We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Western Inn Motel & RV Park
Ranked #2 of 3 Fairplay B&B and Inns
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Last minute stay”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Having a cabin in the South Park area, we frequent Fairplay often. This time the 70 MPH wind gusts had made the dirt roads impassable with drifted snow. We couldn't get to our remote cabin so we had a last minute need to stay in a hotel. To be honest, we tried to stay at the newer hotel in town but it was still closed due to water main break problems. So we drove down the road to the Western Inn. We have stayed here many times before so knew it was an older property with out-dated decor and TVs but also that it is clean, dog friendly, reasonably priced and family-run. Our stay was as expected.

We had to request a late check-out because we were waiting for a tow truck to get us back to Denver. With the high winds, the tow company was hesitant to head out before the winds died down. The staff was able to accommodate our request to extend our check-out time even later than their normal late check-out.

We couldn't connect to the wi-fi but we got all the numbers we needed from a local phone book.

This isn't fancy but it is a good place to stay while in South Park.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sleeper888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    10
    11
    1
    5
See reviews for
7
12
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Advertised on the website as "Pet" friendly. Our leashed trained bengal cats (each weighing less than 20 pounds were not allowed...they claimed "Dogs Only" When I suggested they change their website to avoid these issues they then claimed the website belongs to previous owners and they have no control over it. Yet at the same time they advertise thru it, take reservations from it etc etc etc. They were extremely rude, practiced discrimination in refusing service and are guilty of false advertising.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GemsbyMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2013

From considerable experience, I'd say this is the best motel in the Fairplay/Alma area. The rooms are not fancy but clean and comfy. The staff really cares for its customers. Service was excellent.
For skiing in Breck, or climbing the 14'ers of Park County, this is a thrifty and well-located place to stay. I'll definitely go back

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
Level 6 Contributor
751 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I stayed here the night before a day of climbing with friends. This is a simple, family-run affair. Nothing fancy, the rooms are out-dated, but they are very spacious with plenty of space to store gear. Also, my room was plenty clean and the man at the front desk who checked me in was friendly.

Two negatives during my stay:
a) Paper-thin walls meant I heard my neighbors as they left at 5:30 in the morning.
b) Management neglected to shovel snow from the walkways! I had to walk through a foot-deep drift to get to my door, and I tracked all sorts of snow into the room despite my efforts to the contrary. Management: Please either shovel the walks or hire someone to do it for you!

I would stay here again for no-frills lodging prior to an early-morning outdoor adventure.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COLadyRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

My brother and I set off to hike the Decalibron the last weekend in September and we wanted a close place to stay the night so we chose the Western Inn Motel and RV Park based solely on price. The place was decent enough, however, the bathroom wasn't that clean (hair, grime, etc) and the cable TV didn't have all the channels that were advertised. In the end, the room is worth what we paid for it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

My wife and I planned to hike to the summit of Mount Sherman and determined that Fairplay, Colorado was the closest town to the trailhead. After surveying reviews for local hotels, we chose to stay at the Western Inn Motel & RV Park. It is an old property with very little perks; however, the room was spacious and we were comfortable enough, but the room was a little dusty and dingy.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joelikes2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairplay
0.4 mi away
A Riverside Inn Hotel
A Riverside Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fairplay
135 reviews
17.8 mi away
The Village Hotel
The Village Hotel
#16 of 23 in Breckenridge
227 reviews
16.2 mi away
Delaware Hotel
Delaware Hotel
#1 of 8 in Leadville
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Fairplay Hotel
The Fairplay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fairplay
82 reviews
24.0 mi away
Arrowhead Point Campground & Cabins
16.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#5 of 8 in Leadville
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Western Inn Motel & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Western Inn Motel & RV Park

Property: The Western Inn Motel & RV Park
Address: 490 Hwy 285, Fairplay, CO 80440
Region: United States > Colorado > Fairplay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Fairplay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Western Inn Motel & RV Park 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Western Inn Motel & RV Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing