We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet stay!”

Pentlands Backpackers Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pentlands Backpackers Hostel
Ranked #1 of 1 Mount Eden B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

If you are looking to stay out if the city but close enough to it on a budget, this is for you! The stairs at the entrance might be a bit rough for those with heavy bags, but you'll survive or more than likely another guest will help you if they see you! The receptionist was very polite and down to earth. Very relaxed and very helpful! I waited in the lounge while my room was prepared...it was like hanging in a dorm lounge but enough space to have your privacy. The wifi prices here are CHEAP in comparison to hotel prices!
The room was clean and relaxing.

Highly recommended!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Walter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stayed for 3 weeks and enjoyed the surroundings. The staff were very helpful, friendly and kept the place spotless. Despite the place being fully booked for most of my stay, It never felt overcrowded. I have deducted a point off of my rating to reflect the absence of hammocks from the garden. As I spent most of my time in the garden, a hammock or hanging chair would have been idyllic. It is in a quiet neighbourhood and guests are encouraged to vacate the garden after 10 pm. It is not a party hostel but you can still have a good time here. There are bars, restaurants and a supermarket within a 5 minute stroll and downtown is a short bus ride away..

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBBM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I lived at Pentlands two months while looking for a job. Vinnie and the rest of the staff are friendly. As with most long term hostels, the group of people there really make the atmosphere. Despite being quite big and usually packed, it has a nice friendly feel to it. It stays exceptionally clean and has a great kitchen.

I liked the location most. There is plenty of parking and the neighborhood is safe. It is a quick run to Mt. Eden or a bus ride downtown. If you are looking for a chilled out place without the bustle of downtown, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This was a chilled out hostel. It was packed, but everything was pretty tidy, surprisingly. The first night, there were a few drunk residents because it was the weekend and normally, you're going to get this. Other than that, everyone was very helpful and open, from the backpackers to the staff like Vinnie. Cool dude.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed at Pentlands for 2 night with my daughter after a long journey from Seoul.
We have stayed here a few times before but our recent stay will be our last.
Unlike our last stays we were not greeted by a friendly and welcoming receptionist.
My daughter became ill the next day and needed to be taken to the urgent doctors, asked for directions from the receptionist, a German woman, who had NOT A SINGLE IDEA where the nearest public hospital would be!!
Her incompetence was unbelievable! Making poor excuses like 'I'm not a local' and telling us she, and other cleaners had half the hostel to clean, hello?? I have a sick person that needs the hospital???
I've stayed in other backpackers run by foreigners before and they were excellent. What is the point of hiring non-locals to work in a backpackers who have ZERO knowledge of the city?
All the receptionist wanted to do was drink and smoke with the other guests/cleaners outside, so she would close the reception area earlier than she was meant to.
There is only meant to be one receptionist, but she also let one of the cleaners use the reception computer for personal use and had turns serving other guests.

Completely unprofessional, definitely not a family orientated hostel anymore. Leave this hostel for the party people.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imelda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friends-Pentlands, Manager at Pentlands Backpackers Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

We are sorry to read that such a thing happend. She was a trainee manager and after looking into her performance we decided this was not the position for her. She does not work for this hostel any more. We are glad to say that we now have very friendly, helpful managers at Pentlands Backpackers Hostel. Happy travelling, cheers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hostel was the first we stayed in when we arrived in New Zealand, we arrived late but the staff left the key for us at reception. When we got in our room, they'd left a light on and it looked so cosy and inviting, just perfect! I had corresponded with them via email as a parcel from home was arriving for us and when we opened the room door the parcel was on our bed with a map of the area and a lovely note from Kate.
We ended up staying longer then expected and we worked the night shift cleaning the hostel for a month. We made lots of friends and everyone was happy and chilled out! The place was so clean and tidy,like being at home, we didn't want to leave!
We left to find work but came back after 3 and a half months to discover one of the nicest managers ever, Kate, had left. Most of the lovely people we'd met had left not long after we'd left and it wasn't that clean, tidy and welcoming anymore- which was disappointing!
We ended up leaving quite soon after we'd arrived.

Overall, it's a great little hostel, great location. Prices seemed to vary whilst we were there. Bus stop not far away, walking distance to Ponsonby, New Market and Parnell.

The first time we stayed was far better than the second time we stayed!

Room Tip: Don't stay down stairs in the dungeon, it's dark and too noisy - get a double, single or sha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjmarshall87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

The staff is helpful and friendly. The hostel is housed in a nice home/building in a save quiet neighbourhood. A small shopping centre with supermarket is just a few minute walk away, just as teh busstop to the centre. I walked to the centre several times, it's about 30 minutes. The dorms are not very big, but they're ok and I was lucky to have a single bed instead of a bunk. The common rooms are very spacious and nice. I didn't use the kitchen so I can't really say anything about it. The bathrooms were fine, but could be a bit cleaner. And I don't like the fact that they're like 'normal' bathrooms, so shower and toilet in one. I prefer seperate shower and toilet units. Now sometimes you had to wait for the toilet, because someone was having a shower..

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriciadenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Eden
1.5 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 65 in Auckland Central
706 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 65 in Auckland Central
4,371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bamber House Hostel
Bamber House Hostel
#1 of 132 in Auckland Central
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel
Bavaria Bed & Breakfast Hotel
#13 of 62 in Auckland Central
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eden Park Bed & Breakfast
Eden Park Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 62 in Auckland Central
521 reviews
0.8 mi away
ASURE AT Eden Park
ASURE AT Eden Park
#1 of 2 in Mount Eden
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pentlands Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pentlands Backpackers Hostel

Address: 22 Pentland Ave., Mount Eden, Auckland 1003, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Mount Eden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Eden
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family owned and operated hostel offering you clean, comfortable, affordable accommodation with a home away from home feel.This colonial homestead is set in spacious park-like grounds giving you a sense of peace within the hustle and bustle of the central city. Enjoy our hostel with it's friendly, relaxed atmosphere and close proximity to the bars, cafes and shops of vibrant Mt Eden Village. Pentlands Backpackers has recently enjoyed a fresh new look with extensive renovations completed in August 2012. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing