's one of the BBH hostels. Not a problem, but don't expect B and B standards, or breakfast! We stayed at Pentlands at the end of a six-month stint in New Zealand. We've been to Auckland before and the Mount Eden hostels are the only ones I would stay in apart from City Garden. It's about a 30 minute walk into the city, there's a big supermarket 5 minutes away (although it's a good hill back up) and there are frequent buses in and back so the location is good. Also plenty of parking - we had a car to sell so needed this.

Pentlands is not as smart as the reception area appears; the big lounge has tatty smelly chairs and is very dark, but kitchen and showers are newly refurbished, although sadly the showers don't all have fans and the decoration may not last too long. The place is cleaned thoroughly in the morning and the kitchen and showers are done again last thing at night which is excellent. Kitchen storage and equipment are ok but as always could be better, and while the fridges are cleared often they do need to be a bit more ruthless with this.

We had double room 1 on the front and it was very quiet - there are many long-termers in the hostel and after some trouble there is no tolerance for late night noise, and we had uninterrrupted sleep for all the 10 nights of our stay. Anyone who has stayed in NZ's thin-walled buildings with youngsters will know how good this is! It was also noticeable that the other guests got friendlier the longer we stayed;

It was coming into winter but still occasionally nice enough to sit outside - trouble was that the decking area is also the smoking area and as all the travellers smoke like chimneys it was unusable for anyone who likes to breathe. Could do with a smoke-free area or at least having the smoking area away from the house as I was forever closing the door to keep the stink out. After a chilly first night we asked for and got a heater; it's an old building and leaks heat like a sieve, although as ever in NZ investment in thick curtains would pay dividends, no-one ever seems to do this!

The washing machines are expensive $4 and the outside drying area doesn't get much sun. Internet access is ok at $2 for half an hour, for longer stints you either need a laptop or to go into the city or to the library about 20 minutes away.

Owner and manager were very pleasant and helpful and ran a tight ship. Not the most characterful or comfortable of places, but could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
Thank fr0mtheb0rders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

I found this hostel looking for an accommodation in Auckland. I have to recognize that the hostel seems to be a very nice place, clean and rounded by a huge natural garden.

The problem started after asking for the price of services such as Internet. Suddenly, after change some mails, the accommodation manager, told me that they were not able to make my reservation, advising me to try a booking with another hostel. We should take in consideration that they had already my credit card details and the ironic way to say that I'm probably looking for a cheaper place with free services.

I just can't understand why they suddenly changed into this rude way to treat a customer, specially after have confirmed the booking and have my card details.

Definetly, strange!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Service
Thank volare88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

My husband and I stayed at Pentlands Backpackers for two nights in a double room. The place has a pleasantly homey feel to it and, while it’s clearly a hostel, we felt comfortable to hang around in the spacious kitchen, on the deck or in the lounge room. The room itself was comfortable though it was a bit humid without air-conditioning. The bathrooms (which were shared) were all spotless and plentiful, we rarely had to wait for a shower. The only downside would be that it’s not in Auckland itself so, if you are going there for something that requires you to be close to the city, staying at Pentlands does require a short walk/busride to the CBD. For our purposes, however, we enjoyed Mt Eden as it’s a nice little neighborhood not too far from the city.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keshira haLev F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank augustofick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lema2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Pentlands Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pentlands Backpackers Hostel

Address: 22 Pentland Ave., Mount Eden, Auckland 1003, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mount Eden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Eden
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned and operated hostel offering you clean, comfortable, affordable accommodation with a home away from home feel.This colonial homestead is set in spacious park-like grounds giving you a sense of peace within the hustle and bustle of the central city. Enjoy our hostel with it's friendly, relaxed atmosphere and close proximity to the bars, cafes and shops of vibrant Mt Eden Village. Pentlands Backpackers has recently enjoyed a fresh new look with extensive renovations completed in August 2012. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing