We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outrageously mismanaged”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brook Forest Inn and Spa
Ranked #8 of 9 Evergreen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We were booked to stay for 7 days and after traveling from the east for an exhausting 26 hours found the inn closed. We had starting phoning earlier in the day leaving messages on the answering machine to announce our arrival but received no response. Finally driving out the long, winding road thinking there must be a note on the door telling us who to contact or an emergency number....found nothing. Being strangers to the area it was difficult to know where to find alternative shelter for the night. Upon our arrival the next day there was barely acknowledgement of the miscommunication that had occurred, much less an offer to either upgrade our room or offer a complementary meal, etc. It wasn't a very welcoming or positive beginning to our stay at the Brook Forest. After that numerous smaller problems arose that made the stay quite uncomfortable. The staff seem to be sincerely interested in making the place work but do not have a clue about hotel management. We were told that WIFI would be available but there was
no coordination of office keys to make it available when we asked. Cell phone signal did not exist and the staff told us there would be cordless phones on the main desk. They were not as available as were lead to believe. It made the stay feel quite isolating as we were in the area for a family wedding and needed to be in touch with family staying in other areas. It's too bad because the place could be updated and, with good management, be a delightful place to stay. We kept feeling like we were on a sinking ship....

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank paulinec71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. It was very relaxing and the staff was excellent in accomadating our needs.

The Bar was very nice, had a great atmosphere. The food was very good. Their Brick Cooked Pizza had a great flavor. This Pizza was one of the best tasting pizzas I have ever had, however the crust was very doughy and not cooked very well. If the crust was cooked better this Pizza would have been the best ever.
The beds were very comfortable, the overall experience was very good here & I would definately stay here again.
Great place for a getaway for any locals as well. If we lived in Colorado I would definately want to come here for a weekend stay occasionally.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We've stayed at the Brook Forest Inn several times after Red Rocks concerts, the most recent being July 2011. If you're looking for an out-of-the-way, rustic & unusual place to stay, this would be fine but it doesn't work well if you're checking in late after a concert. The road is pitch black at night & the Inn is hard to find. It's not set up well for guests arriving late - you need a flashlight to get from the small parking area to the front door. Most times, we've wandered around in the dark, unable to tell where the entrance is, then walked into a bar full of rowdy locals who stare at us like they can't figure out what we're doing there. Our last visit was an improvement as there was a sign marking the entry & a note left on the door with a key. The stairs are narrow & creak when you walk up, rooms are small & the walls are thin so it's not very private. The rooms have always been clean with nice decor, but it's an old property so bathrooms are small & often tucked away in corners with slanted ceilings, etc. During our first stay in 2010, there was quite a bit of literature & old pictures on the wall, describing the fascinating history of the Inn. That was all gone on our last visit & when I asked about it, the front desk clerk said it had all been fabricated. That was disappointing because the history was what made it interesting. There is a lovely deck on the backside that overlooks the creek, a nice, sunny place to eat breakfast (if the deck is open). It's been different every time we've stayed & the place usually feels very odd & empty. There is a beautiful large dining room with a great fireplace that sits empty & completely unfurnished. The deck, which is the best feature of the Inn, is sometimes open & decorated with lovely flowers & inviting chairs & tables, but other times closed off & vacant. The food has always been good & the presentation is nice. I seldom see other guests & usually leave feeling like its been a very odd experience. I don't think I'd stay there again as it seems overpriced for such an old & vacant facility. There are nicer Cabins & Inns closer to town at better prices for those looking for a place to stay after a Red Rocks concert. In reading some of the other reviews, I'm surprised because it doesn't sound like the same place, perhaps its been upgraded recently or an entirely different experience when booked by a group for a wedding or event.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jese_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The folks of the Denver Metro area and beyond should take a nice Sunday Drive up through Evergreen then only 5 miles beyond to this unique B&B. They offer huge, freshed baked cinnamon rolls, just-right spicy bloody marys and made to order omelets.
There is a quaint patio next to a babbling brook. Also, there is a pub available and open to anyone as well if that is more your taste. Something for everyone and everyone should visit or re/visit this chalet in the hills!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank lv2travel999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

I just had my wedding at the Brook Forest Inn and cannot say enough good things about it. The history and beauty of the place will take your breath away. The new management (since Oct. 2010) have totally changed it into the perfect place for large or small gatherings, the food is delicious, the bartenders are attentive, and the staff is eager to please. In addition, this is the perfect place to stay if you're planning to do some hiking/backpacking or if you'd just like a quiet spot in the mountains to relax.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsCurtis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

The location, the mountain air the best place to get away from it all. To get the best sleep of your life open your rooms window at night. The cool mountain breeze and the fresh air are so much better than any air conditioner, no phones, no computers its like stepping back in time when life was so much more enjoyable. I hope it never changes! Brook Forest Inn I'll see you in July 2011 !

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikerHerriman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

The passion and vision the new owners have for the the historic inn is truly in place. We stayed there last weekend and found it to be a warm, clean, cozy, friendly place to eat and stay. The food was amazing and in big portions. There are large screens TVs abound through the bar for great football viewing. The staff was full of life and extremely friendly. The room was fantastic and we had never slept better. I would recommend this place for anyone that are looking for a warm inviting place to kick back and enjoy the Evergreen area. So out with the old reviews and in with the new. The new owners have done a great job of fixing all of the negative reviews from the past.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtrdesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evergreen
8.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Golden West on Evergreen Parkway
14.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Denver West - Golden
16.1 mi away
Lady Luck Casino Black Hawk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel
4.5 mi away
Alpen Way Chalet Mountain Lodge
5.3 mi away
Highland Haven Creekside Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Forest Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Forest Inn and Spa

Address: 8136 S Brook Forest Rd, Evergreen, CO 80439-6743
Region: United States > Colorado > Evergreen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Evergreen
Price Range: £45 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brook Forest Inn and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Brook Forest Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Forest Hotel Evergreen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing