We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So quiet and restful, lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Oosterschelde
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This hotel is at the end of the road at the very end of a peninsula (near Sint Philipsland), by the sea, and because there's only this hotel restaurant in the vicinity, it's very quiet and peaceful.

We arrived a bit too early (check-in is from 2pm) and no one answered the door, so we explored the next peninsula and come back later. There is no direct crossing over the straight for a car, but they operate a passenger boat during the summer months apparently. For a car, it's about a half-hour drive to get to Zierikzee.

When we got back, just as the sun was going down, we could check in. We got room 5, the corner room downstairs, facing the seafront. Nice! As we had a door to the outside from the room, be brought the car around to the back. We were coming to the end of our trip and wanted to tidy it up and reorganise the bags, and as we could park outside the room - literally - this was our best opportunity.

The beds were soft, yet still sort of firm, and the head of the bed could be raised and lowered with remote controls. Fancy! The shower was big enough for two as well, so plenty of space. Had to capture a couple of small spiders and try to get rid of a bunch of mosquitoes that came in when we brought in the luggage, but hey, we had a sea view and didn't care. (When I say small spiders, I do mean small enough for me to not run away screaming, and I am genuinely arachnophobic!) Actually, the noise the fridge made was more disturbing, but the noise sort of came and went, so it would be fairly quiet for big chunks of the time, and when it wasn't, it could easily be blocked out.

We went upstairs and borrowed a bottle opener from the restaurant, swearing we'd bring it back the next day, which we did.

Slept really well. The morning was bright and it was nice to be greeted by a seaview. Breakfast was a breadbasket, some meat and cheese and a pot of coffee. We could help ourselves to orange juice, fruits, yoghurt and cereals and various spreads.

As we were checking out, we came to chat with the owners, who were both very good at English (the woman even knew a few words of Swedish, which was very impressive) and really friendly.

Room Tip: 5 is downstairs, a corner room with sea view and outside patio door, so you could bring things direc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doctortrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

a family run hotel with a restaurant and a terrace overlooking the Oosterschelde, based in the old offices from a former ferry company.

We came for a few days of peace and calm and that is exactly what we found here. It is so quiet here, one can actually sleep with the windows open. The room is basic with good beds, a clean shower, a safe and television. But the views outside are more entertaining then anything on TV.
The owner explained that the divers outside going into the water are especially active in the morning and come here to view the underwater scenery. The location is perfect for children, people who like to take long walks or just bike around.

From mid July onwards there is a small ferry service accessible from the pier next to the hotel that links the other islands across Sint Philipsland.

Breakfast was excellent with good strong coffee, fresh local yoghurt and strawberries, plenty of choice from the buffet. On weekends the restaurant has special fish buffets and this attracts the locals so reservation is recommended.

We decided to have dinner in the restaurant on our second night and we were not disappointed. The speciality here is fish and then more focused on local specialities like eel and mussels. Delicious simple food, well prepared.

We loved our stay here and we will definitely be back next spring.

Room Tip: make sure to ask for a room with a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eddy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

With some effort, you can see the Oosterschelde inlet from the hotel's terrace - in fact, the hotel faces the Zijpe and Ketenis branches. Having said that - the hotel offered excellent value for money: friendly staff, good beds, excellent shower, simple but adequate breakfast... The hotel also features a restaurant, "Het Veerhuis", which I shall review separately.

Room Tip: Room 6, on the first floor, has 2 windows, so that you have a panoramic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWG_080353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Sitting on the shore of the Ooosterschelde Sea. this is a very chilled place to stay and watch the river traffic.
Rooms are basic, in the Dutch way, but spacious, airy and with comfortable beds.
There is an outside terrace to the ground floor rooms and the hotel has large bar and restaurant areas.
Guests appear to be a mix of travelling businesspeople, contractors working locally and tourists wanting some peace and quiet.
The breakfast and restaurant food is basic but hearty and good value.
Within driving distance of some of the old towns on neighbouring islands, this would a good base to explore the region.

Room Tip: Ground floor, with sea views are the better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RamsgateKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in the off season during a business trip. The owners and staff are absolutely wonderful people. I think they would go to any length to make sure you enjoyed your stay with them. All I encountered were English speaking as well.

The rooms are comfortable, though are showing the slightest bit of wear (just superficial). The room and the entire hotel was very clean. The restaurant serves a variety of wonderfully tasting food.

When the wind blows in from the North Sea, you can sometimes here the flag hitting against the flagpole outside of room 11. The view from this room is excellent, however, so I didn't bother trading for a different room. I will definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Nothing is too mcuh trouble is the understatement! I can highly recommend this hotel. We arrived on a beautiful sunny afternoon on the ferry boat from Bruinisse - 10 minutes. The ferry was free for hotel customers and we saw fresh mussels for the evening meal being unloaded. Our room was very clean and cosy with lovely views of the sea. When we arrived I realised I'd left my handbag at a cafe en route (we were cycling). We talked to the owner about how long it would take us to collect the bag and he offered to collect it for me after he had finished cooking. So after having cooked the four of us a delicious meal he drove 3/4 of an hour each way to collect the bag. So generous!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artsanonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2012

In a remote part of Zeeland it was a pleasure to find an hotel of this standard. It stands on the edge of the Western Scheldt, as the name implies and the view, with its passing barges, yachts and other craft is of constant interest. Rooms are nicely furnished with usual mod cons. The highlight is, however, the restaurant. Whilst the owner (an extremely affable character) only created the hotel 5 years ago he has been running a restaurant here for 20 years or more. Highlights are the supply of fresh mussels and oysters from beds almost on the doorstep.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeringKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel Oosterschelde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oosterschelde

Address: Rijksweg 5, 4675 Anna Jacobapolder, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Zeeland Province > Anna Jacobapolder
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Anna Jacobapolder
Price Range: £74 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oosterschelde 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Oosterschelde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing