We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls get away.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpen Way Chalet Mountain Lodge
Ranked #6 of 9 Evergreen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I live in Littleton, and had a friend from Houston come to visit. We decided to sneak away to the mountains for a couple of days R & R. We stayed at the Alpen Way Chalet and had a wonderful time! The rooms are sooooo clean and comfy. The owner was very helpful, giving us suggestions for a spa and restaurant. We will go back!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

My husband and I stay at many hotels, B & B's, motels, etc. We have never, ever,ever been to such a rip off place as this!! WARNING: If you think you're paying a certain price, think again, they will bill you for things you had no idea you would be charged for. Here's how they do it. Once you sign the credit card receipt, apparently they have a merchant agreement to claim you owe them for more bogus things and even disputing it through the credit card company will not help. We were charged to replace their 1950 bedspread they claimed we stained. We do not even use the bedspread as have learned from staying at various places, they do not wash the bedspread after each customer. Therefore, the first thing we do is remove the bedspread. They also false advertise that a hot tub comes with the room. Yeah right, except you share it with everyone else and have to walk quite a distance to get to. So much for our anniversary! The room hadn't been updated since the 1950's. Everything, and I mean everything was dusty, musty, and certainly not well taken care of for the price they charge. What was really fun was when other customers came to park their vehicles at all times of the night and having their headlights shining directly into your room regardless of how closed the blinds were. We would have rather stayed in a tent then this place. DO NOT STAY THERE. BE WARNED.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank carrie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights with a wedding party. We booked the whole place for practically the whole weekend. Nice rooms, convenient location but things got really weird with the owners- not the management living here. The bride who arranged the stay wanted to stay one more night and the plumbing in their original room was not working so she requested another.

That's when thing went really downhill. The owner accused them of flushing baby wipes down the toilet and therefore ruining the plumbing- notice another review where someone was accused of something. She even said something to the sort that babies are not allowed.???

Another room was requested but not available due to the plumbing, sending the bride and groom to another hotel. When asking for help, the owner said she would give $10 towards another place. Why even offer $10? Insulting.

Sad it went so bad and we would think they would be grateful we filled the entire place for the weekend but not so. Guess they don't need the business. Needless to say there are 30 people who will never return to stay here and we all travel to this part of Colorado often.

Good Luck if you chose to stay here. Lovely place, strange approach to customer service.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SigNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We were there for a two night stay. When we checked in, we were given our key which was the extent of the courtesy/service from the proprietor. Our room was ground level, faced the highway and closest to the highway (73). We had a view of parked cars and traffic. No A/C (we were told) which meant we had to leave the windows open for fresh air and listen to the traffic. The room was reasonably clean but out dated, clutered and we had no cleaning service (we found out it's available every other day for "water conservation"). I don't usually take the time to write reviews but considering the rate we paid, it was not a good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2011

I drove by a lot of places near Evergreen Colorado, before I selected Alpen Way for my stay in October, 2011. I liked the look of it right away, and my hunch was right. It is nestled under a rocky outcrop, just far enough away from the road to be private.

It's a very short drive to downtown Evergreen, which offers great places to eat, interesting shops, and a lake with a path around it. The state roads in three directions offer great scenery on your way down the mountains to Denver in an hour or so -- or more quickly on the interstate.

My cabin -- Bountiful -- provided everything I could want or need. A full kitchen, a lovely bathroom, a spacious bedroom, and even a dressing room. The private terrace, overhung with a magnificent rock formation, was just a few steps from the hot tub.

The owners, Kim & Scott Proche, were both helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KSH1370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

My family and I absolutely LOVED staying at the Alpen Way Chalet Inn in Evergreen Colorado, Charming doesn't begin to describe this place, you will fall in love from the moment you pull up. They have cabins for any size couple, group, or family. We stayed in the Jubilee Suite, that had a beautiful kitchen (I wanted to take the dishes home with us), a HUGE porch complete with tables and a gas grill (perfect for entertaining), and a comfy living area, not to mention 2 beds perfect for any family bringing kids. It was me, my husband, and our 2 year old daughter. The man at the front desk was beyond sweet and helpful. They have family friendly movies to pick out if you want to snuggle up in front of the TV with your kids for some quality time when it's time to turn in. My daughter fell in love with Charlotte's Web. The location of the Inn is perfect, literally around the corner from the heart of Evergreen. If you wake up early enough, you can find deer out enjoying a morning stroll. We ate at Beau Jo's pizza, and then also cooked in the kitchen of the cabin. The hot tub is also very inviting. I highly recommend this place! Romantic for couples, and totally family friendly!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I had a wonderful time at the Alpen Way Chalet. Friendly management, clean room, and lots of charm. Evergreen is a great place to get away to, and the Alpen Way Chalet is the perfect place to stay if you are looking for a relaxing mountain weekend. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Jubilee is a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evergreen
5.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Golden West on Evergreen Parkway
15.6 mi away
Century Casino Central City
Century Casino Central City
#2 of 3 in Central City
65 reviews
10.5 mi away
The Golden Hotel, an Ascend Collection hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Highland Haven Creekside Inn
1.4 mi away
Colorado Bear Creek Cabins
Colorado Bear Creek Cabins
#1 of 3 in Evergreen
72 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Cabins at Country Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpen Way Chalet Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpen Way Chalet Mountain Lodge

Address: 4980 County Highway 73, Evergreen, CO 80439-7323 (Formerly Alpen Way Chalet Inn)
Region: United States > Colorado > Evergreen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Evergreen
Price Range: £129 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a nature lover's retreat in the lush hillsides of beautiful Evergreen, Colorado. Here, you can enjoy the fresh Rocky Mountain air, the soft murmur of Little Cub Creek, and our frequent special guests, the Elk and Deer that graze on our property. We're just a 10 minute walk from downtown Evergreen, Evergreen Lake, and the famous "Little Bear". Originally built on the site of the historic Van Cleve family estate in the 1920's, each of our suites feature a private entrance, private en suite bath, and a private deck or patio. Most even offer a fireplace and a full kitchen or kitchenette. We are surrounded by trails for hiking or snowshoeing and are located just off the famous "Lariat Loop". We're less than an hour from the Denver International airport, 20 minutes from Golden, Colorado, and a little over a half hour away from LoDo (Lower Downtown) in Denver. The lodge has 6 suites and 1 cabin, each with their own unique personality. Take a look at their offerings below, or on our website, and pick the one that's just right for you. Drop by and stay awhile. You may arrive as strangers, but you'll leave as friends.… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alpen Way Chalet Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing